TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
gtr_fever

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby gtr_fever » January 26th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Have a set of 2007 16" rims to sell....well its actually for a padna. He has an older model l200 but didnt realise it wont fit on his....and d guy he bought it from doesnt want to take back d rims....looking for $2000 for them. They are pretry much new as d original owner slap on some 22s not long after he bought d van!! Holla at me

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » January 26th, 2014, 7:06 pm

On another note, where can i get original belts and sump pan bolt without having to face d high prices at diamond motors...its for an 07 2.5 engine

venum

Postby venum » January 27th, 2014, 7:58 am

gtr_fever wrote:On another note, where can i get original belts and sump pan bolt without having to face d high prices at diamond motors...its for an 07 2.5 engine

Have you checked the prices at the firm for these :?:

they aren't badly priced for OEM

not sure if Filter Proz stocks belts

if you want non-OEm then there are many options available in the parts places all over the country

take the ones that you have now as a sample to be sure you get the correct size and shape

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » January 27th, 2014, 8:40 am

I think thats the best option to go for OEM...the van was serviced fully by diamond motors up to when i bought it from the first owner last year so i think i should keep everything original if i can,,,thanks for the advice!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 7th, 2014, 3:17 pm

Average cost of OEM Plugs for 07 Sportero 2.5 Di-D?

Think they're going through for sure, hard starting on mornings, but 'double heating' seems to help significantly.

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2014, 4:41 pm

Dunno,

but they might be Denso, so if you want OEM without the OEM packaging, then see if u get Denso in a parts place

Filter Proz is where I would go for OEM in the OEM packaging

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 7th, 2014, 6:48 pm

Any Denso partnums?

Postby DVSTT » February 7th, 2014, 11:46 pm

Liqui Moly 5W40. Anyone ever used it in their van??

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 8th, 2014, 12:12 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Average cost of OEM Plugs for 07 Sportero 2.5 Di-D?

Think they're going through for sure, hard starting on mornings, but 'double heating' seems to help significantly.

they're very pricey from the firm, but then again you probably expected that. I think it's around $1500 per plug at DM.
What's you're mileage, and also, when was the last time you checked your battery?

DVSTT wrote:Liqui Moly 5W40. Anyone ever used it in their van??

funny you should mention this, I just checked out a place selling these and was wondering how well it runs. We've been using 15W40 for the longest time now and have not had any issues with it, so I'll stick with that. Shame the LiquiMoly doesn't come in that grade though, would be nice to compare.

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » February 8th, 2014, 2:08 pm

Hey guys. Who is the best sportero mechanic you can advise? Coming off warranty soon so I'm looking for a good mechanic because I have had terrible experiences at Diamond Motors and I don't trust them.

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » February 8th, 2014, 3:01 pm

^^ i guess it depends on where in trinidad you are but my choice with great experience so far is barry mckenzie's place in frederick settlement (where mosport is)

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » February 8th, 2014, 3:25 pm

Thanks. Do you have a number for him? Any other mechanics?

venum

Postby venum » February 8th, 2014, 4:56 pm

call Dr.B of Dr.BB Tuning

305-9900

ask for Dr.B and tell him Shawn sent you

the only guy that touches my Sportero engine

South

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » February 8th, 2014, 8:49 pm

Thanks. It seems like all the good sportero mechanics are on the south side.

Val

Postby Val » February 9th, 2014, 6:15 pm

Turns out the surging issue was the suction control valve. Probably due to junk in the diesel clogging it up.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 10th, 2014, 5:18 pm

Contacted Simpson motors and got a quote for a mitsu substitute cz251. 350bds for the set.

Considering it

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 10th, 2014, 8:39 pm

Google reveals:
http://www.ngk.de/fileadmin/templates/D ... ugs_EN.pdf

Now to see if we can score em directly from NGK. If that fails, well Simpson motors for it.

Swervy

Postby Swervy » February 19th, 2014, 11:55 pm

Hi fellas! Im very thankful for all the info you shared on this forum. All my vehicles i have own were always mitsubishi and just last year i upgraded from my ck2 to a sportero. I wanted my sportero to be different so i made a few changes to it. Wanted the sporty and rugged look.
IMG00112-20120328-0905.jpg
IMG00733-20130920-1121.jpg
IMG00730-20130907-0703.jpg

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 20th, 2014, 7:38 pm

good stuff swervy :)
a general question for the rest of you guys, have any of you installed an oil catch can? I know a bunch of us have already blanked off our EGR valve, but I don't think I've seen anyone on here mention installing a can.

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » February 21st, 2014, 4:41 am

Looking good dey swervy...

Val

Postby Val » February 21st, 2014, 9:46 pm

The oil catch can port size we need is hard to come by.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 24th, 2014, 7:53 pm

yeah, I'm beginning to think I may have to find someone to make one for me. I've checked online, and I've seen people making temporary ones out of anything from PVC to a coke bottle and using a pot scrub as the filter lol.

venum

Postby venum » February 26th, 2014, 6:19 pm

Val wrote:Turns out the surging issue was the suction control valve. Probably due to junk in the diesel clogging it up.

having this problem presently, but intermittently

heading by Dr.B tomm to have it sorted

Swervy wrote:Hi fellas! Im very thankful for all the info you shared on this forum. All my vehicles i have own were always mitsubishi and just last year i upgraded from my ck2 to a sportero. I wanted my sportero to be different so i made a few changes to it. Wanted the sporty and rugged look.

Looking good, welcome

tourniquet wrote:good stuff swervy :)
a general question for the rest of you guys, have any of you installed an oil catch can? I know a bunch of us have already blanked off our EGR valve, but I don't think I've seen anyone on here mention installing a can.

that is the second part to my EGR blanking, as Val said, the size is a bit hard to find . . . Amazon for it

side note . . . Teri is the cover model for the official and international L200 Owners Club facebook page

Trinis

REP
RES
ENT

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 28th, 2014, 5:54 pm

way to represent, not just the l200, but the lancers too :mrgreen:
I've been doing some searching for this catch can. Thus far, I think I'll end up with the Mann & Hummel Provent 200. The only thing is, it's pretty forking expensive for a catch can :(
Maybe if we all do a group buy, we can get a better deal from one of the suppliers :idea:

kkallicharan

Postby kkallicharan » February 28th, 2014, 8:26 pm

Im willing to do that grp buy

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 2nd, 2014, 7:34 pm

ugh, battery took a crap today - but I saw it coming a while ago.

Getting an XS Power D4800 to keep the juice pumping.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 4th, 2014, 6:07 pm

Big up to Teamlo2flo (Fawwaz) for taking the time out of his Carnival Tuesday to sell me a battery.

the D4800 is slightly smaller in size than the battery that I got with the truck (Mac), but has decent specs.
http://4xspower.com/shop/d-series/d4800/

Even threw in a heat shield batt kit for small price.

Hooked that baby up in about 30 mins (cleaned batt tray, cut shield to fit etc) and cranking like a yayan. Solved my coldstart issues too, so I'll keep an eye out to see if I really need those glowplugs or if this was my fix.

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » March 5th, 2014, 7:04 pm

hey guys, so i swapped out the stock air filter on my n/a 4d56 in my k34 to a k&n double cone filter... It gave a noticeable increase in power and sounds much heavier :D ... however, i have been getting mixed views about this mod... ne1 will to share some valuable insight?

venum

Postby venum » March 5th, 2014, 10:47 pm

k&N gives more performance bcase the filtration is less than the stock

so expect more particulate matter in your engine, esp as it is dry season now

i used to run the K&N in my 4D56T during rainy season only

other than that, not much so enjoy

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » March 6th, 2014, 12:58 pm

Hi guys,

Friend of mines has a 07 Sportero 4x4 double cab. He is looking for the door lock cable driver side. Diamond Motors don't have any. Any place you guys can recommend to get one?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”