TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
tourniquet

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby tourniquet » February 3rd, 2013, 4:17 pm

^^ that, and also, at what mileage was it done ?

venum

Postby venum » February 3rd, 2013, 8:45 pm

i have the penultimate link for outside servicing

Postby ronsin1 » February 3rd, 2013, 10:27 pm

it was done in the firm personally by Mohammed I had one it st 55K Service Manual recommended at 50K
Venum the performance was not really changed however the little puff of black smoke when gears are changing is now no existent

venum

Postby venum » February 6th, 2013, 8:20 pm

some real cnuts calling me today for my Teri . . .

today phone rings
guy: "aye yuh goh take 110 fuh yuh Sportero"
Me: "Boy go from here"
I hang up

Postby AllTrac » February 7th, 2013, 7:17 am

venum

Postby venum » February 8th, 2013, 12:37 am

I feel it was Sheron's and them idiots

d original riceman

Postby d original riceman » February 9th, 2013, 12:47 am

hey what is the part number for the chrome OEM mirror covers? and where can i get them locally besides the firm?

Postby ronsin1 » February 9th, 2013, 6:55 am

bella has three sportero's (two Red and one White) that are written off in his yard the last time I was there he may have the cover available

Postby DVSTT » February 9th, 2013, 8:27 am

d original riceman wrote:hey what is the part number for the chrome OEM mirror covers? and where can i get them locally besides the firm?

Have you considered installing the aftermarket ones with the indicator LEDs?

venum

Postby venum » February 9th, 2013, 1:38 pm

DVSTT wrote:
d original riceman wrote:hey what is the part number for the chrome OEM mirror covers? and where can i get them locally besides the firm?

Have you considered installing the aftermarket ones with the indicator LEDs?

get the good ones that the indicator lens do not fade yellow after 2 years

Val

Postby Val » February 10th, 2013, 2:43 pm

I got the OEM style mirror covers from M. Rampersad.

venum

Postby venum » February 11th, 2013, 11:39 pm

hope allyuh being safe fellas

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » February 12th, 2013, 11:22 pm

Had a real hiccup yesterday, 7mth old rott puppy bite up and bust out the abs wire by the rear diff, bite up the left brakes line (only the outer layer though) so no leakage thank god, and nibbled the edge of the rear mud guard..lol..hmm this is a tcx model btw..bad dog

Abs light was on in the instrumental panel but I managed to cut out the bit up pieces and changed it completely with remote wire matching colors and was successful..abs light came off at once..parking vehicle inside at all times this rounds..lol

paz

Postby paz » February 13th, 2013, 1:26 pm

ronsin1 wrote:bella has three sportero's (two Red and one White) that are written off in his yard the last time I was there he may have the cover available

where is this ..or number ...wanna get the switch for my driver seat ..it broke

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 13th, 2013, 5:40 pm

me thinks I need to change the glow plugs; been noticing some hard starting on the sportero lately, followed by a puff of white smoke. Hopefully it's just the plugs and nothing else :(

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 13th, 2013, 7:31 pm

tourniquet wrote:me thinks I need to change the glow plugs; been noticing some hard starting on the sportero lately, followed by a puff of white smoke. Hopefully it's just the plugs and nothing else :(

Mileage?

Battery good? Modern diesel engines needs good voltage. I recently had a similar problem where lights and horn were working but van refused to start. Before changing g-plugs swap out the battery to make sure.

venum

Postby venum » February 14th, 2013, 1:33 am

paz wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:bella has three sportero's (two Red and one White) that are written off in his yard the last time I was there he may have the cover available

where is this ..or number ...wanna get the switch for my driver seat ..it broke

682-7179 Felicity

DM has it for $1300.00
Last edited by venum on May 9th, 2015, 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 17th, 2013, 7:37 pm

sweeks wrote:
tourniquet wrote:me thinks I need to change the glow plugs; been noticing some hard starting on the sportero lately, followed by a puff of white smoke. Hopefully it's just the plugs and nothing else :(

Mileage?

Battery good? Modern diesel engines needs good voltage. I recently had a similar problem where lights and horn were working but van refused to start. Before changing g-plugs swap out the battery to make sure.

what he said.
question: anyone knows if the glow plugs in the k74[t] are wired in series or parallel?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 17th, 2013, 9:06 pm

venum wrote:i have the penultimate link for outside servicing

This link is Sweeky approved!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 18th, 2013, 7:02 pm

sweeks wrote:

Mileage?

sorry for the late response, I was offline for a few days :)
the truck is doing a little over 170K 8-) I didn't even consider the battery because that was only changed late last year, and the last time I checked on the battery itself (about a month ago), that seemed ideal. I'll have venum's penultimate link check it out hopefuly by this weekend :fadein:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 18th, 2013, 8:38 pm

That's a lot of mileage ...what sort of issues have you had?

venum

Postby venum » February 18th, 2013, 10:09 pm

ado15mk3 wrote:question: anyone knows if the glow plugs in the k74[t] are wired in series or parallel?

SERIES-PARALLEL

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 19th, 2013, 8:41 pm

^looks like 2+2. hmmm. interesting. so if #3 broke then 4 would be out but you still have 1+2 right?

venum

Postby venum » February 20th, 2013, 4:19 pm

If by broke you mean the thick metal "harness"\conductor broke, then yes

but that is unlikely unless the vehicle got into an accident

if an individual plug bad, then it wouldn't affect the others as they all get current at the same time
so if one bad, then the others still heating so you may get a hard start, but it still start

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 20th, 2013, 5:35 pm

sweeks wrote:That's a lot of mileage ...what sort of issues have you had?

I wasn't here when the sportero was purchased in 2008, but as far as I'm aware, we suffered from:
* the infamous air bag- clock spring issue
* clogged egr valve- however this was our first pickup with such, and quite frankly we didn't know better and depended on the firm to be proactive/ inform us that it was something which needed servicing; now we know better for both cases :? :lol: )
*we're experiencing a clunky steering column, which apparently affected early editions of the sportero; it's not a critical issue, just somewhat annoying.
* passenger front axle needs replacing, but that's because we must have went over something which shredded/ ripped the axle boot :oops:

Overall, save for the steering issue, the truck has been pretty good, and now that I'm certain that I'm actually getting the services we pay for, we could hold onto it for at least a few more good years :fadein:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 20th, 2013, 8:07 pm

Great info there .... Thanks for sharing.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 20th, 2013, 8:20 pm

venum wrote:If by broke you mean the thick metal "harness"\conductor broke, then yes

but that is unlikely unless the vehicle got into an accident

if an individual plug bad, then it wouldn't affect the others as they all get current at the same time
so if one bad, then the others still heating so you may get a hard start, but it still start

that all makes sense. thanks again for shedding some light.

venum

Postby venum » February 21st, 2013, 9:28 am

tourniquet wrote:
sweeks wrote:That's a lot of *we're experiencing a clunky steering column, which apparently affected early editions of the sportero; it's not a critical issue, just somewhat annoying.

sometimes caused by the plastic bushing for the collapsible steering column

I have seen it happen on very new (2009) models when they were like 1 yr old

check the penultimate link, he was having a convo with me about the repairs

i haven't had this issue in my ownership, maybe happened with first owner and repaired under warranty, but knock on wood

Val

Postby Val » February 22nd, 2013, 11:44 pm

I have noticed that my van engine gets louder (sounds like a clack clack old truck sound) as the fuel gets below 1/3 tank level, have no idea why but it is repeatable. Not a big deal but a little annoying.

Anyone knows why?

Also if I run the high boost setting for a long while and hard running I hear a new sound in the engine like an extra fan running. Do diesel engines sound different at different EGTs?

venum

Postby venum » February 23rd, 2013, 10:03 am

Val wrote:I have noticed that my van engine gets louder (sounds like a clack clack old truck sound) as the fuel gets below 1/3 tank level, have no idea why but it is repeatable. Not a big deal but a little annoying.

Anyone knows why?

hmmmm

can't say that I have had this problem,

I have run mine low couple times, till fuel light came on and never experienced this

Val wrote:Also if I run the high boost setting for a long while and hard running I hear a new sound in the engine like an extra fan running. Do diesel engines sound different at different EGTs?

I expect that it would run different as teh engine performance should decrease as the charge air is being increased in temp by the hot exhaust

but a fan like noise :?:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”