Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Xplode

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Xplode » September 6th, 2014, 9:12 pm

Ronnie203 wrote:
rbtnt wrote:Just got my 2.5 from the firm yesterday. I Must say for the past week or so i have been reading this thread like crazzzzzyyyyy. Lots of good info for us who are new to the 4x4 scene keep it coming. I will definitely post any questions i have etc.

One thing tho should i buy into the whole "you have to service by Toyota for us to honor the warranty" or is it better for me to go by my own mechanic?

Test drove those 2.5
I must say they really lacked power...went with the 3.0
you like it so far

I have both the 1kd diesel 3.0 and gas 2.7 vvti 4x4 hilux and the gas engine is way more faster .

The diesel is very dangerous at hi speeds don't know if it's because the engine is way to heavy for the front but the gas feels more stable lighter engine ,but anyway they are built to carry heavy loads not speed.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 6th, 2014, 10:12 pm

Power to go where
The amount of traffic I see recently.... You not going to be speeding for long.
The vehicle dynamics also doesn't lend itself well to speed.

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 6th, 2014, 11:01 pm

I still got the 3.0L :)
But men with their 2.2L Rangers coasting which is even more lazy(dead)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 6th, 2014, 11:07 pm

On paper the 2.2 is listed as being more powerful...and more power makes bad drivers out of people :smile:

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 6th, 2014, 11:21 pm

Xplode wrote:
Ronnie203 wrote:
rbtnt wrote:Just got my 2.5 from the firm yesterday. I Must say for the past week or so i have been reading this thread like crazzzzzyyyyy. Lots of good info for us who are new to the 4x4 scene keep it coming. I will definitely post any questions i have etc.

One thing tho should i buy into the whole "you have to service by Toyota for us to honor the warranty" or is it better for me to go by my own mechanic?

Test drove those 2.5
you like it so far

I have both the 1kd diesel 3.0 and gas 2.7 vvti 4x4 hilux and the gas engine is way more faster .

The diesel is very dangerous at hi speeds don't know if it's because the engine is way to heavy for the front but the gas feels more stable lighter engine ,but anyway they are built to carry heavy loads not speed.

Whats is the gas consumption like on the 2.7?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » September 7th, 2014, 3:06 am

Calor wrote:
Xplode wrote:
Ronnie203 wrote:

Test drove those 2.5
you like it so far

Daily driven with ac ,make 2 south runs every weekend ,every Friday $120 super from 1/2 tank .

Platinum long reach NGK spark plugs make a big difference in performance .

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » September 7th, 2014, 11:21 am

Looking for chrome headlight tail light and foglight finisher the few ppl i check here in south rel expensive ($1600 for a complete kit and daz without the foglight finisher) ... point me in the right direction please.

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 7th, 2014, 12:36 pm

Xplode wrote:
Calor wrote:
Xplode wrote:
Ronnie203 wrote:

Test drove those 2.5
you like it so far

Daily driven with ac ,make 2 south runs every weekend ,every Friday $120 super from 1/2 tank .

Platinum long reach NGK spark plugs make a big difference in performance .

Not bad..dont know why I always thought the 2.7 required premium :oops: ...does TTTL still bring in the gas version?

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 8th, 2014, 1:51 pm

TTTL stopped bringing the 2.7L gas a while ago

Xplode

Postby Xplode » September 9th, 2014, 11:10 am

Xplode wrote:Changed out my 2008 Hilux Tailights for the 2014 liked this style , both sides lined up and plug in the oem socket , ordered form Thailand, much cheaper than the firm with S & H .

Next step changed the 08 grille and front bumper to the 2010 meaner style by next week will have pics , every thing lined up straight down to the flair holes just prep for painting .

Had some few scratches on the 2008 Hilux front bumper decided to changed to the 2011 all chrome grill ,bumper and fogs .

always liked this shape looks more truck like .

all new parts shipped from Thailand ,painted in a local garage .
IMG-20140823-WA0002.jpg
original 2008 front
20140909_073234.jpg
changed to the 2011 front

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 14th, 2014, 1:02 pm

I am really enjoying my new vehicle. Got it last week. Came with Michelin tires [SMILING FACE WITH OPEN MOUTH], new Hilux mats. Love the deck, phone hooked up via Bluetooth. Steering controls nice. I just feel nervous about 'breaking in the engine' and following the advice here as well as the manual! Cheers!

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » September 14th, 2014, 2:05 pm

rbtnt wrote:Looking for chrome headlight tail light and foglight finisher the few ppl i check here in south rel expensive ($1600 for a complete kit and daz without the foglight finisher) ... point me in the right direction please.

Are you on facebook. Msg kevstar enterprises

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » September 14th, 2014, 4:57 pm

ok will do thanks for the info

Dragular

Postby Dragular » September 16th, 2014, 9:32 pm

recently got a 2011 Hilux 4x4 3.0l auto etc

had a 3.2L fully loaded sportero/triton before and it came with a transmission cooler. I looked in the engine bay and bumper and didnt see anything resembling a trans cooler.
I was wondering why the hilux does not come with one?

Has anyone installed transmission coolers on their hilux?
what type would you recommend eg. B&M, Stack plate or stack plate with fan built in etc

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 17th, 2014, 8:46 am

I do not know why a cooler isn't installed from the factory. I have also observed that the auto Navara comes with a cooler as well.

I bought a Hayden Rapid cool 677 which I haven't installed as yet.
Can you remember if the trans cooler in your sportero was the only means by which the transmission was kept cool or did the fluid also pass through the radiator.
Depending on your answer, might have to get a bigger one.
I also have to think of where to put it

insidious76

Postby insidious76 » September 17th, 2014, 8:20 pm

Can anyone recommend a good mechanic along the east/west corridor to carry my hilux to service?

insidious76

Postby insidious76 » September 17th, 2014, 8:20 pm

Can anyone recommend a good mechanic along the east/west corridor to carry my hilux to service?

Dragular

Postby Dragular » September 17th, 2014, 8:47 pm

kamakazi wrote:I do not know why a cooler isn't installed from the factory. I have also observed that the auto Navara comes with a cooler as well.

I bought a Hayden Rapid cool 677 which I haven't installed as yet.
Can you remember if the trans cooler in your sportero was the only means by which the transmission was kept cool or did the fluid also pass through the radiator.
Depending on your answer, might have to get a bigger one.
I also have to think of where to put it

the sportero cooler seemed independent of the radiator. I think it was done so to allow the radiator to cool the engine better.

i am thinking to get a transcooler online with the fan and thermostat.

jpec

Postby jpec » September 19th, 2014, 2:37 pm

anyone know anyone selling a wrecked hilux? might need some parts

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 19th, 2014, 5:57 pm

Wanna install a turbo timer in my new Lux. Why is it men charging $1200-$1500 installed? I find that too much...thoughts?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 19th, 2014, 6:24 pm

A turbotimer to me is a needless expense. I usually just slow down as I approach my destination to minimize idle time when I have parked.
Tttl might want to void your warranty if you have one installed on the outside

The cost might be similar to doing a full alarm install as they have to tap into the ignition circuit as well as some other trigger to shut it off in the event someone decides to try to drive it while it is active

Postby equipped2ripp » September 19th, 2014, 6:31 pm

no, they would not void your warranty for a turbo timer.

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 19th, 2014, 6:51 pm

I asked the same question about voiding the warranty. Salesman told me it wouldn't but better to do it at TTTL. But the fact is, it's an outside guy ho comes in to do it. So I may just take it outside...

Postby Ted_v2 » September 19th, 2014, 6:54 pm

200$ for a turbo timing outside. Apexi brand. And a electrician taking less than 100$ .its a diy project IMO

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 19th, 2014, 6:55 pm

I see! Tnx

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 19th, 2014, 6:56 pm

I guess investing in GPS tracking makes more sense yes..

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 21st, 2014, 6:13 pm

Any major difference between Miccon or Volution turbo timer for Hilux? Both made in Thailand...

rbtnt

Postby rbtnt » September 23rd, 2014, 12:03 pm

So i want to install the steering wheel audio controls in the van. The electrician (Anil) from TTTL South said if i get the clock spring and the audio controls (links below) they will take abt $500 labour to install it.

http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/GENUINE-TOYOTA-HILUX-SR5-VIGO-CLOCK-SPRING-AIRBAG-2005-2006-2007-2008-2009-2014-/221367642803

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Audio-control-and-Bluetooth-Steering-Wheel-Switch-For-Toyota-Highlander-Vigo-Camry-Corolla-Hilux-Innova-84250/1507918639.html

So approx $100USD each for the clock spring and controls plus the $500TTD for the labour. It jus have me wondering, while i like having the feature of steering controls (works great on my Mazda3). I just nuh sure if it is $2000.00 nice. What you guys think?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 23rd, 2014, 2:32 pm

I not seeing that making sense. No how

Postby Team Loco » September 30th, 2014, 8:22 am

Bought a pair of front ifs locking hubs for the ln166
1412079728686.jpg
1412079728686.jpg (30.98 KiB) Viewed 5047 times

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”