Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
whiteknight1431

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby whiteknight1431 » August 20th, 2014, 8:00 am

ShaKarz wrote:
nick639 wrote:^^^^Question.. That sport version is automatic? Did you run it against a manual or normal automatic from massy??

:lol: :lol: :lol: yep auto & yes against MANY 6 fwd manual & couple auto models from massy, doesnt matter, don't know what's really different in the ones massy bringing but it just drives different... a lot of my coworkers have massy models and they complain of traction issues & couple other common issues that my van never experience *knock on wood*

but id like some more feedback on the minor things I mentioned about my van, just want to confirm if something's wrong, id like it repaired while the van still under warranty.. now hitting 15000 km

Lol, the manual version navara are limited to around 170km/h, while the automatic version could go around 185-190km/h. But on a short sprint it will outrun any automatic nav..... But honestly we don't have roads here to really drive comfortably at that speed plus it's against the law, so just becareful on the road.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 20th, 2014, 4:49 pm

whiteknight1431 wrote:Lol, the manual version navara are limited to around 170km/h, while the automatic version could go around 185-190km/h. But on a short sprint it will outrun any automatic nav..... But honestly we don't have roads here to really drive comfortably at that speed plus it's against the law, so just becareful on the road.

yup - everything that he said ^^^^

Postby Ted_v2 » August 20th, 2014, 4:51 pm

Dunno why people doing such speeds in a vehicle like a Navara.

It's so easy to flip and crush so easily. Higher center of gravity ect.

Take your time. No need to speed

Keegz2130

Postby Keegz2130 » August 20th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Honestly 2 years my nav making this year and the fastest i ever drove it was 140 , 150 ! I didnt like it , i mean i love when the turbo kicks in , but the vehicle feels unstable . crusing speed is 100 - 120 .

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » August 21st, 2014, 11:54 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Dunno why people doing such speeds in a vehicle like a Navara.

It's so easy to flip and crush so easily. Higher center of gravity ect.

Take your time. No need to speed

Agreed.

ChrisH

Postby ChrisH » August 27th, 2014, 11:33 pm

Guys im looking for some 4x4 rims for navara or pathfinder any assistance will be greatly appreciated

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » September 4th, 2014, 7:52 am

My 'oil low' light keeps flashing on starting engine, happened randomly 3 times already, I visually checked level on d stick & its where it supposed to be each time, what could be causing this? Is it the sensor? It clears if the engine remains idling a few mins.

Also the noise I hear coming on randomly is the fuel pump I think, because it also comes on when I press the prime pump on the fuel filter but why does it come on with the van off, is that normal?

Postby Kenjo » September 4th, 2014, 2:44 pm

The oil light flashing and fuel gauge repeatedly common on lo seem like two different things though , I think someone described earlier where the 'bulb' in the tank that assesses the fuel level sticks and that leads to the low fuel level which eventually works out itself with driving , anyone else has a decent explanation

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 5th, 2014, 6:46 am

happens sometimes when I park on an angle.

Once oil levels are good on the dipstick, u can keep calm and keep driving your datsun.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 5th, 2014, 7:25 am

Oil light is also a sign of oil pump failure. Low oil pressure. Just something to keep In mind

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » September 6th, 2014, 5:46 pm

lighthammer wrote:happens sometimes when I park on an angle.

Once oil levels are good on the dipstick, u can keep calm and keep driving your datsun.

:lol: ok sir, yes It did happen only when parked at an angle, soon as d vehicle got level & idling it cleared in a few seconds but that's dumb its an 'off road 4x4' vehicle, read of some people linking it to a ground fault connected to a sensor on d drivers door but that's not confirmed by nissan

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 11th, 2014, 11:47 am

No worries dude... just because the van is parked at an angle, the oil sensor can't recognize that the oil levels are good.

It's a sealed system so there shouldn't be any reason for the overall oil levels to change drastically. BUt if you ahven't had a catastrophic failure like a busted oil sump pan (ahem... *cuevas*cough*offroad*cough*reasontomake3/16steelplateunderarmor*cough*) or your oil filter has fallen off on the highway somewhere... of your mechanic/dealer didn't put enough oil (it's 1 gallon and 3 quarts, BTW)..... you good to go pardna.

Relax dude, it's a datsun you're driving.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 11th, 2014, 11:53 am

oh yeah and if it was a ground fault with the sensor then the oil light would come on ALL the time.

(i once knocked off a sensor jack underneath my datsun while offroading, hit a mud bank and the sensor popped off, engine light came on, washed truck, popped sensor back on, engine light came off, no error codes in diagnostic mode, went home satisfied, married girl of my dreams, got a nice house, got two nice little doggies and lived happily ever after...)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 17th, 2014, 9:00 am

Good day.
Would like to know In the automatic Nav;
Does the transmission cooler cool the fluid after it leaves the radiator or before it enters the radiator...or does it bypass the radiator entirely

Bigfoot1040

Postby Bigfoot1040 » September 25th, 2014, 12:23 am

where can I get a performance chip in trinidad to buy and how much there go for ???

Postby black start » September 25th, 2014, 12:30 am

Bigfoot1040 wrote:where can I get a performance chip in trinidad to buy and how much there go for ???

Peak performance (2915444) sells the steinbauer line of performance chips for diesel vehicles...

Bigfoot1040

Postby Bigfoot1040 » September 25th, 2014, 11:26 am

thk bro

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » September 25th, 2014, 11:28 pm

Bigfoot1040 wrote:where can I get a performance chip in trinidad to buy and how much there go for ???

Lower your EGT first..

Bigfoot1040

Postby Bigfoot1040 » September 26th, 2014, 1:31 am

EGT ???

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » September 26th, 2014, 11:48 am

Bigfoot1040 wrote:EGT ???

Ok I'm assuming you nav has a turbo & you want a chip install to get more out of the 'lagging' turbo they come with. A chip gives u about 40hp more? How well will ur vehicle utilise that power u sud ask yourself.. egt is exhaust gas temp, it drives your turbo to supply your engine more air while the chip modulates the fuel injection to give you the extra power you want, but with more power & uncontrolled egt you can kiss your turbo bye bye. You cud probly get ur exhaust flow more smooth out the system & cooler oxygen rich air in the combustion chamber before thinking of getting the chip install & even the chip giving 40hp. is your vehicle capable of using that power efficiently..
I think this is where my nav got d edge in performance over the others.. it was imported with custom dual exhaust system & I'm thinking to still do over the piping too 3" diameter it currently looks like 2.75 or so.. wat diameter is the Massy vans coming with on the standard single pipe exhaust?

Julianmaxx

Postby Julianmaxx » September 27th, 2014, 5:11 pm

How do I drain my fuel tank

Julianmaxx

Postby Julianmaxx » September 27th, 2014, 5:11 pm

How do I drain my fuel tank? Inbox me

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » October 12th, 2014, 7:32 pm

Removed hose to check turbo
1413156686911.jpg

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » October 12th, 2014, 7:38 pm

Second pic
1413157102259.jpg

whiteknight1431

Postby whiteknight1431 » October 13th, 2014, 12:11 am

Hey guys, took my nav (4x4 6forward manual massy version) for a test run on the Golconda to Debe extension of the highway. And while I stretched rpms in each gear I notice that 5th and 6th gear plumes of black smoke kept coming out the exhaust, and I felt a slight bit noticeable hold back and my temperature guage kept going up to about 3/4. Any ideas of what might be going wrong?

Postby sliderz1 » October 13th, 2014, 9:01 am

that rise in temp is concerning. rad/coolant levels ok? ever pulled the themostat to check it?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » October 13th, 2014, 12:23 pm

So my van started to sound like those vans with spark arrestors when i accelerated from a slow speed or a compleat stop . it was sluggish also. hammer told me to check the turbo for excessive oil hence the pics above and the check the turbo air inlet hose to see if it collapsed all the above was good , i then took out my air filter and started dusting it out and then a pice of the plastic broke off, i replaced this filter with a old nissan filter i had laying around until i could get a new one today . to my suprise this monring i did not hear any such noises mensioned before , i was using cheap air filters and would notice the a few weeks after instillation , strange that i am using the a old geniune filter and the sound has gone . i am glad it was not somethiing serious

Postby sliderz1 » October 13th, 2014, 12:25 pm

it probably wasnt sealing properly. i use Sakura without problems

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 13th, 2014, 11:08 pm

gready123456 wrote:So my van started to sound like those vans with spark arrestors when i accelerated from a slow speed or a compleat stop . it was sluggish also. hammer told me to check the turbo for excessive oil hence the pics above and the check the turbo air inlet hose to see if it collapsed all the above was good , i then took out my air filter and started dusting it out and then a pice of the plastic broke off, i replaced this filter with a old nissan filter i had laying around until i could get a new one today . to my suprise this monring i did not hear any such noises mensioned before , i was using cheap air filters and would notice the a few weeks after instillation , strange that i am using the a old geniune filter and the sound has gone . i am glad it was not somethiing serious

that's good to hear, lol.
The original filter has the rubber gasket around the edge to prevent air leaks (and mud leaks too, in my case).

U was probably hearing some turbulence from air leaks.
No worries bro... is a nissan u drivin' unno....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 13th, 2014, 11:18 pm

whiteknight1431 wrote:Hey guys, took my nav (4x4 6forward manual massy version) for a test run on the Golconda to Debe extension of the highway. And while I stretched rpms in each gear I notice that 5th and 6th gear plumes of black smoke kept coming out the exhaust, and I felt a slight bit noticeable hold back and my temperature guage kept going up to about 3/4. Any ideas of what might be going wrong?

same thing happening to mine bro, and i now reaching 130,000km on the odometer.

The black plumes of smoke could possibly be an air restriction... so start with the simple stuff and move ur your way upwards, eg. check for dirty filter (knock it out and see what dust comes out), check your hoses for kinks and also check your boost hose on the inlet main hose and see if didn't pop out....

About your temp gauge, I have the same problem to the point where it only goes up either when i'm carrying extra heavy load (eg. a pallet of bricks in the tray, or a bunch of fat people in the backseat)... or if i'm going above a certain RPM esp. in the middle of the day when it's hot - i even noticed the temp rising when going up the steep part of the Maracas main road (just after you pass the pillars from santa cruz).....

I checked everything, changed coolant and used genuine (i.e. expensive) nissan coolant from Motorist (I figured the 3rd party coolant wasn't mixed properly and couldn't handle the heat and awesome power of my ol' datsun).... changed out thermostat, checked hoses, flushed radiator, washed out the fins multiple times....
Then I realized the fan had a bit of play on it whenever I killed the engine and it stopped after the turbo timer counted down. I figured the clutch on the fan was wearing out, i.e. the fluid needed to be changed (hint - the fan's suppsoed to be loose when cold and stiff when hot, just like well... something else that gets stiff when hot..... :shock: ...)

Haven't done that yet, (too lazy and also too busy with work, etc.).
But as soon as I get to cehck it, i'll let you know - or if you feel so inclined, you can grab a 10-spanner and take off the fan and see if the rear-side of clutch assembly can be disassembled and the clutch oil be replaced (use the special clutch oil, and not no damned silicone unless you want your navara to sound like an old nissan 720 pickup on a hot day, big metal clutch fan only blowing RRAAWWRRRRRRRRRR... even when you're just parking your van in tru valu carpark).

hope that helps!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”