TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
tourniquet

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby tourniquet » October 22nd, 2013, 7:12 pm

today was the first day in quite some time I drove the sportero; drove around for quite a bit to the point where I glanced at the fuel gauge and was convinced it was broken :oops: diesel ftw yes :lol:

venum

Postby venum » October 23rd, 2013, 11:33 pm

gotta love diesel

our Sporteros dont give mileage like the Hilux from some reports that I have heard, but who cares

450km to 3/4 tank for me and happy

hope it doesnt change by much when i blank my egr in 2000km

Val

Postby Val » October 24th, 2013, 7:44 pm

venum wrote:Good to hear you sorted out Val.

Was the egr problem because of carbon build-up

No, loose connection with the jack to the egr valve. They had cleaned the egr and probably didn't snap the jack all the way. But I had cleaned the EGR 10000 kms earlier anyway.
I got the fuel filters in Car Boutique for $40 each, Sakura. Have to change that this weekend.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 26th, 2013, 8:37 pm

Got the clock spring replaced, but now I need to have the code cleared.
Venum, who cleared your code? I read that only the M.U.T III can clear SRS related codes?

Thanks

Postby ronsin1 » October 27th, 2013, 6:09 am

I need to get brake pads ASAP anybody where has in Stock except the firm I normally buy in Barbados but the last time I was there I did not get a chance to purchase.
ROC does not have in stock either

twinturbo_z

Postby twinturbo_z » October 27th, 2013, 12:27 pm

Who has the K and N Cold air intake locally?

Postby Ted_v2 » October 27th, 2013, 12:58 pm

I saw a snorkel on a sportero. Hard af

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » October 27th, 2013, 8:47 pm

Hey guys. Where can I get a tray cover for my sportero? I don't want the roll n lock because you lose space at the back of the tray. I was thinking the of the flip back type but I have the sportero with the curved tray. Does anyone know if it could work and if so, where can I get it?

venum

Postby venum » October 28th, 2013, 7:01 pm

^^^ will not work

i had messaged teh dealer and taht was his response

Val

Postby Val » November 1st, 2013, 10:05 am

twinturbo_z wrote:Who has the K and N Cold air intake locally?

After having to clean my MAF so many times, I would not recommend the K&N. And I had the drop in.

If you want that I could give you for free.

Val

Postby Val » November 1st, 2013, 10:07 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Got the clock spring replaced, but now I need to have the code cleared.
Venum, who cleared your code? I read that only the M.U.T III can clear SRS related codes?

Thanks

If you want to try my OBD2 adapter to clear it, no problem. But if it's a Triton (not a Sportero) it would not read it.

starboys LTD

Postby starboys LTD » November 1st, 2013, 4:08 pm

hi i have a problem have a l200 local doing low milage but it doesnt wants to start the only way it wants to start by take a wire from d battery to d starter but d check light cum on n say on n d van doesnt want to move can u help me out on this call me 7771412

Postby ronsin1 » November 1st, 2013, 8:26 pm

you need to get a scan done get the fault code so you know where to start to look

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2013, 9:14 pm

Val wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Got the clock spring replaced, but now I need to have the code cleared.

Thanks

If you want to try my OBD2 adapter to clear it, no problem. But if it's a Triton (not a Sportero) it would not read it.

Thanks, it's a local sportero. How/where/when can we link up?
What brand/model you got, won't mind buying my own stuff too ;)

venum

Postby venum » November 2nd, 2013, 11:36 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Val wrote:

Thanks

Thanks, it's a local sportero. How/where/when can we link up?
What brand/model you got, won't mind buying my own stuff too ;)

my contact in DM cleared it

try Val's code reader, it may work

Postby DVSTT » November 4th, 2013, 5:57 pm

Did an entire interior clean today, phew. Steamed and vacuumed the carpet/ headliner, steamed, cleaned and conditioned the leather, etc. Later in the week I'd do a complete exterior detail. What you guys do to clean your engine bay by the way?

venum

Postby venum » November 5th, 2013, 12:54 am

DVSTT wrote:What you guys do to clean your engine bay by the way?

engine wash with a degreaser

stvcmch

Postby stvcmch » November 5th, 2013, 12:59 am

hi guys , anyone ever had their center display monitor blank off on them ?....mine did !...a couple of days now , any ideas that caused it or what to do ???

Postby DVSTT » November 5th, 2013, 10:18 am

venum wrote:

Purple blaster?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 5th, 2013, 7:31 pm

DVSTT wrote:
venum wrote:

Purple blaster?

see if you can get a hold of some simple green. Bhagwansinghs might carry it; if not, give interchem a call.

Val

Postby Val » November 6th, 2013, 10:59 am

I think Peake's has simple green as well.

Postby DVSTT » November 6th, 2013, 2:16 pm

I actually had sample bottles of it home. Used the green all purpose one, worked brilliantly. Used a paint brush to agitate it and let it sit for 20 minutes before washing it off.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2013, 4:10 pm

Finally got my AC sorted at King Kool.
Bad evaporator, as suspected. The good thing is that they presented me with multiple cost options for repair.
Great service, they worked really quickly too. Got there about 8:30 and by 11:15 I was on my way home.

Chillin like a villian

Val

Postby Val » November 9th, 2013, 6:49 pm

Just thought I'd share a 0 to 60 time with the enhancements and everything serviced (bad start though).

TCR 2264 0 to 60.jpg

Postby DVSTT » November 9th, 2013, 11:39 pm

Val wrote:Just thought I'd share a 0 to 60 time with the enhancements and everything serviced (bad start though).

TCR 2264 0 to 60.jpg

Is that a phone app? Wonder what the torque figures like?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 10th, 2013, 8:43 am

Someone make a dyno pull

Val

Postby Val » November 10th, 2013, 10:41 am

Yea the app is Torque, I sync that with my Bluetooth obd2 scanner to pull codes etc.
I did a dyno pull before and after enhancements - 126 whp before, 170 whp after but the boost was triggering the factory boost cut so had to scale back the boost and got to 165 whp with no codes. I wouldn't take it beyond that with the automatic transmission.

To the guy with the blank display on the center console, try cycling through the views (info button), there is a setting to take it off completely that you may have inadvertently done.

Postby DVSTT » November 16th, 2013, 12:36 am

What the torque figures were? I think they are between 300nm-400nm stock, the 3.2 that is.

venum

Postby venum » November 16th, 2013, 8:05 am

343Nm

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2013, 1:48 pm

@venum, yuh forget me with the cover?
Still good/for sale, I say you changed your mind.

As long as it's still waterproof, I'll take it. Got some new baby stuff that I'll need to keep dry!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”