D-Max Owners / Drivers

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Re: D-Max Owners / Drivers

Postby civic minded » September 10th, 2012, 4:12 pm

Did the anyone get pricing on the new 2012 D max? - I must say it is a definite looker!

http://www.caradvice.com.au/177932/2012 ... australia/

http://isuzuute.com.au/explore/

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » September 10th, 2012, 4:37 pm

I dont think SSL brought it in yet...i saw they fighting to sell the current model dmax...by adding on some nice seats...lol...(same dead engine) anyway this new model looks great more HP than the navs and tip tronic vs that old automatic mess in the last model....I actually considering this ...if your bringing this in from thailand it was costing 240k so dont know what the pricing locally would be like... i am thinking between 220k to 240k.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 10th, 2012, 10:06 pm

That doesn't seem too bad - I find ssl real stickin , even the full new bt50 haven't arrived yet

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 10th, 2012, 11:28 pm

Was watching some vids online ... Every model, even the base supposed to be equipped with their electronic traction control system, which effectively provides one wheel drive in desperate situations.

Looks great, but I hate southern sales ...

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 10th, 2012, 11:32 pm

"It also has a lifetime stainless steel timing chain, no need to replace the belt"

Nice!!!!

civic minded wrote:Did the anyone get pricing on the new 2012 D max? - I must say it is a definite looker!

http://www.caradvice.com.au/177932/2012 ... australia/

http://isuzuute.com.au/explore/

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 12th, 2012, 12:08 am

this new model looks great more HP than the navs

"...Providing power to all 22 Isuzu D-Max configurations is a new 3.0-litre common-rail turbo-diesel engine that generates 130kW of power and 380Nm of torque..."

D40 Navara Y25DDTi - 2.5-litre common rail, turbo diesel, 140KW or 170HP, 403Nm or 300lb/ft torque.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 12th, 2012, 12:13 am

Looks like they switched from torsion bar setup, to coilsprings at the front, plus improved leafs at the back.

Guaranteed to be a better ride than the ol' bone-rattler.
I don't like how everyone moving from gear-lever selector for 4wd/2wd to an electronic switch. It's just another electronic component to fail out there in the field.

But meh, what can I say... I'll just do a proper review when it comes down to trindad - need to update my blog.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2012, 8:55 pm

cant say from personal experience, but we've had 3.0 auto ranger, 2.5 manual ranger and BT50, and 2.5 D-max with us on trails already.....

long story short Jeremy ranger was a beast of a different nature, yes it did stick at times, but was impressive almost enough to make you forget that......two weakness are the tranny, needs a 5spd and the brakes, they cant stop that power, need bigger disc and 4pots.....

the manual 2.5 WLTs, also did stick at times, but had their fair share of glory also

and the 2.5 max did stick, quite too easy i would say...

IMHO the max has little or least ground clearance for a 4X4, im not sure, what is the tire size? they look like 245 or 255s

other than that the low range has some kick, and the LSD doesn't lock when it should, at times i would swear it has open diffs.....

if on a budget and have to choose a 2.5 turbo diesel 4X4, it would be the BT-50 or Ranger, its a good starter van......the 3.0 is way too powerful for a novice van man, or a novice altogether, ie if yuh permit start with 9......

Postby TRAE » October 8th, 2012, 1:19 pm

anyone getting a problem with the diesel float effing up? meh float does be fluctuating

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 9th, 2012, 8:20 pm

^^^ hard... to.. look... away.... from.... avatar......

Postby TRAE » October 11th, 2012, 10:11 am

nice^^^

Postby TRAE » May 13th, 2013, 2:41 pm

so anyone getting that issue, also i realized that after i changed the diesel trap filter underneath the van, i getting that light on on meh dash fluctuating but mostly on---- any idea?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 18th, 2013, 1:47 pm

gents, I saw a modified 3.0L TCF (I believe) D-MAX yesterday; huge tires, lift kit, etc. Does anyone know if the owner is on here? He has a custom steel bumper that looks really good, and I'm interested to know who did the work :)

Urian

Postby Urian » June 15th, 2014, 12:41 pm

Good info

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”