Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby droppa » November 5th, 2012, 1:28 pm

bez what size u looking for, mite have a lil link to some, but that may be in 15s....

this TOYO OC MT is not badly priced either, but 15s cant fit the lux??

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 5th, 2012, 3:20 pm

I'm getting 265/75/16 Toyo Open Country AT's from Milage Mack
http://toyotires.com/tires/pattern/open ... rain-tires

I'm getting 16's cause I am putting them on the stock wheels for now and also getting some 16's off ebay that will be coming in next month hopefully.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 5th, 2012, 7:15 pm

^^how much are the Toyos?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 5th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Should be. About $1145 each.

Toyo open country are good all terrains, but some say they wear out too fast.
For all terrains, u can't beat bfg at ko, they have aggressive treads, excellent grip in either wet or dry, and excellent tread wear. Only drawback is they're expensive - but worth the money. I really enjoyed my bfg at.

Another excellent all terrain that I'd recommend is the kumho kl78 at. Aggressive pattern, performs well both on and offroad... And the last set we bought for my parents frontier lasted approx 70,000km or just about 3 years of pure highway driving. Cost $1130 from Laughlin and Degannes.much better value imo than the cheaper all terrains, but that's imho.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 5th, 2012, 9:55 pm

Bezman wrote:I'm getting 265/75/16 Toyo Open Country AT's from Milage Mack

I'm getting 16's cause I am putting them on the stock wheels for now and also getting some 16's off ebay that will be coming in next month hopefully.

Lovely tire. Had these on my navara. Well worth the money. The AT that the new rangers are coming with is a lovely tire as well. Continental

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 5th, 2012, 11:18 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
Bezman wrote:Anywhere have the BF Goodrich KM2's since loco set me up :lol:

If not I may get some Toyo Open Country's from Milage Mack

Quick service has sale 50% sale on all michelin and bf goodrich tyres till the 24th

I called and "nicole" said they dont have... but i am sure i should call again a few times and see if they found some

venum

Postby venum » November 8th, 2012, 10:17 pm

These are my Kumho Road Venture A/T at 15 months doing 27650km

Front:

Rear:

I am disappointed

I was expecting these to last me minimally 2 years (~ 50,000km)

at 15 months they very close to the safety mark

wet traction is poor

dry traction remains good

wear is even as my truck doesn't have any alignment issues

I will be pushing them as far as safely possible

I will not recommend nor repurchase

Postby sliderz1 » November 15th, 2012, 9:49 pm

Nankang AT
giving these a shot 31x10.5x15 on a Frontier ..no rubbing issues, ~1/2'' clearance at the closest point

droppa

Postby droppa » November 16th, 2012, 5:21 am

renard these does work real good boi, not sure how they will do in the heavy mud, but for light mud and on road they wukking best so far....

how much did u pay???

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 16th, 2012, 8:49 am

Got four MAXISS HT from Singhs in Penal.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 16th, 2012, 4:08 pm

Hey fellas,

Looking for some 15" wheels... 15x7 or 15x8 preferably... Please pm or post any info

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » November 16th, 2012, 9:54 pm

sliderz1 wrote:Image

Nankang AT
giving these a shot 31x10.5x15 on a Frontier ..no rubbing issues, ~1/2'' clearance at the closest point

lets us know how they run ,hope they are much better than the road stone AT i have on my truck

rudeboye_r
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby rudeboye_r » November 24th, 2012, 6:41 am

Does anybody know who sells the hercules terra trac?
275 70 16

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 26th, 2012, 10:23 am

most smaller tyre shops have the hercules and roadian roadstone at's...

but if you must know, check Federals on Cipero St., sando

venum

Postby venum » November 26th, 2012, 10:06 pm

i heard that foreign used tyres going up by 30% next year.

anyone know if that applies to new tyres as well?

Postby tr1ad » November 27th, 2012, 8:07 am

just foreign used based on the taxes - from the budget, 30% taxes still on the new, no change

yuh was over seas or wa

venum

Postby venum » November 28th, 2012, 9:12 pm

tr1ad wrote:just foreign used based on the taxes - from the budget, 30% taxes still on the new, no change

yuh was over seas or wa

Thanx man

and yes

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 8th, 2012, 9:10 pm

sliderz1 wrote:Image

Nankang AT

brought a set of these today for my nav
paid 1075 per tire AT..ride seems ok so far...only other option available was the bridgestone HT
and the khumo....but from venom post about wearing out fast i decided against the purchase of those
will report on the performance of the nankang

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 9th, 2012, 10:57 am

Nankang are strong tires, based on past use of the tires. I say that from going through some oil field roads and they held up while others got bent. Down side they are noisey.

Postby sliderz1 » December 10th, 2012, 7:13 pm

sorry for the late reply, didnt get a Topic Reply Notifi....

droppa wrote:how much did u pay???

$4K Installed

trinibajan34 wrote:lets us know how they run ,hope they are much better than the road stone AT i have on my truck

based on 'new vs new'.
had RS Rodian ATII before, sidewall is softer than the RS so ride is better.
quick release of the clutch wont spin them in the wet, but a 2K rpm launch will [wet] but it sorts itself out quickly. Very good wrt to hydroplaning resistance.
ummmm......as for offroad, no mud yet but they will have to come good to beat those RS ATII's

SNIPER 3000 wrote: Down side they are noisey.

no noise as they're new, hoping they never do :lol:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 10th, 2012, 8:52 pm

umm why would you launch at 2k rpm i dont even do that with my van. my rs rodian AT loose grip easy in the wet but i have learnt to control. Should have bought those than these rodian AT and they squeel ah lot even when yuh not pushing them. my friend calls them drama queen tires.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 11th, 2012, 4:52 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

Lovely tire. Had these on my navara. Well worth the money. The AT that the new rangers are coming with is a lovely tire as well. Continental

Aaron, by any chance, do you remember how well the treadwear was with the Toyos? I'm seeing mixed reviews online.
I started looking at AT tires for the sportero (265/70/16)
Laughlin only had the anti venum kumhos :lol:
Mileage mack has the same kumho tires, plus what Bezman posted
Quick service 1. should change their name and 2. are out of the BFG's that a lot of you guys swear by, and might get a shipment either late this year or sometime in January :|

Paullct

Postby Paullct » December 11th, 2012, 5:26 pm

^^ we just bought a set of 31" BFG's today...check again

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 11th, 2012, 10:56 pm

Paullct wrote:^^ we just bought a set of 31" BFG's today...check again

well I tried the locations at Pt Lisas and Marabella; maybe they didn't like me :( :lol:
please note though when I said they were "out of the BFG's......." I was referring to my size only eh :lol:
anyhow, I'll call the other locations and try a few more places in the morning and hear what they have to say, but right now it seems as though those Toyo A/T II might be what I'll end up with :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 12th, 2012, 4:24 am

Toyo at are great tyres both on and off road, but they don't last long at all. One of our buddies in side b ran a set on his 3.0 ranger and only got abiut 50,000km out of them.

Good tires but I can't recommend them if you're looking for longevity.

And yes, we do swear by the BFG At, I have had first hand experience with them.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 12th, 2012, 11:04 am

If you into longevity and a good mix of road manners and offroad ability, I rate all of the firestone AT tyres available on the market..
I have had my Firestone Firehawk ATX about 6 or 7 yrs now and they still have half tread life.. You talking about 50,000 km so far..

I have read excellent reviews of the Firestone Destination AT as well and I know ramrattan stocks them
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... tion+A%2FT

The BFG are easily the best AT on the market but sometimes you have to consider economics on account of what is being charged for them..

venum

Postby venum » December 13th, 2012, 10:56 pm

CD4Accord wrote:If you into longevity and a good mix of road manners and offroad ability, I rate all of the firestone AT tyres available on the market..
I have had my Firestone Firehawk ATX about 6 or 7 yrs now and they still have half tread life.. You talking about 50,000 km so far..

those are 15" only

CD4Accord wrote:I have read excellent reviews of the Firestone Destination AT as well and I know ramrattan stocks them
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... tion+A%2FT

those available in 16". i am considering them

CD4Accord wrote:The BFG are easily the best AT on the market but sometimes you have to consider economics on account of what is being charged for them..

too bloddy expensive, but if you have the $, go strong and buy those for sure

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 14th, 2012, 12:25 am

Venum, if there is a significant difference in price i'll definitely go with the Firestone..

I have also heard positive reviews of the Firestone ATX Radial 23, but that is definitely more biased toward off than on road..

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » December 15th, 2012, 11:50 am

Reading what has been said so far...

1) Many say that tyre A, B and C is wearing faster than expected. If the threadwear rating is low, then one shouldn't expect a tyre to last e.g. >50,000kms running highway (cuz 50,000 kms offroad is different). So is there a discrepancy between the threadwear rating marked on the tyres and the life expectancy for a specific use...e.g. for offroading, typical street and highway?

2) From the pics I'm seeing here, people say that their tyres don't offer much traction on wet roads. Looking at the pics of the tyres, the tread depth is descent but the pattern is not a wet road pattern. So are you saying that the tyre rubber does not offer the right friction with the road and therefore is not suitable for normally wet roads (as opposed to roads with puddles which is a different issue regarding water displacement)?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 16th, 2012, 6:07 am

tourniquet wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

Aaron, by any chance, do you remember how well the treadwear was with the Toyos? I'm seeing mixed reviews online.
I started looking at AT tires for the sportero (265/70/16)
Laughlin only had the anti venum kumhos :lol:
Mileage mack has the same kumho tires, plus what Bezman posted
Quick service 1. should change their name and 2. are out of the BFG's that a lot of you guys swear by, and might get a shipment either late this year or sometime in January :|

I usually changed tires every year so the wear was good for me. Toyo's is a soft compound tire so expect life of a year to 15months

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”