TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
tourniquet

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby tourniquet » March 9th, 2013, 8:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I was hoping to get some halfway decent tyres for about 4K or so.

What are the good HT's?

I'm seeing a lot of AT and MT mentioned in the thread...

welcome to pickup truck ownership bro 8-)
Unfortunately, I believe you may be hard pressed to find what you're looking for in terms of the size, quality and price; you might have to pick two out of the three :x :(

side note: if for whatever reason any of you are missing any of those plastic clips for your door upholstery, Faiz in Marabella has replacements :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » March 9th, 2013, 11:05 pm

good HT's

Maxxxis bravo HT
Kumho Road Venture (not the AT)
Pirelli
bridge stone
Continental

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 10th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Aint actually pull the trigger to buy it yet, hopefully will seal the deal this coming week.

*fingers crossed*

Two minor issues to resolve, truck needs new tyres and AC wants servicing. I am a bit OCD when it comes to my rides, so I researching like a madman for the longest while!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 10th, 2013, 6:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Aint actually pull the trigger to buy it yet, hopefully will seal the deal this coming week.

*fingers crossed*

Two minor issues to resolve, truck needs new tyres and AC wants servicing. I am a bit OCD when it comes to my rides, so I researching like a madman for the longest while!

I take back my welcome then :x :lol:
j/k I know it is with these things man; particularly when in comes to used vehicles, I'm always wary that I might be buying someone else's problems :?

venum wrote:good HT's

Maxxxis bravo HT not familiar with these
Kumho Road Venture (not the AT) I think I've seen these at Laughlin, and at Mileage Mack, but not sure they come in the size he wants
Pirelli might be pricier than the others, but I've heard great things about these
bridge stone the vitara came with duelers and they were absolute rubbish in the wet; dunno how many variants of the dueler we get down here and their quality though
Continental who is (are) the agent(s) for them? I saw what comes on the new Rangers and those appear to be pretty decent. If the price is right, i wouldn't mind getting those in our size

VexXx Dogg, you might want to give M. Ramrattan's in Vistabella a call as well on the Firestone they carry; dunno about their H/T, but the Destination A/T is a great all rounder :)

venum

Postby venum » March 10th, 2013, 8:50 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Two minor issues to resolve, truck needs new tyres and AC wants servicing. I am a bit OCD when it comes to my rides, so I researching like a madman for the longest while!

VexXx

A/C doesn't usually need servicing in a vehicle unless something is wrong with it

gas doesn't need topping up (regardless of what A/C tech tell you)

A/C is a closed system and gas will only leak out when there is a leak

in the early Sportero's, the A/C evaporator is a know weakness and almost guaranteed failure

it will cost you upwards $6k to fix . . . I know, been there, done it

let this guide your decision to buy

King Kool in Barataria rae the ones that repair for Diamond Motors

they do excellent work

venum

Postby venum » March 10th, 2013, 9:01 pm

on a separate note, plz drop your spare tyre occasionaly and check the pressure

checked mine today and it was 12psi

also if you never dropped it, check that your chain and reel are working

friend of mine in work realized that his was stuck when he needed his spare last year

had to borrow mine

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 10th, 2013, 9:58 pm

venum wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Two minor issues to resolve, truck needs new tyres and AC wants servicing. I am a bit OCD when it comes to my rides, so I researching like a madman for the longest while!

VexXx

A/C doesn't usually need servicing in a vehicle unless something is wrong with it

gas doesn't need topping up (regardless of what A/C tech tell you)

A/C is a closed system and gas will only leak out when there is a leak

in the early Sportero's, the A/C evaporator is a know weakness and almost guaranteed failure

it will cost you upwards $6k to fix . . . I know, been there, done it

let this guide your decision to buy

King Kool in Barataria rae the ones that repair for Diamond Motors

they do excellent work

:skurry: :skurry:

thanks for the heads up!

King Kool

Postby King Kool » March 10th, 2013, 11:13 pm

We have new a/c evaporators for the Sportero in stock. The evaporator itself should run around $700-$800. Everpure activated carbon air filters $92. We can I install it for you & you get 3 months warranty. We also have 18 month warranty options as well. Visit us for more info or call 674-3653

Postby AllTrac » March 11th, 2013, 8:58 pm

anyone know where I can get this kit locally? :oops:

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » March 11th, 2013, 9:04 pm

AllTrac wrote:anyone know where I can get this kit locally? :oops:

Try XM Marketting in charlieville

Postby AllTrac » March 12th, 2013, 9:34 pm

man I living charlieville and dont know where that place is lol can you give me some more details?

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » March 13th, 2013, 11:36 am

^^^xm marketing is in Clarke rd. by the turn off to go the nagar stretch, instead of going right towards price plaza, you go left instead..the street is the right hand side of the road, can't miss it...must see one or two vans park up there..hope dat helps

Postby AllTrac » March 13th, 2013, 12:12 pm

i know exactly where, btw is ah coke block allyuh sending me in dred lol
and i live in charlieville across de hway eh, next end.

Postby AllTrac » March 13th, 2013, 12:15 pm

btw, thanks acmilan11 and rmrunner

Postby ronsin1 » March 13th, 2013, 3:21 pm

wonder if they will have a carbon fiber set for mine

Postby AllTrac » March 13th, 2013, 4:25 pm

i would check tomorrow ronsin, ill let you know

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 13th, 2013, 8:15 pm

Lord, look how your Triton will get requests to be the wedding van now 8-) :lol:
anyhow, you could also check out:
4x4 trinidad, in Enterprise- 672-4691
LV Marketing, in Marabella- 658-0405

and ronsin, I think there's a powerseller on here who does cf wrapping; if I find his link, I'll post it here :)

Our front driver and passenger side trim pieces are showing signs of wear, but rather than getting the trim kits, I was planning on just getting some duplicolor paint and spraying it over :fadein:

venum

Postby venum » March 13th, 2013, 9:45 pm

tourniquet wrote:
Our front driver and passenger side trim pieces are showing signs of wear, but rather than getting the trim kits, I was planning on just getting some duplicolor paint and spraying it over :fadein:

my driver side inner-door handle (where the power-window switches are) has same wear

automotive paint to the rescue, but i haven.t gotten around to it

make sure and separate the switches from the finisher before painting

should be easy

remove teh entire trim, with switches, turn over and remove screws that connect the switch box to the finisher

Postby AllTrac » March 14th, 2013, 1:24 pm

i checked the XM place, they dont have the kit pictured but they have the machine that does those finishes, they have some samples out and they do it pretty well, very neat imo. You can also do it in any color and different shades of wood grain, they also have the carbon fiber look. You have to remove your parts and they do it in 4 days, i see people collecting entire center consoles in wood finish, looks pretty well. As for pricing it all de peands on how much pieces being done and the size of the pieces.

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » March 14th, 2013, 1:43 pm

^^^last time I checked, to do the kit, it was quite expensive..just my opinion

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Cheque cut, insurance pending and we await the transfer and handover.
the finish line is near....L200 ownership here I come!

Postby AllTrac » March 14th, 2013, 2:50 pm

acmilan11 wrote:^^^last time I checked, to do the kit, it was quite expensive..just my opinion

whats the ball park quote u got?

Postby AllTrac » March 14th, 2013, 3:02 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Cheque cut, insurance pending and we await the transfer and handover.
the finish line is near....L200 ownership here I come!

what u getting bro? triton, sportero?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2013, 3:04 pm

Sportero local 2007 4x4 manual 2.5 turbo
TCD
I can't waaaaaaait!

Postby AllTrac » March 14th, 2013, 3:21 pm

nice!! congrats

Postby DVSTT » March 14th, 2013, 6:38 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Sportero local 2007 4x4 manual 2.5 turbo
TCD
I can't waaaaaaait!

Congrats bro! Really miss driving a stick shift :(

venum

Postby venum » March 14th, 2013, 10:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Sportero local 2007 4x4 manual 2.5 turbo
TCD
I can't waaaaaaait!

congrats and welcome

heard that they ask for updated inspection when transferring.

let us know how true or applicable this is when u do yours

Postby ronsin1 » March 15th, 2013, 6:36 am

to much headache taking the trim out will pass by the guy who tints my vehicles sometime in the future and get the wrapping done

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2013, 7:47 am

@Venum, will do.
It was last inspected in November 2012, so I doubt they'll make a fuss - then again is LO we talking about.

venum

Postby venum » March 15th, 2013, 11:17 am

hearing that the popo and LO etc looking for inspection as part of the crackdown down on "souped up" cars

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”