Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2013, 12:15 pm

Got a pick up, doing some work on it.

Will throw up some pics just now. :)

neckto

Postby neckto » April 11th, 2013, 11:48 am

Yea Fellas

body work will start soon!!!

hold a teaser

Image`

Finally found the crystal tail lights for this model

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 11th, 2013, 2:10 pm

^^^^ Excellent, even tho ah find you Cooliefyin d van now eh....lol

At least put a light tint on dem back lights, it too shiney

jpec

Postby jpec » April 11th, 2013, 2:27 pm

^^ x2 on dark rear lights. on another note, can't wait to see the body work on this now

Postby nervewrecker » April 12th, 2013, 12:28 am

Lame thing bout those lights is that you cant open them up to paint the insides black even if you wanted to.

Depending on how dark you cover them you shouldnt have a problem. There is a smoked vinyl for it, if you do want the smoked look and get a piece I can put it on for you.

Cant wait to see the body work though :D

jpec

Postby jpec » May 8th, 2013, 12:08 pm

updatessss?????

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 14th, 2013, 1:21 pm

wham here jed....suzie, almost reach d finish line...but didnt cross?...

dude say it aint so

Postby black start » June 14th, 2013, 5:20 pm

updates?

Nperry

Postby Nperry » June 14th, 2013, 5:29 pm

Awaiting pics

Postby nervewrecker » June 15th, 2013, 12:03 am

Give him time, man maybe busy. Lets not rush him :D

neckto

Postby neckto » June 15th, 2013, 11:01 am

oh gorm, sorry guys, been so swamped with work and other activities, plus my new job has me on the road so i not online as much, but to put ur fears to rest project still moving foward.

i'll try n post up a few more pics over later on or over the weekend

saalih

Postby saalih » June 26th, 2013, 2:25 pm

nice work man... gonna start my project soon... maybe after fasting and thing.... "project 720" hope i remember to take out pics to yes.... but u giving me some inspiration.... XD

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 26th, 2013, 7:46 pm

^^ sounding like a datsun gonna rise and shine just now!

neckto

Postby neckto » July 25th, 2013, 8:34 pm

Alas, im fedup looking for a tray replacement now, btw, thats what was keeping back the project, so i'm going ot have to do it the harder way and repair the tray, will order a new pair of humps in san juan next week, so work to comence soon, sorry for the delay, but i was hoping to just swap one out, also im not finding the bupmer i want (chrome curved) all im getting is the straight painted one so initial vision is changing too :-(

droppa

Postby droppa » July 26th, 2013, 2:36 pm

i see them chrome bumpers on a few van hoss, dont know where dey bought it, but it looks real good......

Postby Ted_v2 » July 26th, 2013, 3:22 pm

Build a bumper. With tubing

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2013, 6:45 pm

neckto wrote:Alas, im fedup looking for a tray replacement now, btw, thats what was keeping back the project, so i'm going ot have to do it the harder way and repair the tray, will order a new pair of humps in san juan next week, so work to comence soon, sorry for the delay, but i was hoping to just swap one out, also im not finding the bupmer i want (chrome curved) all im getting is the straight painted one so initial vision is changing too :-(

Whats wrong with the humps? They can separate / be removed?

You intend to carry any heavy load in the tray?

neckto

Postby neckto » October 9th, 2013, 11:31 pm

appologies for taking so long to update and upload pics, but work has been going on in the background. sorry if pics aernt as detailed and sequential like before, this time the focus was on getting the job done

update time

new boots for suzi

shock replacments for the rear, had a miscalculation issue with where the shock mount point was replaced on chassis, we kept breaking shock heads, one of many tweaks and repairs during the mechanical test phase

new belts during a routine oil/ filters change

SUZI liming

SUZI liming again (playing 4 x 4 ).......n getting stuck

suzi liming.....learnt her lesson dis time n stays on the road

load testing suzi...........with some hard pong

body work phase begins

new hood

new bumper brackets.......took awhile to locate these new

new bumper parts and fenders

preping, priming, painting the insides to the replacment parts to prepare for test fitting and lining up of body

`

meanwhile......torsion adjuster bolt snaps.......seems it was not the proper strength bolt
another cheap temp bolt used to bring suzi home.........has since been replaced with proper grade 8 bolt
new bolt upgrade solution comming soon

prepin and priming the outsides

insides painted, outsides primed, ready for fitment

fitment begins

new heat proof under the hood

so far so good

Image`

replacement of lights and rewiring complete

fog lights on seperate switches

wires harnessed

new compressor...........one of repairs made to AC system.......old lines were changed too, she finally blowing cold

last problem.......TRAY

finally fedup looking for a replacment tray, cant find any, so it will be repaired - parts pressed

new humps - 18 AWG

new rear fenders - 20 AWG

tray repairs begins

rotted tray ribs replaced and floor sections removed

rotted back sections replaced

new humps going in

prep n primed (zinc oxide) to prevent rusting while rest of welding and repair takes place

fenders going on

clean n prep if insides of tray body

all welding joints and seams - cleaned, primed and coated with a fiberglass filler then sanded and primed again before painting

tray redesigned with guards sealing off tray top and bottom, no water getting in to rotten nothing again

fillering and neatening back patch work

bottom painted

rear primed - tray will be taken off one last time, when the body painting is being done

same treatment was done topside of tray - fiberglass fillered, primed and painted

thats it for now............stay tuned!!!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » October 10th, 2013, 6:11 am

DAMN!! that's amazing

Nperry

Postby Nperry » October 10th, 2013, 6:25 am

Suzi looking bess!!

neckto

Postby neckto » October 10th, 2013, 8:00 am

Hopefully the tray outer body will be fillered n straightened n primed over the weekend

jpec

Postby jpec » October 10th, 2013, 10:47 pm

damnnnn.... good to see her getting worked on again! thought she was dead for a while lol. looking good tho!

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2013, 7:46 am

Na man, she wasn't dead.

Mainly got kept bk looking for the parts I wanted on her.

In the end had to make some compromises to the look I had in mind

But I'm glad this project finishing too after the long road test phase

Postby Ted_v2 » October 12th, 2013, 7:29 pm

damn thats some good work.

Postby nervewrecker » October 12th, 2013, 10:02 pm

epic, just epic.