The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
gundelero

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Postby gundelero » September 10th, 2013, 9:04 am

i agree with telfer.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 10th, 2013, 2:40 pm

Hello Telfer, can you explain more on the features - you'd save me a trip to the showroom

telfer

Postby telfer » September 16th, 2013, 6:17 pm

Bt50 2.2 auto $282000
Hill decent, traction control, power wing mirrors, original bed liner , Bluetooth radio side steps

Ranger 2.2 auto $298000 (I think can't recall) correct me if I am wrong
None of the above options

gundelero

Postby gundelero » September 17th, 2013, 8:28 am

i think you're correct telfer. same info i received when they came in.

nickocrash

Postby nickocrash » October 26th, 2013, 7:48 pm

ranger or bt owners y u all not posting any reviews. for me my 2.2 bt50 is great loving the efficiency. the manual gearbox little knotchy and clutch pedal little stiff. 6 speed is great though.

telfer

Postby telfer » October 26th, 2013, 7:54 pm

My clutch doh feel stiff but I enjoy the ride it's a bit loose on the back when you hit a bump on the highway u feel the back sway alittle gonna put on some broader tyres and see if it makes a difference the only thing is when I stop and switch off the engine I hear a pop in the engine

nickocrash

Postby nickocrash » November 7th, 2013, 8:45 pm

i hear two distinct squeeks on switching off. told the firm about it on first service. they said its normal. some intake valve closing they said don't know if it is the same thing u are hearing tefler

telfer

Postby telfer » November 7th, 2013, 9:18 pm

I hear the low buzzing noise and the clicking too but the other noise is a kinda vacuum making its last suck

zaria

Postby zaria » November 8th, 2013, 10:26 pm

squeak when turn off could be the variable turbo(3.2 ranger).It resets when turn off.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 24th, 2013, 12:01 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1385308785.022499.jpg

Those looking to install an aftermarket head unit for Bluetooth functions, rear camera etc and maintain the steering controls and oem functions, an aftermarket dash kit inclusive of can bus electronics is available.
A lot of the kits floating around eBay doesn't have the wiring and switches needed to interface the device.

jaceson

Postby jaceson » January 24th, 2014, 1:32 pm

Anyone serviced their ranger recently at ANSA and used the Ford branded oil??

How has your vehicle been performing?

The 1st 4000km into this run was okish but now that I am +6800km the van feels really sluggish and lazy....Im currently doing about 22000.....next change at 25000

Anyone experienced anything like this.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » June 2nd, 2014, 5:27 am

Well its 2014 .. Any faults on d new ranger n bt50 .. Price hot n mostly south people have d new Mazda .. D Mazda kinda ugly . lol

supernedd

Postby supernedd » June 2nd, 2014, 12:05 pm

That ranger nice ..price hot .will wait n buy it used . Lol . Finally something beating navara . I have d older bt50 . Wish it had more speed . But I love it . It economical

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 2nd, 2014, 12:19 pm

supernedd wrote:Well its 2014 .. Any faults on d new ranger n bt50 .. Price hot n mostly south people have d new Mazda .. D Mazda kinda ugly . lol

the look of the van will grow on you. .. It looks really good side on... After seeing it for a while. ..I prefer its look over the Ranger:smile:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2014, 7:49 am

this is some inside information that i will bestow upon tunerland;

Do not buy the new Ford Ranger - If you really want one - get the Thailand Wildtrak. The current stock being sold by the firm is of inferior quality, almost all of the people i know of that purchase the ranger 2014 had issues - From cracked leaf springs (!!!!!) to transmission overhaul to complete electrical failures. The firm is trying to keep this hush hush because it will hurt their sales badly. They are repairing the problems as fast as they come. But for me to go thro that kinda headache ,isnt worth it.

Postby SR » June 3rd, 2014, 8:00 am

Been hearing about issues with the tranny and company tries blame it on any electronics installed aftermarket

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 3rd, 2014, 8:19 am

^^ yup....our first one had a lot of issues and they swapped ecu etc...at the end they ended up taking back the van and giving us a new one. luckily this one has no issues at all.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2014, 6:55 pm

i applaud them trying to fix the issues but the problem is the manufacture of the vans . The built quality is bad compared to previous ones they brought in - they need to stop importing vans from south africa and return to bringing them from thailand

ruge

Postby ruge » July 9th, 2014, 10:13 pm

hey hammer met you by james mosely, want to find out bout the hilux or ranger. contact me plz 348 -2417

ruge

Postby ruge » July 9th, 2014, 10:13 pm

hey hammer met you by james mosely, want to find out bout the hilux or ranger. contact me plz 348 -2417

abbow

Postby abbow » July 10th, 2014, 7:22 am

so i went and did some comparisons between the Rangers from the firm and rampersad's.

Rampersad wants 375k for the 3.2 "wildtrak"....the sales girl insisted that McEnearny do not have any 3.2's available although i had just left the firm and sitting in a few of the 3.2's there.

the 3.2 limited edition at the firm is 345K, the 3.2 with fabric seats etc is @ 299k but the sales guy said the army taking all of those that comes in and not sure if u could get one if i wanted...

IMHO - these flicking commercial grade vehicles are too expensive...Luxury vehicles in some instances are cheaper, and with some of the issues i read in here...

well, the navara still stands out somewhat...best bang for buck considering its a commercial grade vehicle.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 12th, 2014, 7:59 pm

even thou all the problems they have - rangers are still selling strong , mainly due to good after sales service. Friend of mines told me that his 2.2L ranger still in the firm , going on 6 months - they gave him a new focus to run around with till it fix..

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 18th, 2014, 6:16 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1405678580.932871.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1405678589.643980.jpg

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 18th, 2014, 6:04 pm

saw a few from the older series with that raptor-esque grill on the road already. Is this how all the newer ones are coming, or is it some kind of special trim package?

Postby cinco » July 18th, 2014, 6:08 pm

tourniquet wrote:saw a few from the older series with that raptor-esque grill on the road already. Is this how all the newer ones are coming, or is it some kind of special trim package?

Looks tacky as hell the letters dont ever look level for some reason.

telfer

Postby telfer » July 18th, 2014, 6:19 pm

And people say the new BT50 ugly this ranger fugly

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 18th, 2014, 11:43 pm

There are two guys with Rangers where i work. Both have had issues. Both are 2.2 manual.

Guy#1 -
AC system totally failed 6 months after buying the vehicle new. His van was without AC for 2 months since the part had to come in from Ford Aus. Part installed, van takes about a minute to cold. He just got frustrated of all the ups and downs and left it as is.

Guy#2 -
Turbo unit failed 2 months after buying van brand new. The entire unit had to be replaced after attempts to replace the first time caused him to go back to the firm. Within 8 months the van has gone into safe mode twice causing the van not to exceed 70kms. One event this happened on a family trip in Toco at night - himself, wife and two children. He was scared and didnt know what was going on.

This is first hand experience. When i jump back in the Diesel game - its either Navara or Yota 3.0

telfer

Postby telfer » July 19th, 2014, 7:00 am

Haven't heard of any problems with the bt50 yet anyone knows of any problems

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 19th, 2014, 7:33 am

civic minded wrote:even thou all the problems they have - rangers are still selling strong , mainly due to good after sales service. Friend of mines told me that his 2.2L ranger still in the firm , going on 6 months - they gave him a new focus to run around with till it fix..

didn't notice this comment before.
selling strong due to good after sales service? Either trinis are genuinely clueless to the issues being experienced, or they know about it and are just insistent on having the newest thing on the market, and accept the risk in buying one. If I bought a ranger and got a Focus as a replacement for 6 months, I would be royally pissed, and lawyers would have certainly be involved by now. Either that, or I'd accept it and then go forth and use the Focus to haul sand, gravel, manure, etc, before I return it to them :roll:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 19th, 2014, 12:28 pm

I feel people purchase it believing that they will not encounter any problems as they got a newer one than the person who purchased before.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”