Ranger XLT tire rubbing..cut mud guard or raise torsion bar?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
triniswift

Postby triniswift » January 24th, 2012, 4:52 pm

Hi folks,

I have an '08 Ranger XLT...I just replaced the original tires (completely worn) with some all terrain 265/70/16, on the original rims.

Getting a bit of rubbing on full lock (oddly enough mainly when turning left).

I've heard most 4x4 owners will remove or cut the mud guards to eliminate any rubbing. However, somebody recently suggested that I raise the front a bit by cranking the torsion bar up.

Anybody ever tried this or have any other suggestions? Interested in people's experience with the torsion bar lift for aesthetic reasons as well...never have any load in the tray so the higher rear doesn't serve me any purpose.

Bezman

Re: Ranger XLT tire rubbing..cut mud guard or raise torsion

Postby Bezman » January 24th, 2012, 8:10 pm

i had to cut a lil off my front bumper on my ranger after i put on 18's.. i also raised it via the torsion bars.. i preferred the stance and it stopped rubbing

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 25th, 2012, 7:23 am

The firm advises on the stock rim that you go a maximum size of 255/70/16. If you change your rim then the 265/70/16 will work.

I won't advise that you cut your fender or interfere with your torsion bars - just change your rims . Sell your original

droppa

Postby droppa » January 25th, 2012, 9:39 am

take it to mileage mack to have an alignment and camber check and tell them adjust the torsions opne time...

its a common problem, the start saggin after some time...

changing the rim cud work, but make sure the width and offset are correct...

Q. what difference will a new rim have over the stock one if they are both the identical width, size and offset?

bt50

Postby bt50 » January 25th, 2012, 9:43 am

nothing is wrong with cranking the torsion bar. I have 265/70/16 on my bt50 and it was touching initially on the left fender when turning left.

Crank half to a inch both sides and yuh good to go.

using my van for the last 75000kms since I cranked and absolutley no problems

Partner with another bt50 runs 275's on his and did the same thing...no problems..

dont see the sense in changing rims etc unless yuh have the paper

triniswift

Postby triniswift » January 25th, 2012, 1:46 pm

thanks for the suggestions...the tires were installed and alignment done at mileage mack...expected that they would've known rubbing was a possibility and make suggestions.

Not quite sure changing rims from stock 16s to aftermarket 16s would make a difference...same tire! With spacers maybe but otherwise I think all conditions would be the same. Besides, the Ranger is one of the few pick ups that comes with a decent looking stock rim so dat eh changing.

Glad to hear no problems with torsion bar adjustments so I'm gonna give that a try.

cheers folks

droppa

Postby droppa » January 25th, 2012, 2:17 pm

its very easy to DIY.....

triniswift

Postby triniswift » February 1st, 2012, 10:19 pm

UPDATE: mileage mack sorted me out...1.5 inch torsion bar lift...still about an inch lower than the back...they over compensated a bit for the positive camber created by the lift and was giving a slight pull, but brought it back for re-adjustment and no problems since.

Didn't need to cut a thing...and the ride height looks a little better now as well

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 2nd, 2012, 9:26 am

Yeah I did the same - 1 inch torsion lift at the front.

When I first moved from 245/70/16 to 265/70/16... I had the same rubbing issue on the fender.
I first cut out the small lip on the inside of the fender and then did the 1 inch torsion lift.

When I moved from 265/70/16 to 31x10.5x15 MTs... they were rubbing against the front mudguard.

Bye bye mudguards - I ripped off all 4. No problems now :)

The real solution to this though is a body lift.. LOL.
And then some 33's will fit normel normel.

droppa

Postby droppa » February 2nd, 2012, 2:13 pm

to fit the 33s a 3" body lift will have to be installed, if the stock suspension is being used!!!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 6th, 2012, 1:15 pm

Dam straight!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”