Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Team Loco » January 28th, 2015, 3:44 pm

transplant has started today. replacing my stock 3L drivetrain in my ln166. going with a full 1kz auto transplant. replacing everything down to dashboard. pics soon

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 28th, 2015, 6:29 pm

You can use
valvoline vo-1
Purolator l10241

or if you can't find those you can use
Purolator l20064 or valvoline vo-33 in a pinch. These do not have a relief bypass valve meaning the oil has to pass through the filter medium at all times.

The only thing I use from Sakura is their air filter. .. i Don't trust the oil or the fuel filter.

Postby DVSTT » January 29th, 2015, 8:23 am

Team Loco wrote:transplant has started today. replacing my stock 3L drivetrain in my ln166. going with a full 1kz auto transplant. replacing everything down to dashboard. pics soon

Nice. Looking forward to pics

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2015, 6:49 pm

What is the general consensus on the Hilux 2.5 diesel turbo ?
Is it ok power for a regular user not looking for any excessive speed ?

Somebody I know is selling a TCE model.

todd61

Postby todd61 » January 29th, 2015, 8:05 pm

Looking for a 2kd compressor. Any info would be good because I know nothing about those engines.

The part is not for me but a friend.

Postby Team Loco » January 30th, 2015, 9:07 am

todd61 wrote:Looking for a 2kd compressor. Any info would be good because I know nothing about those engines.

The part is not for me but a friend.

i have a used compressor off a 1KD. i think it should work. you can come check it out in marabella. will accept $600. 7964270.
also got a cylinder head, tranny, harness, ECU etc if you know anyone looking for parts

badart

Postby badart » February 22nd, 2015, 12:37 am

Anyone using a 2 inch lift on their hilux? Any problems with the cv joints, control arms, drive shaft etc? Thinking about doing a proper 2 inch lift, 2 inch adjustable coil overs in the front, 2 inch leaf springs n shocks in the rear. Any info appreciated

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 22nd, 2015, 7:50 am

i did three inch, coilovers in front, shocks and spacers in back. no problems here.

two inch should be no problem either

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 22nd, 2015, 2:55 pm

Pics ??

badart

Postby badart » February 22nd, 2015, 6:37 pm

Paullct wrote:i did three inch, coilovers in front, shocks and spacers in back. no problems here.

thanks so i should be good to go, any recommendations for someone to do the install?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 22nd, 2015, 8:50 pm

Paullct wrote:i did three inch, coilovers in front, shocks and spacers in back. no problems here.

Where did you source parts and labour?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 22nd, 2015, 8:54 pm

I'm looking for oem rear leaf Springs from a 3.0L lux.... How much do you think they will cost.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 22nd, 2015, 9:20 pm

badart wrote:thanks so i should be good to go, any recommendations for someone to do the install?

I would say Dean's, Bad Granny, droppa on the forum, etc. The kits are a pretty simple install.

Jimbo wrote:Where did you source parts and labour?

I bought the kit on amazon and installed it myself by Dean's in Diego Martin.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DOC ... UTF8&psc=1

sweeks wrote:Pics ??

pics don't do it any justice honestly but it looks really good in person

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 22nd, 2015, 9:24 pm

Ohhhh das u! Looks real good in person I can vouch.
I live Diego side too so always seeing you around.

How you find the procomp stuff rides compared to stock? And how long you have it installed now?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 22nd, 2015, 9:40 pm

It was a bit stiff at first but after settling out, it's close to stock IMO. Still a little stiffer but that's not an issue for me. If you going with this exact kit, I recommend going to Dean's if you don't want to do the install yourself as the guys there are familiar with it, having helped with mine.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 22nd, 2015, 11:04 pm

Cornering stability and overall handling dynamics better worse or same?

Postby DVSTT » February 22nd, 2015, 11:13 pm

Jimbo wrote:Cornering stability and overall handling dynamics better worse or same?

I'd assume it'd be negatively impacted as higher cog.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 22nd, 2015, 11:56 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Jimbo wrote:Cornering stability and overall handling dynamics better worse or same?

Not if you get a wider track. According to a lot of the hilux junkies in down under (newHilux forum), a quality lift kit with new shocks springs etc actually improved the handling of the hilux significantly from Stock. Of course a hefty price tag is attached but them boys take their vehicles seriously

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 23rd, 2015, 7:38 am

Jimbo wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Not if you get a wider track. According to a lot of the hilux junkies in down under (newHilux forum), a quality lift kit with new shocks springs etc actually improved the handling of the hilux significantly from Stock. Of course a hefty price tag is attached but them boys take their vehicles seriously

Correct. I actually find it better now. Honestly, it takes a couple days of driving to get used to the difference but once you do, there's no going back. I also give credit to my tyres.

You quickly learn all the changes in overall handling dynamics and drive it to suit. I still drive the same speed, corner same speed and everything.

badart

Postby badart » February 28th, 2015, 2:49 pm

Paullct wrote:
badart wrote:thanks so i should be good to go, any recommendations for someone to do the install?

I would say Dean's, Bad Granny, droppa on the forum, etc. The kits are a pretty simple install.

Jimbo wrote:Where did you source parts and labour?

I bought the kit on amazon and installed it myself by Dean's in Diego Martin.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DOC ... UTF8&psc=1

sweeks wrote:Pics ??

pics don't do it any justice honestly but it looks really good in person

Looking great man. I see pro comp have a 6 inch lift for the hilux but tht might be over doing it lol

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Paullct

Postby Paullct » February 28th, 2015, 3:13 pm

Because of the body mount right behind the front tyres on this model Hilux, no matter how much lift you put, you're limited to just under a 33" tyre without having rubbing issues or having to alter the body mount.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 1st, 2015, 12:09 am

So they claim this is a leak of the new hilux....

Postby DVSTT » March 1st, 2015, 12:35 am

MISHI wrote:So they claim this is a leak of the new hilux....

Looks Tacoma/ 4runner like

Postby Team Loco » March 1st, 2015, 11:38 am

http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/dat ... 080230.jpg

Installing a 1kzte auto into my ln166

Paullct

Postby Paullct » March 1st, 2015, 9:10 pm

sweet!!!

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 16th, 2015, 7:14 am

so good day guys new owner of a 2014 Hilux second owner dont think the first owner had ever gotten around to doing the 10,000 kms service.......so after reading this thread i decided to service used Mobil 1 Delvac Fram Extra guard Filter cleaned air filter purged water trap and greased crosses......am i missing anything that could should be done to ensure my vehicle runs great longer oh and i usually only full up at Unipet stations and i've used no additives to date

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » March 16th, 2015, 3:30 pm

Anyone familiar with this light
1426534184603.jpg

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 16th, 2015, 4:35 pm

oil light ,it's low

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 16th, 2015, 7:07 pm

Remember to drain that fuel filter sedimentor at least every oil change. ... unipet fuel might be cleaner but it still has water
Still not a believer in the fram....valvoline v01 works

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 16th, 2015, 8:47 pm

Thanks for the info Bro

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”