Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
AdamB

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby AdamB » March 26th, 2012, 2:51 pm

@vickyexp...sorry but wasnt talking bout the miles per tank but total miles before rebuilding necessary, on average , assuming vehicled maintained on schedule every 5-8k km.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » March 27th, 2012, 6:59 am

AdamB,

That's a great price you're paying for the frontier, I'm not too sure how much total miles
you can get out of it, it would surely depend on driving style & engine maintenance. I've
heard of some guys getting >350,000km & still going strong.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » March 28th, 2012, 10:01 am

I'm not planning to do a lot of driving, so i hope it lasts long without major maintenance.

trvs

Postby trvs » March 28th, 2012, 11:13 am

Got my Nav yesterday. Installed the Greddy turbo timer last night.

Need to go back to do the Rust Proofing on Saturday morning.

Noticed a little condensation in the left headlight, both bottom corners. Spoke to my sales rep this morning and he said point it out to the service department when I go in for my 1st service and they will sort it out.

Other than that everything seems fine. Got it will about 80KM on the odometer. I cross 200KM on the odometer this morning though.. :oops:

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 28th, 2012, 11:25 am

That condensation normal, will disappear. Happen if u wash the vehicle when the engine still hot

trvs

Postby trvs » March 28th, 2012, 11:40 am

Probably...

Anything else to "look out for" ?

:D

Check it out the headlight here.

headlight.jpg

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 28th, 2012, 1:35 pm

Yep that's normal. It goes away once the engine cools down. Nothing to worry about, that happen to almost every vehicle

trvs

Postby trvs » March 28th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Okay thanks man. :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 31st, 2012, 12:49 am

trvs wrote:Got my Nav yesterday. Installed the Greddy turbo timer last night.

Need to go back to do the Rust Proofing on Saturday morning.

Noticed a little condensation in the left headlight, both bottom corners. Spoke to my sales rep this morning and he said point it out to the service department when I go in for my 1st service and they will sort it out.

Other than that everything seems fine. Got it will about 80KM on the odometer. I cross 200KM on the odometer this morning though.. :oops:

Aye congratulations bai trvs!!
You got a hell of a truck and it'll serve you well - try not to abuse all that powaarrrrrr eh!

You'll find that the first 1000km will pass by VERY quickly. I brought mine back in for the first service within 5 days.

About the condensation - daiz normal ting. When I first bought my nav, the next morning I went outside to go admire it (woke up early before everyone else so no one would see me) and I noticed the left foglight was full of condensation. Called my salesman later and he said yah daiz normal, it's from when they park up the vans for so long in the bond/N&M compound. The condensation went away after a couple days of hot sun and night driving with headlights/fogs on.

When you ready to modify your truck, lemme know, we'll talk and I can hook you up with the good stuff.

And btw - don't let the haters bring you down eh, a stock-navara can do LOTS of things.

example:

So congrats again on your new purchase. Welcome to the Nissan Navara fraternity!

trvs

Postby trvs » April 4th, 2012, 11:55 pm

Thanks man! Enjoying it so far.

Going in for my 1st service in the morning. Just about 40KM short of 1000KM.

Will let you guys know how it goes.

ravist

Postby ravist » April 18th, 2012, 7:13 am

Folks,
I know that this topic was brought up already but i am interested in installing a leather tray cover from AutoAir for around $2900.00. Does it make sense, how durable is it and what is the maintenance like for those who have installed it....

trvs

Postby trvs » April 19th, 2012, 12:09 pm

What about the bakflip folding one?

One of our drivers told me it costs like $6500 installed.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 21st, 2012, 10:17 pm

guys, i having a prob with my nav
im getting a horrible feed back to the steering when mashing on the brake pedals, the steering vibrates badly to the point where im afraid i could lose control.
this serious feedback only occurs when medium pressure is applied at speeds say 100 km -140km
now im also getting the throttling on the pedal which i feel is probably the ABS, but i dont think it should be kicking in so quickly
i dont know if its related but when not applying the brakes im getting a "play or vibration" in the steering when im driving over rough road. rough in context here is anything that has slight bumps. not offroad conditions!
you can hear the steering rattling as well when goin over these roads. eg the back roads leading to point lisas

note im not getting any pull on the steering so i doubt the alignment is off and the van runs well at higher speeds ( greater than 100km/hr)
any ideas?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 22nd, 2012, 1:32 am

@jhonnieblue: when last did you change the disc pads? see below

Brake Judder & Pulsations

A common theory of brake judder is 'Warped Brake Discs' commonly felt as pulsing through the brake pedal and vibrations through the steering geometry (the term warped discs is usually due to a lack of knowledge), when in actual fact the problem you are experiencing is usually brake discs alignment errors. The brake discs brake depot supply are precision machined to very fine tolerances thus obtaining a brake disc with sufficiant runout straight out the box to cause brake judder is impossible under normal conditions, if you are unfortunate enough to be having brake judder we advise you to carry out the steps below:

1. Remove the brake discs and check the hub flange face, this should be corrosion free with the surface showing clean metal.
2. Check the hub flange for any run-out, this can be caused be kerbing the vehicle at some point in it's operation, the wheel bearings should also be checked for wear. If errors are found then these should be rectified.
3. Make sure the disc inner hub flange in also clean and free from debris then refit the disc.
4. Check the brake discs run-out, the discs need to be bolted to the flange to simulate the wheel fitment at the manufacturers specified torque, if ok simply reassemble and road test.
5. If run-out is obtained remove the disc rotate by 90 degrees where possible and then refit, check for run-out again, if positive repeat step 5.
6. If the run-out still exceeds the manufacturers recommendations then the disc will require alignment to your hub, this is done using an 'on the car brake lathe'

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 22nd, 2012, 10:53 am

never changed the pads on the van, its presently doing 60,000 km. Most of the driving i do is highway, Maracas valley to point lisas so im hardly in any stop and go traffic. I figured i would have to change the pads soon, where can i get good OEM ones oustide of massey? ( don want thme to rip my head off with price)

trvs

Postby trvs » April 22nd, 2012, 10:27 pm

I use to get that on my car. Team Loco recommended tone in Marabella and he sorted it out with the lathe. (shaves a couple mm off the rotor) You should try the lathe option first.

New OEM rotors can cost anywhere from 3000K and up.

My Navara just crossed 3000KM (Friday will make it a month since I got it)

Does N&M in Morvant do alignment if I just drop in?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 23rd, 2012, 10:50 am

^^ they should do it every 10,00km... but the last time i brought it in for the 20,000km (and last time i ever brought it in by them) they didn't do it. Their excuse was "the machine not working and the technician on holiday".

So if you want to service it properly, bring it by MasterServ in Fernandes Compound, barataria. They'll do a much more thorough job than N&M Morvant, plus they're part of N&M group of companies and approved by N&M to service your truck.... so they can stamp your service booklet for you and you'll be able to keep your warranty.

Plus for some reason, the servicing at Masterserv is a little bit cheaper than N&M.

trvs

Postby trvs » April 23rd, 2012, 2:30 pm

Ahhh ok I'll check them out tmr. Got tied up today.

N&M didn't stamp my service booklet for the 1st service ...

trvs

Postby trvs » April 24th, 2012, 12:12 pm

Argh...

So I went into N&M in Morvant this morning to check out my alignment issue as well a "squeaking" noise at the rear.

They put the van up on the alignment lift about three times, road test it and say they can't seem to get the steering straight. The supervisor said that the probably need to calibrate and to come back after lunch on Thursday.

Let's see how Thursday goes. I'll take it to Masterserv if they still can't sort out the alignment issue.

As for the squeaking noise, I saw them spraying WD-40 around the undercarriage by the bolts etc. I will need to monitor it and see if the noise is still there or not. Rain was falling when I left so I could not hear anything.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 24th, 2012, 12:28 pm

Noise nt going to stop. It's the stabilizer rubbers. They changed mine over and over and it never stopped. The cab mounts need degreasing at every service which nm don't do

trvs

Postby trvs » April 25th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Okay I couldn't wait until Thursday to go back to N&M so I went to MasterServ this morning and they sort me out in about 30 Mins.

Alignment issue corrected and they used another type of "spray in a can" that fixed the squeaking for now.

Paid a total of $115.00 to sort that out.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 25th, 2012, 6:38 pm

give it a few hrs it will be back

trvs

Postby trvs » April 25th, 2012, 9:42 pm

Lol, I'll let you know in the morning.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 26th, 2012, 9:48 am

trvs wrote:I went to MasterServ this morning and they sort me out in about 30 Mins...... Alignment issue corrected ...... Paid a total of $115.00 to sort that out.

What ah tell yuh?
Yuh must believe yuh elders man... uncle lighthammer wouldn't guide yuh wrong.
I been around this sheit before, trust me.

Masterserv is bess.

trvs

Postby trvs » April 26th, 2012, 9:53 am

For real Mr. Light hammer. :)

So I checked, no squeaking this morning. Will keep you guys posted.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 26th, 2012, 9:56 am

As for the squeaking noise, I saw them spraying WD-40 around the undercarriage by the bolts etc. I will need to monitor it and see if the noise is still there or not. Rain was falling when I left so I could not hear anything.

Bai drive de van through some mud and that noise goin away fass-fass :mrgreen:

Never had that problem in my navara, prob cuz all that crusted up mud and crap underneath the van stopped it.

But.... if you wanna grease up your cab mounts, go under the van and take a Size 19 socket and a powerbar (trust me, dem bolts too tight for a lil 1/2" ratchet) and just unscrew the mounting bolts a little bit... then put some Blue Castrol grease on the rubbers (just a small film of grease, don't go crazy with it) and then re-tighten the bolts to about 3/4 turns. Not too tight (but not loose either) cuz you don't wanna crush those rubbers. If you have access to an impact gun, use the 4th setting and run it till it clacks.

Problem solved.
Or...... follow me through the canefields and we'll fix that squeaking problem for you lickety split (be warned.. the leafsprings will start to squeak after and will need lithium grease too :mrgreen: )

trvs

Postby trvs » April 26th, 2012, 12:06 pm

If/When it comes back I'll take you up on one of your suggestions :D

supernedd

Postby supernedd » April 26th, 2012, 7:21 pm

does anybody have advice on how costly van maintenance is in trinidad ,,, i am interested in buying the mazda bt50...please

ravist

Postby ravist » April 27th, 2012, 10:00 am

Does it make sense installing a Power/Performance Chip upgrade for the Nav??? Some advertising online on most of those European and Australian sites which all looked interesting.
Last edited by ravist on April 27th, 2012, 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 27th, 2012, 1:09 pm

^^ you can gain some performance with an ecu piggyback chip, it's been done before.

Only problem is our diesel has a low-cetane rating compared to the UK/Europe, hence most performance upgrades are short-lived.

Most of these ecu piggyback chips work by pulsing the injectors a little bit more, hence delivering more fuel to the cylinder. However, without enough oxygen and with poor quality fuel, combustion is often incomplete. This leads to a lot of black-smoke and sometimes pinging/knocking.

It can be done yes, but not with as much power gains as the UK/European trucks would have.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”