Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
mitch1980

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby mitch1980 » April 28th, 2015, 2:43 pm

liquimolytt wrote:Hey guys please take this survey
https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/K6XRDDC?fb_ref=Default

Done

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 30th, 2015, 3:46 pm

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 8th, 2015, 10:20 am

Soft Cover installed!
Hilux cover.jpg

Postby Rainman » May 8th, 2015, 10:48 am

antonio have powerseller acct?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 8th, 2015, 11:01 am

Not sure. I found him on Facebook

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » May 28th, 2015, 9:20 pm

Guys anyone knows if the Hilux keys are chipped I tried to get one cut today for another spare and was told the key is chipped but my keys have no buttons on them or nothing

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 2nd, 2015, 12:14 am

Guys what coolant do you use in your toyota hilux?.....2014 model?.....

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » June 2nd, 2015, 10:12 am

Amsoil coolant. Might try the Zerex Asian next time.
Will be adding Amsoil Dominator Coolant Boost as usual.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 2nd, 2015, 11:45 am

I use the Toyota long life . 200000 Km no issues whatsoever.

I have an extra one 250 if u interested!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 2nd, 2015, 6:54 pm

Anyone have a passenger side wing mirror for sale?? (Just need the mirror really)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 2nd, 2015, 7:29 pm

If you were topping off I would suggest you go with the Toyota coolant.... but if you are doing a flush and wanted to save some money. ... I would go with the zerex asian vehicle.

Mixing different brands of coolant is not advisable

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 2nd, 2015, 8:21 pm

Just wanted a top up....van doing 20k kms ...a gallon of the long life is $190....but all I really needed was less that a quart.....hmm..

Any body have a lil bit to share?....wondering if I should even bother topping up though....the level in the bottle is just below the middle mark....

Postby equipped2ripp » June 3rd, 2015, 10:37 am

20k and you need a top up?

I would send it back to TTTL if I were you... Let them top it up for free.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 3rd, 2015, 3:45 pm

I've topped up with distiller water in the past.

Postby Rainman » June 3rd, 2015, 5:37 pm

sweeks wrote:I've topped up with distiller water in the past.

Diluting the coolant further?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 3rd, 2015, 9:44 pm

No. ...I don't think that's the case. ... ethelene glycol doesn't evaporate like water. As a mixture I believe that the water evaporates from the mixture leaving behind the glycol or a concentrated form of it

Postby Rainman » June 4th, 2015, 7:05 am

Evaporate and go where? It's a closed loop cooling system. Correct me if I'm wrong though.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 4th, 2015, 8:42 am

Closed?
I will have to look at it again, but that cap can only hold so much pressure.... the system must have a relief built in for excess pressure. ... If vapor can escape the fluid level will drop

Postby Rainman » June 4th, 2015, 11:12 am

Reason I asked is because coolant is also mixed 50/50 with distilled water, if what you're saying is true then you would have to continuously top up every time the water boils out which just isn't the case.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » June 4th, 2015, 11:20 am

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 5th, 2015, 2:47 am

Rainman wrote:Reason I asked is because coolant is also mixed 50/50 with distilled water, if what you're saying is true then you would have to continuously top up every time the water boils out which just isn't the case.

If water is boiling out of your cooling system you have another problem entirely.
Evaporation of water is what I'm talking about. .... Once there is exposure to the atmosphere evaporation occurs. Again I still have to check the hilux cap but older systems with an overflow bottle required topping up. .. not daily. .. but after a while

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 5th, 2015, 9:22 am

Hey i am looking to get a door console replaced or repaired
it is for a toyota hilux 2011..front door right side..
can any one assist?
i looked on ebay all i am seeing are black and woodgrain finish.
i need a gray finish
door console.jpg

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » June 5th, 2015, 12:18 pm

if was me i'd get some duplicolor trim paint and repaint all

Postby Team Loco » June 5th, 2015, 6:06 pm

Duplicolor yes. But because of the item i suggest u run a duplicolor primer first

Postby Rainman » June 5th, 2015, 8:54 pm

mitch1980 wrote:Hey i am looking to get a door console replaced or repaired
can any one assist?
i need a gray finish

https://www.facebook.com/trinihydrographics?fref=ts

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 5th, 2015, 9:03 pm

Rainman wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:Hey i am looking to get a door console replaced or repaired
can any one assist?
i need a gray finish

<span class="skimlinks-unlinked">https://www.facebook.com/trinihydrographics?fref=ts</span>

hey i sent the pic and requested some info in getting it done.
thank u

Postby Team Loco » June 5th, 2015, 10:11 pm

Anyone interested in a ln166 tbj 4x4 hilux. Contact me. 2.8. No accidents. $65000. Decent condition

ravist

Postby ravist » June 22nd, 2015, 7:51 am

Hey folks,
I am not new to Trinituner/Trucks and Pickups nor the Tech Thread since i use to own a navara for 5 years and only sold it last week and prior owned 2 brand new frontiers, 2.5T and 3.0T as well. Nevertheless, i switched over to a Toyota Hilux 3.0 A/T because of the great reviews and simply because i need a truck to last me more than 5 years. I have some basic questions since i am kinda new to toyota;
1) should i service at the firm?
2) can service be done at 10,000km intervals?
3) i used amsoil 5w 40 in all my vans, can i use this oil on the new hilux?
4) how often do i change filters?
5) do you recommend k&n air filter or should i stick to toyota's original?
6) where can i purchase genuine filters?

The reason why i am asking is because i serviced at Massy for every truck mentioned above and had somewhat okay service. Albeit, i know it is important to service at the firm for warranty purposes, how would you rate the their service? Many thanks!!!

Postby Team Loco » June 22nd, 2015, 10:18 am

ravist wrote:Hey folks,
I am not new to Trinituner/Trucks and Pickups nor the Tech Thread since i use to own a navara for 5 years and only sold it last week and prior owned 2 brand new frontiers, 2.5T and 3.0T as well. Nevertheless, i switched over to a Toyota Hilux 3.0 A/T because of the great reviews and simply because i need a truck to last me more than 5 years. I have some basic questions since i am kinda new to toyota;
1) should i service at the firm? For your warranty period yes
2) can service be done at 10,000km intervals? no. i would stick to 5,000kms service. stretching the oil too thin can affect life of the turbocharger3) i used amsoil 5w 40 in all my vans, can i use this oil on the new hilux? dunno4) how often do i change filters? check owner's manual. use toyota recommendation5) do you recommend k&n air filter or should i stick to toyota's original? k&n is ok, just dont overoil as you can get the intake too nasty and the turbocharger also6) where can i purchase genuine filters? besides the firm you can pm Sweeks on the forum

The reason why i am asking is because i serviced at Massy for every truck mentioned above and had somewhat okay service. Albeit, i know it is important to service at the firm for warranty purposes, how would you rate the their service? Many thanks!!!

ravist

Postby ravist » June 22nd, 2015, 10:51 am

Thanks B!!! One more thing, what oil would you recommend?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”