TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby AllTrac » April 1st, 2013, 12:51 pm

im inlove, i know its not some of you all cup of tea, but imagine seeing that beautiful brute in real, on the street.

venum

Postby venum » April 1st, 2013, 1:01 pm

[[[[[ b*tch slaps Trac ]]]]]

that is a concept dude, not the prototype for the next l200

i liked it and commented on it sometime ago when the pics were released for the Geneva Motor Show

but the more i watching it, the more i disliking it

Mitsu real firetruck up the L200, sad and sorry to say.

thaz like taking Chuck Norris, stripping away his muscles, shaving his chest, cutting off his balls and giving him plastic surgery till he looks like Jessica Alba and sings like Taylor Swift

that will not be beautiful AND a brute

it will only be beautiful

all the brute ruggedness and off-roadability will be gone

practicality will be hung on a rack in a closet

might have a real powerful engine, but will be useless as a pickup, except maybe if Taylor Swift needs a pickup

Postby AllTrac » April 2nd, 2013, 7:12 am

man you crazy, im sure it would put the current l200 to shame. When I first saw the new (current) l200 on paper, i was like wtf, mitsu designers was trippin balls and mushrooms when they designed that ugly fat kid of a pickup, then i saw it on the road and it was better to stomach in real, I like the fact how they decided to not go the route of "car like" headlights (current model) that all those other manufacturers going namely ford and toyota.
If that prototype end up on the production line, im sure i would be driving one probably 5 years after its debut since thats when i can afford it lol :lol:

venum

Postby venum » April 2nd, 2013, 11:16 pm

AllTrac wrote:man you crazy, im sure it would put the current l200 to shame.

engine specs and interior comforts only . . . if that kinda stuff is what u looking for in a pickup

and to be expected since every generation needs to be a technological upgrade to the previous

ruggedness, practicality, utilitarian, testicular fortitude . . . every generation removes more of this than the previous

the current pickups all changed from the traditional utility vehicle to the family car

where Streetbeast :?:

simplicity and practical engine design were it's best aspects

the best L200 was the K34 model, all the desirables and none of the complications

take that platform and put a more emission friendly engine, better braking and some safety gear like airbags . . . :fist: to the rest

AllTrac wrote:I like the fact how they decided to not go the route of "car like" headlights (current model) that all those other manufacturers going namely ford and toyota.

they all going after the car-like design

unfortunately the Japanese pickup automakers can learn something from the Americans, namely Ford, GM and Dodge - they make their pickups with all the new technology and almost no sacrifice to the practicality

Postby DVSTT » April 4th, 2013, 6:58 pm

Guys the sticker on the driver side door with info on the 4wd system, its peeling off and nothing I try is sticking it back. Tried different glues and even laminating paper but nothing holds. Any ideas?

Val

Postby Val » April 4th, 2013, 9:30 pm

I like the concept design, but the back is a bit outrageous.

On another note, going to change out my transmission fluid at 70k today (2nd time). The van is not shifting as well as it should under the high power setting, but perfect on stock.

Going to try Amsoil Supershift if I can get it, if not Royal Purple Max ATF (used the latter in my Corolla with no issues other than it made the tranny sound like a spaceship). I suspect the extra torque is causing the fluid to heat up more than normal, and last time I changed it at 30ish Kms it was black, foamy and smelling burnt. So going to try one of those "racing" fluids instead of the Mitsubishi SP to see if it really has higher thermal stability.

Anyone have experience with it?

venum

Postby venum » April 6th, 2013, 12:23 am

DVSTT wrote:Guys the sticker on the driver side door with info on the 4wd system, its peeling off and nothing I try is sticking it back. Tried different glues and even laminating paper but nothing holds. Any ideas?

YES, put it in the glove box unless you need those instructions when you use your transfer case

Val wrote:
On another note, going to change out my transmission fluid at 70k today (2nd time). The van is not shifting as well as it should under the high power setting, but perfect on stock.

Going to try Amsoil Supershift if I can get it, if not Royal Purple Max ATF (used the latter in my Corolla with no issues other than it made the tranny sound like a spaceship). I suspect the extra torque is causing the fluid to heat up more than normal, and last time I changed it at 30ish Kms it was black, foamy and smelling burnt. So going to try one of those "racing" fluids instead of the Mitsubishi SP to see if it really has higher thermal stability.

tranny fluid is a 40k change interval, but as u said, the increased power killing the SPIII prematurely

interested to know how the racing fluid hoilds out, but beware of any possible damage to teh tranny when running stock settings

trannies require specific fluids for a reason and viscoity and thermal properties are important

Postby DVSTT » April 6th, 2013, 12:45 am

venum wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Guys the sticker on the driver side door with info on the 4wd system, its peeling off and nothing I try is sticking it back. Tried different glues and even laminating paper but nothing holds. Any ideas?

YES, put it in the glove box unless you need those instructions when you use your transfer case

Val wrote:

tranny fluid is a 40k change interval, but as u said, the increased power killing the SPIII prematurely

interested to know how the racing fluid hoilds out, but beware of any possible damage to teh tranny when running stock settings

trannies require specific fluids for a reason and viscoity and thermal properties are important

You might want to have your mechanic check the fluid in the rear differential. DM used the wrong fluid in our van and as a result whenever the LSD kicked it it would cause a violent vibration through the entire van. After the fluid was changed to the right thing (can't remember what exactly) this stopped happening.

Postby AllTrac » April 6th, 2013, 10:58 am

venum wrote:
AllTrac wrote:man you crazy, im sure it would put the current l200 to shame.

engine specs and interior comforts only . . . if that kinda stuff is what u looking for in a pickup

and to be expected since every generation needs to be a technological upgrade to the previous

ruggedness, practicality, utilitarian, testicular fortitude . . . every generation removes more of this than the previous

the current pickups all changed from the traditional utility vehicle to the family car

where Streetbeast :?:

simplicity and practical engine design were it's best aspects

the best L200 was the K34 model, all the desirables and none of the complications

take that platform and put a more emission friendly engine, better braking and some safety gear like airbags . . . :fist: to the rest

AllTrac wrote:I like the fact how they decided to not go the route of "car like" headlights (current model) that all those other manufacturers going namely ford and toyota.

they all going after the car-like design

unfortunately the Japanese pickup automakers can learn something from the Americans, namely Ford, GM and Dodge - they make their pickups with all the new technology and almost no sacrifice to the practicality

I dunno man, i think you just speculating, mitsu has been known to think outside the box and add lots of aftermarket parts while keeping the oem brand name on the parts, like with the evo, evo paj etc. Im gonna give them the benifit of the doubt. As much of the little niggling issues ive encountered while driving my triton, none has affected reliability, be it engine or suspension wise, making reliability a core focus over ruggedness is what differentiates between jap brands and usdm, the jeep brand is rugged as fcuk but unreliable as the given fcuk also :lol: for that, thumbs up for mitsu in my book and ive always been a hardcore toyota man.
hopefully they would make this one LSD standard and not introduce it in facelfit models. Only time will tell as for now we could just keep guessing.

Val

Postby Val » April 7th, 2013, 10:06 am

DVSTT wrote:
venum wrote:

Val wrote:

You might want to have your mechanic check the fluid in the rear differential. DM used the wrong fluid in our van and as a result whenever the LSD kicked it it would cause a violent vibration through the entire van. After the fluid was changed to the right thing (can't remember what exactly) this stopped happening.

I don't have any LSD issues.

I didn't get the Supershift, ended up getting the multi vehicle Amsoil version (meant for stock applications), but it is working much better than the SP111 in both stock and high power settings.

Used 11 qts with the Wynn's machine. Now the shifts are happening with no slip, much less delay and no hold back in the 1st to 2nd on the high power setting. The old oil was very burnt again. The new Amsoil seems to be handling the high temperatures without issue, as I pushed the van for an hour hard and got no change in shifting pattern. Note I just found out I have an external oil cooler so I guess that helps too. After 30~40k will re-evaluate, but I think the Amsoil is definitely worth it, makes the van much more driveable on high power.

Replaced power steering fluid (was so black it stained the bottle) with Prestone power steering fluid (all I could get) and the steering is feeling very light in small turns, and with larger turns feeling more firm. Honestly I prefer the way it felt before. As soon as we put in the new fluid after flushing the hose, the pump had a bunch of what looked like corrosion in the fluid that discoloured the new fluid again. At least it is a lot less now, and I suspect that I may have to look at increasing the frequency of power steering flushes.

Replaced brake fluid (bled through front left brake line) and the brakes are working much better with less vibration at high temperatures (little less fade). Used Dot4 Lockheed (didn't have my manual to check if Dot4 is required, hope it is but it's supposed to handle higher boiling temperatures than Dot 3 so hence why I selected it). Still to change (for the umpteenth time) rotors...

venum

Postby venum » April 7th, 2013, 9:34 pm

Val wrote:Note I just found out I have an external oil cooler so I guess that helps too. After 30~40k will re-evaluate, but I think the Amsoil is definitely worth it, makes the van much more driveable on high power.

Replaced power steering fluid (was so black it stained the bottle) with Prestone power steering fluid

all turbo L200's k74 and up have the external oil cooler

i think the N/A's have them as well, but i will check tomm on them at weork

power steering is rated for transmission fluid dexron

the same Amsoil yuh put in the tranny woulda be better in the ps than the prestone

I not sure bout that Amsoil for the mitsu trannies

I e-mailed them some time ago and they said the universal tranny fluid was not for cvt's although it rated as compatible with SPIII, so that was kinda confusing

i luv my L200

made a 200+ km drive yesterday from south-Asa Wright nature center-Maracas-South

L200 handle the road up there with finess and beasty power

new Pirelli Scorpions riding real nice too

I think I gonna keep her yes . . . firetruck the lowballers

Val

Postby Val » April 9th, 2013, 9:00 pm

But it's not a CVT.

Maybe I really should have used the AMsoil in the power steering. Anyway it's working better now.

venum

Postby venum » April 10th, 2013, 10:27 am

yeah

but it was weird cuz Amsoil said that their universal fluid was compatible with a broad range of standards like dexron, mercon at and spiii

but they said that it was not compatible for cvts but spiii is compatible with cvts (F1C1A tranny) in the CS Lancers

so that just raised a flag in my mind

if it works well under the increased load of the tuned mid then def stick with it

Postby 0001 » April 11th, 2013, 10:42 am

guys i ended up trying to "change my a/c or cabin filter weekend). THERE ISNT ONE.

The piece was jus a hollow finisher. but here is the twist, there are all the clips and holes necessary for one to be included :| .

word of advice would be to install this filter, i would say this because my blower fan was extremely dirty which will affect the performance of the A/c

The filters are not expensive and as it is extremely hot these days you would like your aircondition to be performing.

The filters are available at King Kool .

the process didnt take long, just a lot of bolts/ screws holding up the glove compartment which had to be removed.

N.B - Do not unclip the airbag sensor

Postby DVSTT » April 11th, 2013, 11:28 am

0001 wrote:guys i ended up trying to "change my a/c or cabin filter weekend). THERE ISNT ONE.

The piece was jus a hollow finisher. but here is the twist, there are all the clips and holes necessary for one to be included :| .

word of advice would be to install this filter, i would say this because my blower fan was extremely dirty which will affect the performance of the A/c

The filters are not expensive and as it is extremely hot these days you would like your aircondition to be performing.

The filters are available at King Kool .

the process didnt take long, just a lot of bolts/ screws holding up the glove compartment which had to be removed.

N.B - Do not unclip the airbag sensor

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 11th, 2013, 6:01 pm

Price of the cabin air filter?

Postby DVSTT » April 11th, 2013, 6:12 pm

Think it's $95.00 by King Kool. Not sure their install cost though.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 11th, 2013, 6:46 pm

Forget install/labour cost, I calling you.

Postby 0001 » April 12th, 2013, 9:50 am

it will take max 20 mins to change. its nothing hard.

the original filter is somewhere around $200 but i would recommend the brand by King Kool for $95

same quality overall.

venum

Postby venum » April 13th, 2013, 10:43 am

0001 wrote:it will take max 20 mins to change. its nothing hard.

the original filter is somewhere around $200 but i would recommend the brand by King Kool for $95

same quality overall.

mee too

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 15th, 2013, 6:03 am

Good morning everyone,

Can anyone assist me with getting the part number for the clutch slave cylinder of the 2006 Mitsubishi L200 Double Cab Pickup Truck? The chassis number for the vehicle is MMBJNK7706F012817.

Thank you.

Kindest Regards,

RP

unikit911

Postby unikit911 » April 15th, 2013, 6:18 am

can u send me any info for a local pajero v 44...

Sent from my GT-N7100 using TriniTuner mobile app

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2013, 7:24 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:The chassis number for the vehicle is MMBJNK7706F012817.
RP

u have a K77 :shock:

2.8L N/A :?:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 16th, 2013, 7:22 pm

venum wrote:u have a K77 :shock:

:| We have three. All purchased from DM.

venum

Postby venum » April 16th, 2013, 8:43 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
venum wrote:u have a K77 :shock:

:| We have three. All purchased from DM.

cool

wife's company has one that is used for surveying and it is a beast

venum

Postby venum » April 19th, 2013, 8:29 am

can you post the gearbox code?

interested to know if it has the same gearbox as the K74

darlene1624

Postby darlene1624 » April 22nd, 2013, 1:08 pm

hey guys... I was driving my 4x4 diesel Triton and it cuts of suddenly. The engine turns over but not starting. Basically wreck the van home and since that 3 different people tried vehicle diagnostic tools and no reading coming up. Advice needed plz... help

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 22nd, 2013, 6:49 pm

sorry to hear that :( a few questions though:
where do you do your servicing?
what mileage are you on?
when was the last time you cleaned your egr valve?
when was the last time you changed you fuel filter?

the other, more versed guys on here should have other questions that could help them troubleshoot your issue better :)

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2013, 7:22 am

any check light? if not, sounds like a fuel issue, start checking everything from injectors go back.
is it the 2.5 or 3.2?

J.S

Postby J.S » April 26th, 2013, 4:41 pm

Sounds like a fuel problem if no codes coming up....You should check your diesel fuel filter and priming pump.....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”