TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
tourniquet

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby tourniquet » December 4th, 2013, 8:14 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Anyone here has a automatic sportero?
Reviews? How's the transmission holding up?

what have you heard to question it holding up?
Ours is the 2008 model and we're doing close to 200k, and it seems fine (watch it spontaneously combust as I type that eh lol)
can't say for the newer ones which come with a tiptronic type setup.

Val

Postby Val » December 6th, 2013, 11:10 am

The auto has its limits, but replace the oil on time and you are OK

venum

Postby venum » December 6th, 2013, 10:16 pm

3.2L and 2.5L 4x4 have teh same 4 speed tranny V4A4A

mine doing 139,000+ km and wukking like a beast

as with ANY tranny - change the fluid on time

thinking bout getting a tranny temp gauge for mine, just to keep the boost gauge from hogging the spotlight on teh A-pillar

Postby Ted_v2 » December 7th, 2013, 6:27 pm

I'm looking at buying one soon. I have a mitsubushi for the past 9 years and I love how durable they are built. I know the transmission are usually the weak spot in most 4x4.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 9th, 2013, 8:45 am

hey guys! hows everything...!

i am in need of a very small part off of a 4D56 Head... turbo.. its a restrictor for the inlet line for the turbo, it screws into the head and the oil feed line to the turbo screws into that.. i have a pic of it here... any assistance will be greatly appreciated.. thanks in advance..
Head 4d56.png

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 12th, 2013, 1:43 am

i got it in bamboo..

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 13th, 2013, 5:48 pm

Can a battery on its way out cause hard start, especially if the truck was not started for a couple days?

I know my batt is approaching end of life, and within the past couple weeks it's tumbling for 5-10 seconds before it fires up.

When it's been run and restarted it fires up fine, < 1-2 seconds.

If it is glow plugs, are there any substitutes with good results, or should I stick to OEM?
2007 Sportero 2.5 (4D56 DiD)

Postby 0001 » December 13th, 2013, 6:53 pm

i had this problem myself about 3 months ago. the battery was reading 12V so i thought it was my glow plugs , same long start up time etc...

it turned out to be the battery when i carried it in . check that out first since glow plugs are pretty expensive . i believe $1200 for one in the firm and $800 for 1 in marud (marabella).

my mechanic advised to use the original and not any substitute ($125-$150 for 1).

once the amber coil light on your dash goes out i highly doubt its the plugs.

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » December 17th, 2013, 2:57 am

Help..

L.F a l200 k34 4x4 transfer case.
488-8811

Postby ronsin1 » December 18th, 2013, 6:28 pm

so my suspension leaf got sorted out today in diamond motors the switch they don't have any in stock so will get that change from they new order
all in all big up to Diamond in south for the customer service

kkallicharan

Postby kkallicharan » December 18th, 2013, 6:59 pm

ronsin like I hadda go back a day specifically for that purpose cause mine came back from service today still squeaking.....Ill go back to them after christmas....fed up of that noise

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » December 18th, 2013, 7:15 pm

Well better I start to service in south because the service in POS sucks!

Postby ronsin1 » December 18th, 2013, 8:35 pm

kkallicharan wrote:ronsin like I hadda go back a day specifically for that purpose cause mine came back from service today still squeaking.....Ill go back to them after christmas....fed up of that noise

Yes boss it was good meeting you there today just make arrangements with Mohammed and yuh good to go
it took about 4 hours with mine

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » December 18th, 2013, 9:32 pm

I have a 07 4x4 auto (TCE) bought from diamond motors...im getting a heavy vibration just as i'm pulling off...perhaps between idle rpm and 1000 rpm...my hunch is its a tranny mount or engine mount cuz i get a heavy rumble just as d engine starts...any ideas? I'm hoping its nothing more serious with the drive shaft or something....

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 19th, 2013, 5:17 pm

ronsin1 wrote:so my suspension leaf got sorted out today in diamond motors the switch they don't have any in stock so will get that change from they new order

you're still under warranty right, so no cost? If they just replaced the teflon coated inserts between the springs, did they give you an estimate as to how long it would last before you have to do it all over again? Or did they do something else?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 20th, 2013, 12:14 am

If anyone has a used 2007 sportero roof rack for sale lemme know.
Have a lil project in mind but cannot justify the cost of a new one, as some hacking will be done.

Postby ronsin1 » December 20th, 2013, 9:51 am

tourniquet wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:so my suspension leaf got sorted out today in diamond motors the switch they don't have any in stock so will get that change from they new order

you're still under warranty right, so no cost? If they just replaced the teflon coated inserts between the springs, did they give you an estimate as to how long it would last before you have to do it all over again? Or did they do something else?

Yes under warranty but the issue will always be there it teflon will only last according to your driving style what they had done is slacken the shackles and greased between the leaf springs per my request so far no noise
Have a friend who bought a sportero last month the he is already getting the squeaking he is going back in this morning to get it sorted out

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 20th, 2013, 1:48 pm

thanks for the update. I know it's based on driving conditions, but still asked in case they gave you an idea based on past customer experiences. I mean, I'd hate to have to keep doing that fix, if let's say, the average, mostly highway driver has to go back every two months or so. I still have to do the seat switch thing, so I'll find out the cost for the out of warranty guys.

Postby ronsin1 » December 20th, 2013, 8:24 pm

^^^^ I do not think they are charging for it Service Manager confirm it is a recall on all Sporteros so they will check and tell you first if you have to pay or not

venum

Postby venum » December 21st, 2013, 6:19 pm

got my new shoes on and feeling hella cool

droppa

Postby droppa » December 24th, 2013, 8:14 am

what tire did u get now???

as far as ive seen most leaf spring vehicles start to squeak after a while, esp if ur racking up kms at a fast pace, and what we do is simple mix some belray gear oil with some kerosene and spray the springs, all in between and also the shackles, no matter what type of lube u put, it will wash off, so this cheap trick tens to work and hols up good, and not be greasy and messy while resisting dirt and water for some time......

droppa

Postby droppa » December 24th, 2013, 8:25 am

btw,

hold a lil something for the christmas.....

3" body lift
2" suspension lift (spacers)
1" wheel spacer
15X10 soft 8 gloss black with black caps
33X12.5X15 Event ATs

simple, aggressive and wide look, just what the owner ask for........

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 24th, 2013, 8:30 am

My parents have a sportero that's just over a year old and we've had that problem since the earlies with the squeaking. I'll try What droppa said. We have a new problem with it tho, laSt year the puppy Ate the harness and now his little brother but of piece again .

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 24th, 2013, 10:05 am

droppa wrote:btw,

hold a lil something for the christmas.....

3" body lift
2" suspension lift (spacers)
1" wheel spacer
15X10 soft 8 gloss black with black caps
33X12.5X15 Event ATs

simple, aggressive and wide look, just what the owner ask for........

firetruck YEA

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » December 24th, 2013, 10:17 am

What droppa is saying is true. All leaf spring vehicles make the squeaking noise. I've heard the noise from Hilux, Navara and Frontier as well. Btw droppa.... that Sportero looks madd! Is it automatic or manual?

droppa

Postby droppa » December 24th, 2013, 9:37 pm

2.5 auto, did a 3.2 auto as well!!!

Bushi take it real nice.

voiceofatrini

Postby voiceofatrini » December 24th, 2013, 9:45 pm

Yh man. Well done!

venum

Postby venum » December 25th, 2013, 11:53 am

MERRY CHRISTMAS FELLAS from Teri and I

some Christmas pics of her new shoes:

droppa

Postby droppa » December 25th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Merry Christmas to all the Mitsubishi guys too, keep it safe on the streets, and all the best!

Btw, Teri looking sexy dey boi venum, great choice of rim colour and tyre option too, scorpions work great for your apps!

Val

Postby Val » December 25th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Paint or powder coat?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”