Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sweeks

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby sweeks » March 16th, 2015, 10:40 pm

Dragular wrote:having problems finding original oil filter for 3.0l (1kd) hilux: 90915-30002
or
90915-YZZD2

anyone ever used a sakura oil filter- if so which model number???

I have just a few genuine parts including oil, air, disc pads and wiper blade refills ...

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 6th, 2015, 7:37 am

Guys morning wanna find out about polyurethane cradle bushings for the 2014 hilux and what are the best shocks to use I'm staying on stock rims and tires for awhile

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 6th, 2015, 7:59 am

I would like to find out what you want to do with your new van. It isn't a car and people don't really race it so there aren't many options. The stock suspension lasts pretty long before components require replacement.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 6th, 2015, 8:12 am

Nothing really just got so accustomed to modding my stuff to last a lil longer this is my first 4x4 really and I usually push it kinda hard nah so I know things gonna go bad fast

Postby Ted_v2 » April 6th, 2015, 8:13 am

Keep stock

badart

Postby badart » April 6th, 2015, 9:20 am

My hilux is 6 years old and still using stock suspension no problems but now Im starting to feel more of the smaller bumps on the road. So I'm going to replace my shocks at the end of the year and would do a 2 inch lift one time.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 6th, 2015, 9:39 am

Next issue for me is brakes any recommendations as to what's best and what's to avoid

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 6th, 2015, 12:06 pm

red bwoy wrote:Next issue for me is brakes any recommendations as to what's best and what's to avoid

use genuine toyota parts for these type of parts
never compromise on the quality ride form toyota
it worth it in the long run

check filterproz .. he got me my original brake pads

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 6th, 2015, 2:52 pm

red bwoy wrote:Nothing really just got so accustomed to modding my stuff to last a lil longer this is my first 4x4 really and I usually push it kinda hard nah so I know things gonna go bad fast

Ok.... my old man has the original suspension components in his lux for 150000kms and counting with most of it not done on the highway
If you're going to push the van hard. Couple of things to service or change... Some of which are already listed in the manual
Grease the drive shafts regularly; I think there are seven grease fittings in total on the driveshafts for the 4x4
Dot 4 or 5.1 brake fluid. .. Any assistance in stopping the tank is welcome
Let the turbo cool when you have reached your destination... at least one minute idling or invest in a turbo timer
Can't really recommend better pads, oem is pretty decent.
Tyres will help tremendously. ... If you can source the 18" rims from the prado you will have better options as regards lower profile high performance suv tyres.
But the 18s might be a touch on the heavy side
Changing the fluids in the drivetrain to synthetic (transfer case, front and rear diffs and manual trans... If you have a manual)
I have never heard of anyone getting the a/t temp light to turn on but if you have an auto.....a trans cooler might be in order
I see anti sway bars are available for the rear online. ... but I can't speak to their effectiveness. Most aftermarket performance shocks that are available tend to assist people raising their vehicle... not really for going faster

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 6th, 2015, 2:57 pm

red bwoy wrote:Next issue for me is brakes any recommendations as to what's best and what's to avoid

Mintex has pads for the lux but in my experience mintex pads are a bit harsh on rotors. They also don't hold very well when heated

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 6th, 2015, 3:09 pm

Oem is it then used mintex on my BJ sedan for awhile had to change all my rotors too quickly for my liking my van is auto recently changed oil went with the Mobil 1 Delvac works ok so far when the tranny is due to change might go with Redline Transmission oil works well in my sedan

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 7th, 2015, 8:05 am

I am not sure about the redline synthetic Transmission fluid...The transmission might be the only drivetrain component i would use the toyota fluid for, or some equivalent; not the one fluid meets almost every spec i can think about that is redline or amsoil....everything else would be syn if i was running it.
Also consider an additional trans fluid cooler.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » April 7th, 2015, 8:55 am

Currently using Amsoil ATF in the 2007 Corolla and Valvoline MaxLife ATF in the 2013 Hilux.
Both work great so far. No harsh shifts at all.
Corolla has a transmission cooler though. This improved shift quality significantly compared to original.
Procrastinating to put one in the Hilux.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 7th, 2015, 9:57 am

How often do you guys change the tranny fluid thinking my change should be earlier than the manual states seeing as I kinda run my vehicles lil hard daily

Big Z

Postby Big Z » April 7th, 2015, 11:23 am

I drain and fill every 10k to 20k km.
I am aware that Toyota recommends to inspect at 100k.... yes.. 100k km.
To me, that is a ridiculous value. I have seen local Corollas with under 40k km and the transmission fluid was black. That is definitely not the colour it should be.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 12:12 pm

Has anyone tried Kendall oil in their hilux? Met with some of their sales folks today so wanted some reviews

Postby DVSTT » April 7th, 2015, 4:05 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Has anyone tried Kendall oil in their hilux? Met with some of their sales folks today so wanted some reviews

I'm running Castrol for years in a hilux with half a million kms in the clock and a Triton with 170k km and I've had no issues. Don't see the need to be paying more.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 4:38 pm

^ off topic much

Postby DVSTT » April 7th, 2015, 5:07 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:^ off topic much

Nah never try it.

Postby Rainman » April 7th, 2015, 5:37 pm

DVSTT wrote:

Nah never try it.

Which Castrol are you using? Hypuron?

Postby DVSTT » April 7th, 2015, 5:43 pm

Rainman wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Nah never try it.

Which Castrol are you using? Hypuron?

Yup. Can't remember the body off hand though.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 8th, 2015, 12:12 am

Big Z wrote:Currently using Amsoil ATF in the 2007 Corolla and Valvoline MaxLife ATF in the 2013 Hilux.
Both work great so far. No harsh shifts at all.
Corolla has a transmission cooler though. This improved shift quality significantly compared to original.
Procrastinating to put one in the Hilux.

Out of curiosity. ... How much fluid comes out of the transmission sump when you drain.
Not sure how a transcooler can improve shift quality... Might be more consistent though as it minimizes temp spikes.

Was planning to change atf fluid when I was doing the diffs and transfer case but might have to change it sooner based on what I'm reading.

Delo 400LE is my pick for best oil for the price.... but I am currently using total quartz 9000 just to see how it feels in the diesel. It takes a bit longer to get my van up to operating temp currently
Last edited by kamakazi on April 8th, 2015, 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » April 8th, 2015, 12:18 am

About 4 quarts in the rolla. Can't remember for the Hilux.
Corolla would rough shift after a long drive. The cooler definitely does its job.
Get the consensus of other automatic hilux owners with respect to the ATF condition. Or just keep an eye on yours. I just didn't care to find out how quickly the Hilux beats up its ATF. So much easier for me to just change it.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 8th, 2015, 12:35 am

While others might beat on their van. ...I rarely cross 2.5k rpm.... it's usually up to 2k most of the time.

Not a fan of the stop leak type seal conditioners in max life. Have some Mobil lined up

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 10th, 2015, 1:06 am

I see super pro makes bushings for the lux but it's a bit pricey.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 10th, 2015, 5:12 am

Anyone front spindle ever bend?
Right where the stabliser link bolts up?

One came in for repairs.
3k for a bare spindle not included wheel bearing.

Postby DVSTT » April 10th, 2015, 6:34 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Anyone front spindle ever bend?
Right where the stabliser link bolts up?

One came in for repairs.
3k for a bare spindle not included wheel bearing.

Spindle for a Triton is 5k at DM.
Bought a used red one before the new black one and the guy had forgot to mention the van had been in an accident and needed a spindle and steering rack. Ended up returning it and buying the new one.

Postby Rainman » April 10th, 2015, 8:43 am

Has anyone ever dropped their oil weight, i've been using 15w40 from 0-60000kms but was wondering what the implications of using a 10w30 would be.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 10th, 2015, 8:55 am

I'm using 10w30 since I got the van

Postby sliderz1 » April 10th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Rainman wrote:Has anyone ever dropped their oil weight, i've been using 15w40 from 0-60000kms but was wondering what the implications of using a 10w30 would be.

it usually gets a bit noisier

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”