The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Coppershot

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!!

Postby Coppershot » March 4th, 2012, 1:56 pm

I spotted the new ranger thurs or friday night i believe. It was raining but directly behind it in traffic. It had D-plates, and the protective white covering on the roof. Colour looked sand brown or gold, not sure.

It looked very high, higher than the older model. It swung into the gas station opposite the licensing office. Rain was falling to hard, so no pics. Should be in the showroom of firm that brought it down by this week

The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!! ****

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 4th, 2012, 5:34 pm

Cleared customs this week would be in the showroom by end if month. They gonna do some official launch

Postby Team Loco » March 4th, 2012, 9:52 pm

hope they got the steering on the right side this time

swordsman

Postby swordsman » March 12th, 2012, 5:55 pm

2012 Rangers should be launched within this month...coming 2.2 tdci which produces abt the same hp as current 3.0ltr. i believe its a great tune on the engine. the other option is a 3.2 tdci which is in a HP torque league of its own.lots of interior goodies - radio ctrl on steering, crusie ctrl, voice recognition. climate voice adjustment etc.

2.2 XLT auto is abt 300k....the 3.2 LE is abt 345k.

M. Rampersad is bringing in the 2.2 Wildtrak..it hott...315k ...i want it :D

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 12th, 2012, 6:04 pm

^^ authentic wildtrak do not come in 2.2L series dude - its just the regular ranger with the wildtrak package... thats all. Its like the rice down Hilux and Navara they have....just a little milder. Its not even 4x4....!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 12th, 2012, 9:39 pm

m. ramps is rell teef head!

swordsman

Postby swordsman » March 13th, 2012, 7:48 am

civic minded wrote:^^ authentic wildtrak do not come in 2.2L series dude - its just the regular ranger with the wildtrak package... thats all. Its like the rice down Hilux and Navara they have....just a little milder. Its not even 4x4....!!

http://www.ford.co.th/en/trucks/new-ran ... ons/safety

Guess Ford Thailand lying then.. cuz i clearly seeing comparison ratings between 2.2l 4x4 Wildtrak 6AT & 3.2l 4x4 Wildtrak 6AT........

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 13th, 2012, 9:12 am

ok i stand corrected - they have expanded the wildtrak to include the 4x2 and 2,2L. Previous versions wasn't.

swordsman

Postby swordsman » March 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

We're all here 2 learn..is all gd...

the 2012 Ranger is a totally redone ranger...got no comparison to the others..i really think Ford gonna make it big on the local market with these vehicles.

WRT M.Rampersad, anyone knows what their after sale service is like? personal experiences neg/pos

swordsman

Postby swordsman » March 20th, 2012, 7:40 am

*bump*

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » March 20th, 2012, 9:14 am

3.2, Fully Loaded.,,,330k.....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 20th, 2012, 9:56 am

as a ranger owner - i really love it and if want to buy another ranger i am going for the 3.2L but paying 330K for a pickup is really overdoing it..

I think it is more economical to keep my existing 3.0 ranger and mod it out. And everything that the new ranger has - in terms of features, i am sure i can get it aftermarket

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2012, 12:56 am

civic minded wrote:paying 330K for a pickup is really overdoing it

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 21st, 2012, 8:43 am

330K :!: :shock:

Three years ago my limit was 200K including the 1st year insurance, and somehow still I managed to come in under that limit.

I keeping my truck 8-)

swordsman

Postby swordsman » March 23rd, 2012, 7:54 pm

ford has a special introductory price of 325...then 340 thereafter...

M.Rampersad selling the 2.2 wildtrak 4x4 for 315. no costing on the 3.2 as yet. idk the cost of the 4x2..

the 3.2 comes with additional features like climate voice (voice ctrl for ur ac), chill box, 12v socket in the tray (rel kool) and well that unrivaled torque and hp...so not quite sure these things could be purchased aftermkt....ohh also comes with leather n powered driver's seat :D... i sat in 1 already...its HUGE and soo comfortable... engine iz really quiet and the radio sounds awesome... in all honesty, the size is intimidating...,my only negative comment on it

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 25th, 2012, 10:45 am

any pickup that costs more than $200K already costs waayyy too much.

Sorry man, all them features in the new model Ranger are great and all, but it already have trucks with that amount of space (navara), great comfort levels (hilux) and power (navara again).

I just can't justify that level of price nah... for $300+K you could put down and build a house for that.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 25th, 2012, 11:06 am

^ its people's money and they could spend it how they please.....not everyone who purchase said vehicles have to go thru a loan etc. No need to waste down another brand or item like you continue to do....same can be said for persons who purchase lets say a porche, you dont need it but you want it and can purchase it if you can afford it...cheers.....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 25th, 2012, 5:45 pm

um thaz just a stupid statement there aaron, if u have d money to purchase a ranger for 330+ y d hell would u?...bess u go for something euro and done...cause dont come saying u need a ranger to do offroad or haulign work for that price....thats just ridiculous...not worth the money...
and i do strongly believe people that do have that money in cash...aint going to be buying any ranger

swordsman

Postby swordsman » March 25th, 2012, 7:02 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:um thaz just a stupid statement there aaron, if u have d money to purchase a ranger for 330+ y d hell would u?...bess u go for something euro and done...cause dont come saying u need a ranger to do offroad or haulign work for that price....thats just ridiculous...not worth the money...
and i do strongly believe people that do have that money in cash...aint going to be buying any ranger

all 3.2 sold out till spet shipment thru ford...ppl paid full upfront for the ranger... ppl just got a brand loyalty

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 25th, 2012, 8:45 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:um thaz just a stupid statement there aaron, if u have d money to purchase a ranger for 330+ y d hell would u?...bess u go for something euro and done...cause dont come saying u need a ranger to do offroad or haulign work for that price....thats just ridiculous...not worth the money...

almost all the new rangers that are here already have already been sold even before they reached...mainly corporate customers were invited to the launch which takes place next week....

vehicle prices are going up everywhere, not only in trinidad....again, i owned a navara, have a few rangers in our business and have a hilux now and personally i would choose the ranger over the navara....the navara is bigger and has more power but it cannot take as much jamming as a ranger...its power delivery isnt smooth and its suspension leaves a lot to be desired...and im not here to bash brands or anything but value for money, the ranger is a lot better.....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 26th, 2012, 8:03 am

My sales guy called me and offered me a test drive of the 3.2L thunder - damn you MM...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 26th, 2012, 9:01 am

^^ its pretty decent.....truck feels well built....

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 26th, 2012, 9:01 am

^^ its pretty decent.....truck feels well built....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 26th, 2012, 1:03 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:^ its people's money and they could spend it how they please.....not everyone who purchase said vehicles have to go thru a loan etc. No need to waste down another brand or item like you continue to do....same can be said for persons who purchase lets say a porche, you dont need it but you want it and can purchase it if you can afford it...cheers.....

Agreed. I always say the same thing, everyone is free to spend their money as they please, I never said they can't or shouldn't do so.

I'm sure it have people who seeing me drive my big expensive navara in mud or into the ocean (see my avatar) and thinking wtf wrong with him??

Same thing I would say about ppl spending so much money to buy a pickup like the ranger that's being touted as the next best thing when there's already been established brands that offer the same features.

If someone wants to buy a top-ah-de-line 3.5L 200hp 470Nm 6-speed Ford Ranger Thunder for $300+ - then I say sure, no problem at all man.

But what I always say to someone who's looking to buy a pickup - please just buy the thing based on your own criteria and not only on what other ppl say on the internet.

And yes I agree not everyone needs a loan to buy a vehicle, whether it's a new Ranger, Hilux vigo-spaceship, Porche Cayenne or R35 GTR - but the reality is there are quite a number of folks in trindad & tobago who would in fact need a loan if they wanted to do these things. We all come from different backgrounds, not everyone has money in their family or had a big inheritance or has a 5-figure salary per month... so we all have different priorities. For those who have money to burn, more power to ya cuz it's your money and I know sure as hell these folks not gonna give the rest of us their money.

But to get back to my point now - The new ranger has jumped from being a rugged, workhorse-level vehicle to a premium-level lifestyle vehicle, but the price-difference isn't justified, especially in a 3rd world country like Trinidad where the working and lower-class far, far outweighs the upper crust (who would actually be able to afford these new trucks easily).

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 26th, 2012, 4:17 pm

and what isn't helping is tons of people are running to the firm and keep buying up all the damn rangers there.
The prices are not falling at all , later this year I expect the thunder to go from the 330k mark to maybe 360K or higher, all because of demand.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 26th, 2012, 11:44 pm

Let them buy, it's their prerogrative. We are all free to spend, it's our rights as consumers.

So... when allyuh buy allyuh rangers... who coming to follow mih ole datsun into de mud (or ocean??)

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 27th, 2012, 8:02 am

This discussion reminds me of an article I read in the Guardian on Sunday... It's about cell phones but you'll get the point. I have a short excerpt below.

I'm waiting to see what 'deals' the financial institutions will come up with to make these vehicles 'affordable' for the ones who really can't afford them but just want to Bling.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-03- ... %94analyst

‘T&T embarrassingly greedy’

“T&T for its size is embarrassingly greedy, we consume way above our needs. Purchases of mobile phones for some persons are seemingly governed by the desire for social elevation and driven by the need to be in the loop of things. There are many persons with smartphones who do not utilise all of the capabilities within the devices.”

As an authority on consumer behaviour from a product design perspective, Ouditt found that the phenomenon of cellphone purchasing was absurdly high. He said, a parallel comparison can be made to four-wheel drives that are used as city runarounds that never go off-road. “The capacity is there for so many applications but they will never be used.”

The general buyer behaviour is the same, such that most people purchase in an effort to exude an air of social upliftment when they possess certain luxury commodities. Though figures for 2011 have not yet been published, a quarterly report from TATT indicated that there was a 17 per cent year-on-year change in the total gross revenue earned from domestic mobile services.

Ouditt indicated this fact revealed that consumer habits remained static even though cellular phone prices and maintenance of high end phones have increased. Simply put, the profitability of the cellphone market is driven by T&T’s love of trendy sophistication.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 27th, 2012, 9:33 am

^^ exactly!!! look right now i am at my bro place where he is fitting on some BFG MT on a lifted Navara with Winch and tow bar.
I ask the guy when last he hit a trail?
He tell me never! then showed me that its a 4x2 he has.....

Boy i never!!!lmao!!

The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!! ****

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 27th, 2012, 10:24 am

Hmmmm fan boy gonna come in and defend why it was done

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » March 27th, 2012, 11:12 am

i wouldnt do it on a 4x2 but i wish i had the money.... heck have upgrades i wanna do on my 4x4 but i cant afford it yet!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”