Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 18th, 2013, 10:31 am

Somebody line me up on where i can get good mud terrains please - Rim size 15 - Stock Samurai rims - 31's or 32's

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 18th, 2013, 2:32 pm

Deans have BF Goodrich and Maxxis MT's

.z.

Postby .z. » March 18th, 2013, 2:59 pm

I got some, u can call me 374-6263 Z

Postby nervewrecker » March 29th, 2013, 12:43 pm

Not sure if in correct thread but looking for tyres.

Van has 215 / 75 / 15 so some of that will be nice.

I see mention of firestone and dunlop in here, used dunlop before and they worked good.

What prices I looking at so? Its a holiday today so I cant do any calling around.

How much broader I can go without the tyres jamming the under fender btw?

Postby tr1ad » April 6th, 2013, 9:37 am

you could go up to 265 afaik

R6Business

Postby R6Business » April 6th, 2013, 4:37 pm

looking for some tires to fit on my Sportero, can any of you guys guide me as to a place where i can get a good set of tires at a good price? thanks.

Puff

Postby Puff » April 7th, 2013, 3:30 am

Also looking for an a/t replacement for my Sportero..

Currently doing 74,000km on the stock tyres which are Bridgestone Dueller HT tyres.

Tyres lasted a very impressive run, but the grip was horrible.. particularly on corners.

So it's time to change the tyres..

I called Prakash Tyre Service on Aranjuez main road, they have Nankang and Hercules (not sure what models) for around $1100.

Anyone have advice on which tyre or advice on something better?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 7th, 2013, 3:53 am

^^ there is a lot of good information in the earlier pages of this thread...

But one might claim that in the time it took me to say that, i could ahve commented on your above questions... so let me just say that the dominant brands for pickups/suv's available here in trindad are:

1. hercules
2. nankang
3. roadian/roadstone

None of these are top of the line, they're all budget-class tires and will do moderately well on highway use for traction, treadwear and reliability.

Trouble is that when we start to mention the higher, more premium brands that have better reputations for all-round performance and reliability, ppl start to beat up and say "dat too expensive bai" or "i cyah afford that bai, i go get someting i could run in de meanwhile". I hear it all the time, enough to not give a sheit anymore and just tell anyone who ever asks the question of what tire to buy : "tires are what keep you running when and where you need it, and possibly can keep you alive when you need it - so just buy the best tire you can afford".

Puff

Postby Puff » April 7th, 2013, 4:23 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ there is a lot of good information in the earlier pages of this thread...

But one might claim that in the time it took me to say that, i could ahve commented on your above questions... so let me just say that the dominant brands for pickups/suv's available here in trindad are:

1. hercules
2. nankang
3. roadian/roadstone

None of these are top of the line, they're all budget-class tires and will do moderately well on highway use for traction, treadwear and reliability.

Trouble is that when we start to mention the higher, more premium brands that have better reputations for all-round performance and reliability, ppl start to beat up and say "dat too expensive bai" or "i cyah afford that bai, i go get someting i could run in de meanwhile". I hear it all the time, enough to not give a sheit anymore and just tell anyone who ever asks the question of what tire to buy : "tires are what keep you running when and where you need it, and possibly can keep you alive when you need it - so just buy the best tire you can afford".

I read all the pages.. But if you go back 4 pages.. The data there is posted about 6months ago.. So I was just looking for updated info.

I am skeptical about the Hercules and nankang.. And would really prefer a more common brand, but a lot of places dig out your eye for the more familiar brands.

Postby nervewrecker » April 7th, 2013, 9:40 am

Thanks tr1ad, figured so.

Puff, try Mileage Mack. I called them about tyres because is Roadstone and Hifly galore every side I turn. They Had Kumho 225 / 70 / 15 but via phone they said just over $1k for it.

I went in myself and spoke to a guy in there, he said the tyres are $785.00 and he will give me for $750.00 each. I made him check twice that its passenger tyres and not commercial.

If thats your size they are out of stock btw, Tuesday they getting back. I should have gone back that same evening as I too missed out.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 7th, 2013, 9:52 am

PUFF - Go buy your tyres @ mileage. I bought some Open Country Toyo's and have had them well over 2 years now. Mileage also offers some good warantees...when it comes to tyres, don't pinch the pennies...its your lifeline between you, your family and the road !

Puff

Postby Puff » April 7th, 2013, 1:07 pm

I've had two bad experiences with Mileage Mack (Mucarapo)..
First one.. I went there around an hour before they closed, the guy said hold on, he'll get to me just now... an hour later he came and asked me to come back the next day because they were closing.

Second one.. called them, the guy said $1025 for a tyre, got there he said $850.. but he'll give me for $675.. fantastic discount I thought.. by the time he finished the bill.. he had added on charges for valves, balancing and installing.. and then VAT.. which carried the cost to just over $3500.
And to make it worse.. they over inflated the tyres with nitrogen, when I carried it back a month later to show them what had happened, the guy looked at me and said I over inflated the tyres and that's what happens, I explained that I bought the tyres just over a month ago and I had the bill to show him. They offered to replace the tyres for a discounted price of $675 a tyre which was the price I paid initially. So I left.

No more money for them.. mystery pricing and bad customer service.

Had a similar problem with a battery at Laughlin and de Gannes.. so they're out too lol

Any other places that are reliable with good stock?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 7th, 2013, 1:15 pm

Shame about Mileage Mack north because I have never had such issues in south. I guess it goes to show the difference that having the boss on-site makes.

Most tyre shops in Trinidad are run like a joke though, so often what I do is source a tyre somewhere and if installation charges etc are extra I just carry it somewhere I trust to mount and allign.

Puff.. Call Ramrattan M in south and see what firestone they have for you.. Great tyres!

Puff

Postby Puff » April 7th, 2013, 1:19 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Shame about Mileage Mack north because I have never had such issues in south. I guess it goes to show the difference that having the boss on-site makes.

Most tyre shops in Trinidad are run like a joke though, so often what I do is source a tyre somewhere and if installation charges etc are extra I just carry it somewhere I trust to mount and allign.

Puff.. Call Ramrattan M in south and see what firestone they have for you.. Great tyres!

Ok thanks! i'll give them a call in the morning and see what they say.

Postby nervewrecker » April 7th, 2013, 2:59 pm

I called M. Ramrattan earlier this week and they said they only have roadstone I think it was. But its best to go in and see for yourself yes.

Hope I dont have such an experience at MM though *bites nails*

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 7th, 2013, 4:25 pm

Mileage Mack service in south is unbeatable, don't let one bad experience spoil your impression about them.

venum

Postby venum » April 7th, 2013, 10:08 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Mileage Mack service in south is unbeatable, don't let one bad experience spoil your impression about them.

yea but yuh does have to wait half day for a 30 min service

I just changed tyres on my Sportero - Pirelli Scorpion ATR

Masterserve has them for $1500.00 Ea

wonderful tyres

chnaged from the Kumho road Venture AT which were not bad, but suffered heavy wear with predominantly highway driving

they good on $$$ but dont last with my driving

I will not recommend Roadstone as I have found these to be crap

Postby nervewrecker » April 7th, 2013, 10:19 pm

I made sure and ask the guy twice again if that $750.00 price tag on the kumhos are with speed balancing etc. He said the only additional cost is for valves and they are $10.00 each.

First bad report I hearing at mm. Will see how things go Tuesday

X2 on roadstone being waste of good money.

Puff

Postby Puff » April 7th, 2013, 11:59 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I made sure and ask the guy twice again if that $750.00 price tag on the kumhos are with speed balancing etc. He said the only additional cost is for valves and they are $10.00 each.

First bad report I hearing at mm. Will see how things go Tuesday

X2 on roadstone being waste of good money.

You're getting 225/70/16? how come such a narrow tyre?

my stock tyres are 265/70/16.

Postby nervewrecker » April 8th, 2013, 12:03 am

Fenders don't got the flare. I just putting back what the van has.

Next Tyre change I shall have the flares so 265 will be the order.

Tyre clinc in chag had Dunlop btw, give them a call. But was commercial.

Puff

Postby Puff » April 8th, 2013, 1:16 am

So much work just to get a good tyre!

I'll make some calls in the morning and see if I can make a decision while I'm in south.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2013, 8:43 am

Yep, when I called mileage mack a couple weeks ago, they only had kumho KL78 for about 1400.
I wonder if they got back the Toyo Open Country?

If not, Wheels Plus by Munroe Road Flyover has the Hercules Terra Trac AT for 1100, so I might just go that route. It's reasonably priced and has some good reviews from a couple of the threads on this forum.

Puff

Postby Puff » April 8th, 2013, 9:52 am

Be careful which Hercules tyre they have.
There was a recall on the All Tracs..

http://www.tirebusiness.com/article/201 ... -a-t-tires

venum

Postby venum » April 8th, 2013, 11:21 am

nervewrecker you should be able to run 245 on that frontier

Puff

Postby Puff » April 8th, 2013, 3:14 pm

Mileage Mack mucarapo said they have the Kumho Venture in 265/70/16.
Four tyres installed all charges is $6500 vat inclusive..

Postby nervewrecker » April 8th, 2013, 6:19 pm

venum wrote:nervewrecker you should be able to run 245 on that frontier

thanks, will look into that tomorrow. :D

Puff wrote:So much work just to get a good tyre!

Yes.

I didnt get chance to call anywhere today though. Will give MM a call tomorrow and hear if they got new shoes.

Got roadstones with my last minute rim and tyre change on my car. Worst set of tyres ever!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 9th, 2013, 11:55 am

anybody ever hear about achilles tires, partner at work was telling me about them.

http://www.achillesradial.com/en/tires/suv-tires
anybody ever used them?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 9th, 2013, 10:27 pm

That tyre will be the Achilles heel of your van..........

Postby tr1ad » April 10th, 2013, 1:17 am

figure month end i'll go with BF AT

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 10th, 2013, 5:20 am

looked for reviews on the AT but cant really find anything lol

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”