Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby droppa » April 10th, 2013, 7:48 am

BFG AT/KO is probably the best all terrain you can buy on a budget, low road noise, good wet and dry traction, superb wear, and even works well in mud, had a few guys with them on our runs and they work good.....

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 10th, 2013, 8:29 am

tr1ad wrote:figure month end i'll go with BF AT

can't go wrong!!

Postby tr1ad » April 10th, 2013, 1:41 pm

also will have to do the 2" lift we spoke about at RT...

have to locate a lift kit, droppa ignoring me :cry:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 10th, 2013, 6:51 pm

droppa wrote:BFG AT/KO is probably the best all terrain you can buy on a budget, low road noise, good wet and dry traction, superb wear, and even works well in mud, had a few guys with them on our runs and they work good.....

Yep.. Need a set for the SR5.. :twisted:

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 10th, 2013, 10:27 pm

what's the avg cost of the BFG AT KO?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 10th, 2013, 10:37 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:
droppa wrote:BFG AT/KO is probably the best all terrain you can buy on a budget, low road noise, good wet and dry traction, superb wear, and even works well in mud, had a few guys with them on our runs and they work good.....

Yep.. Need a set for the SR5.. :twisted:

waaaaa...pics pics pics

Puff

Postby Puff » April 11th, 2013, 4:33 am

BF looks like it has the very good user reviews and support..

Anyone know where has them? and the cost?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 11th, 2013, 8:47 am

call Quick Service

Puff

Postby Puff » April 11th, 2013, 1:04 pm

Quick Service has..
Michelin LTX A/T2 - $2200
BF Goodrich A/T - $2050

droppa

Postby droppa » April 11th, 2013, 1:29 pm

good prices, michelin 60/40 road/off road, bfg 50/50

Puff

Postby Puff » April 11th, 2013, 1:58 pm

Called Laughlin POS.. a girl took the call and said they don't carry All Terrain tyres lol lol
I asked to speak to a man.. and she hung up. lol

Called back at the south branch instead and the guy said they have no all terrain tyres in stock right now.. only Kumho road tyres for $1350. He was very clear that the tyres had no offroad capabilities at all.

karlos

Postby karlos » April 11th, 2013, 9:20 pm

saw someone had bad review about mileage mack , had one transaction with south branch was rather pleased with the work . bought toyos 265/70/r15 for b2500 pickup rides really nice . guys in there treated me real good even got my tire shine on my tires o.O

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2013, 10:25 am

BFG AT are probably the best All terrains you can buy - trust me, I had them on my Navara for 32,000km, ran them through trails and had almost no problems. COuld tackle dirt, sand, gravel, tarmac wet & dry, most mud and slush - only thing that stops them is clay-like mud (eg. mud from Indian trail and most central trails). They wear great, have much less noise than mud terrains and slightly more noise than highway tires (they make a slight hum when rolling at slow speeds but at high speed they're same as highway tires) and with all the siping on the lugs they handle wet weather well - I could splash though water on the highway at 80km/hr with no tug or pull on the steering wheel. Handles emergency braking quite well too, and the strong triple-ply sidewalls could take airing down the tires on offroading trips very well.

Toyo open country AT-II from Mileage mack are also excellent road tires, just as much grip on wet as on dry, handle most trails well, stopped only by clay mud too. Excellent road manners, good noise levels too. Only downside is they dont wear as long as BFG, and need to rotate them often to ensure longer life and even wear.

Kumho KL78 all terrain tires, ran those on my family's frontier for 3 years, 75000km. Wears great, excellent wet and dry grip on the highways, good performance off-road too, can run with the big boys like bfg and toyo all terrains. Good noise levels too, not as quiet as highway tires but very tolerable on road. Sidewalls are only 2-ply polyester, so not as resistant to rocks and sticks like the BFG but still a great tire overall.

IMO, i really hate the local tire sellers in trinidad- they really suck when it comes to customer service and prices. Best service I've gotten so far is from Quickserv on Wrightson Road, and from Mileage Mack in Union Hall, San Fernando. BOth times I was attended to promptly, and the guys were knowledgeable on what they were puting on my truck and the service manager was very accomodating. Also the coffee at Mileage Mack in south was excellent :).

Puff

Postby Puff » April 14th, 2013, 3:40 am

lighthammer wrote:BFG AT are probably the best All terrains you can buy - trust me, I had them on my Navara for 32,000km, ran them through trails and had almost no problems. COuld tackle dirt, sand, gravel, tarmac wet & dry, most mud and slush - only thing that stops them is clay-like mud (eg. mud from Indian trail and most central trails). They wear great, have much less noise than mud terrains and slightly more noise than highway tires (they make a slight hum when rolling at slow speeds but at high speed they're same as highway tires) and with all the siping on the lugs they handle wet weather well - I could splash though water on the highway at 80km/hr with no tug or pull on the steering wheel. Handles emergency braking quite well too, and the strong triple-ply sidewalls could take airing down the tires on offroading trips very well.

Toyo open country AT-II from Mileage mack are also excellent road tires, just as much grip on wet as on dry, handle most trails well, stopped only by clay mud too. Excellent road manners, good noise levels too. Only downside is they dont wear as long as BFG, and need to rotate them often to ensure longer life and even wear.

Kumho KL78 all terrain tires, ran those on my family's frontier for 3 years, 75000km. Wears great, excellent wet and dry grip on the highways, good performance off-road too, can run with the big boys like bfg and toyo all terrains. Good noise levels too, not as quiet as highway tires but very tolerable on road. Sidewalls are only 2-ply polyester, so not as resistant to rocks and sticks like the BFG but still a great tire overall.

IMO, i really hate the local tire sellers in trinidad- they really suck when it comes to customer service and prices. Best service I've gotten so far is from Quickserv on Wrightson Road, and from Mileage Mack in Union Hall, San Fernando. BOth times I was attended to promptly, and the guys were knowledgeable on what they were puting on my truck and the service manager was very accomodating. Also the coffee at Mileage Mack in south was excellent :).

Thanks for your contribution! After reading your input, user and expert reviews online and considering the difference in cost, I decided on the Kumho..

A friend arranged a wholesale deal for me, got them at a great price.

Gonna drop the air pressure a little, they are running a little too hard for my liking.

But the grip is fantastic compared to the Duellers I had before.
I can take a corner with confidence again.

I inspected the tyres when I got home.. and found a huge nail in one of the front tyres..

I think Prakash in El Socorro opens on a Sunday.. in case they aren't open, does anyone know any tyre shops open on a Sunday?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 14th, 2013, 8:15 am

yuh friend cant link more deals on the KL78?
:)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 14th, 2013, 8:24 am

Puff wrote:
lighthammer wrote:BFG AT are probably the best All terrains you can buy - trust me, I had them on my Navara for 32,000km, ran them through trails and had almost no problems. COuld tackle dirt, sand, gravel, tarmac wet & dry, most mud and slush - only thing that stops them is clay-like mud (eg. mud from Indian trail and most central trails). They wear great, have much less noise than mud terrains and slightly more noise than highway tires (they make a slight hum when rolling at slow speeds but at high speed they're same as highway tires) and with all the siping on the lugs they handle wet weather well - I could splash though water on the highway at 80km/hr with no tug or pull on the steering wheel. Handles emergency braking quite well too, and the strong triple-ply sidewalls could take airing down the tires on offroading trips very well.

Thanks for your contribution! After reading your input, user and expert reviews online and considering the difference in cost, I decided on the Kumho..

A friend arranged a wholesale deal for me, got them at a great price.

Gonna drop the air pressure a little, they are running a little too hard for my liking.

But the grip is fantastic compared to the Duellers I had before.
I can take a corner with confidence again.

I inspected the tyres when I got home.. and found a huge nail in one of the front tyres..

I think Prakash in El Socorro opens on a Sunday.. in case they aren't open, does anyone know any tyre shops open on a Sunday?

Which area r u from?

If u from south, I believe federal on cipero street opens until lunchtime on Sunday.

Inn the north, aranguez alignment and tire center is op3n till 4pm on Sunday. Take the new aranguez flyover, go through the new roundabout on the north side and head north on aranguez road, turn left on Rambhuju trace and u can't miss it.

Congrats on the Kumho, they will serve u well.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Kenjo » April 14th, 2013, 12:01 pm

I just bought some of those Achilles tyres because it was fairly difficult getting tyres for my rim size.no problems so far with noise or road handling but only time will tell.i got them at Kelly's in mt lambert.

venum

Postby venum » April 14th, 2013, 12:16 pm

when I went to LDG couple weeks ago they had Road Venture AT for $1350 Ea

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 14th, 2013, 1:41 pm

Kenjo wrote:I just bought some of those Achilles tyres because it was fairly difficult getting tyres for my rim size.no problems so far with noise or road handling but only time will tell.i got them at Kelly's in mt lambert.

what price did you pay for them ,and what type ,mud ,at or ht?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 14th, 2013, 4:29 pm

Achilles are good tires. Have them on my truck 16 mths and no issues. They cost around the same as toyos

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 14th, 2013, 5:22 pm

dont really know the price of the toyos and when a price gets post up here when you call to confirm is because the price gone up :shock: .imagine $2050 for bfg AT ,just the other day it was 1600 and it just keep going up ,sometimes i wonder if i would have to take out a small loan just buy tyres the way prices keep going up.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 14th, 2013, 6:41 pm

guys what you all think about the General Grabber?

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... mpare1=yes

I am getting this a little cheaper than the BFG's

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 14th, 2013, 6:50 pm

22" Toyo's is around $1950 each. I landed the Achilles for $1900 each...I'm pleased with the performance of the tires. I usually use Toyo's on all my other vehicles and the ride, noise etc is almost very similar

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 14th, 2013, 7:12 pm

22'' yuh say ,well i running 15's so it should be cheaper, cm what price you getting them grabbers for?

venum

Postby venum » April 14th, 2013, 7:30 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:dont really know the price of the toyos and when a price gets post up here when you call to confirm is because the price gone up :shock: .imagine $2050 for bfg AT ,just the other day it was 1600 and it just keep going up ,sometimes i wonder if i would have to take out a small loan just buy tyres the way prices keep going up.

yup, i find tyre prices high

like the other day Firestones were $700, now they are like $1300

Puff

Postby Puff » April 14th, 2013, 7:46 pm

Everyone trying to get rich quick...
Cars selling.. Everyone will need tyres.. So they dig out yuh eye.
Just like printers and ink.. Lol

Just fyi.. Might upset some ppl.. I got my kumhos wholesale.. For $500 each..
Retail.. They were around $1500!

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 14th, 2013, 7:53 pm

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYS.
Can we get a discount too? Does not need to be as cheap as that deal you got, but I'm willing to spend 4K.

Postby nervewrecker » April 14th, 2013, 7:56 pm

Puff wrote:Everyone trying to get rich quick...
Cars selling.. Everyone will need tyres.. So they dig out yuh eye.
Just like printers and ink.. Lol

Just fyi.. Might upset some ppl.. I got my kumhos wholesale.. For $500 each..
Retail.. They were around $1500!

Commercial or passenger?

Puff

Postby Puff » April 14th, 2013, 7:57 pm

What we need is a proper professional tyre centre!
I sure there are 4 or 5 tuners here with some $$ that could come together and start a proper tyre centre.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 14th, 2013, 8:46 pm

this is what i'm running on my hilux...
http://www.1010tires.com/Tires/Achilles/Desert+Hawk+UHP $219 before shipping each

ranger has toyo a/t

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”