WTK - AX 2.5Di

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
KM_2NR

WTK - AX 2.5Di

Postby KM_2NR » September 4th, 2011, 10:27 pm

Strongly considering buying a used 4x2 2.5turbo desiel frontier, belive most have the YD25 engine. Frontiers seem to be the least expensive pick-up, and the AX 2.5Di seem rather nice. Wanted to get the opinion of current owners about the vehicle, any regret?
How is the ride/bounce(bearable after a while), parts, general maintenance etc?
If QD32 or YD27 frontiers are a better choice let me know(they tend to be more expensive)
I don't need a 4x4 just looking for an everyday vehicle.
If anybody has any good desiel pickup, let me know (85k max)

My apolgies if this was discussed before, I looked through all the thread and did not find anything specific on the AX 2.5Di

Thanks

Havoc

Re: WTK - AX 2.5Di

Postby Havoc » September 5th, 2011, 9:33 am

of all the frontiers this is the one i hv the least amount of experience wit but i'll try my best here
the YD25 frontier is not a bad pickup, smaller more economical engine, stock intercooler, fastest acceleration of all the frontiers, exactly the same as a fully-loaded ZD30 and once ur not venturing off-road it'll do the same job as a 4x4 in terms of load carrying capacity and durability
the Navara also carries a YD25 engine, altho it's a more modern version

nw the only fault that is YD25 specific that i heard of was the turbocharger giving trouble, and i personally knw one guy who had to change his turbo twice
but in this one case this guy drives relly hard, doesnt hv a turbo timer, doesnt let the turbo spool down after a hard run and the replacement turbo he installed was one he got frm his padna for $8,000 and turned out to be a cat-in-bag scenario

so i dont tink this is a very common problem, an it all comes down to the conditions under which ur truck used and maintained but u still shud be mindful of it just in case

one more thing, i called a guy a while aback lookin for a YD25 bonnet to throw up on my Frontier....the bonnet was already sold, but wat he did hv was a goldmine in my eyes
the Frontier he had was an Euro-spec YD25 4x4 that was to be scrapped down for parts
it wud hv been a direct bolt up to convert the 4x2 YD25 to 4x4, so if u decide u want a 4WD vehicle later on this can be a very real possibility

plz read this review on the Frontier shud be generally helpful

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=361687&hilit=frontier+solo&start=30

Postby sliderz1 » September 6th, 2011, 11:16 am

not YD27.........u mean TD27
the QD32 4x4 std version sells higher because of its reputation for durability. there's no ECU for the engine and is as basic as they get.

The YD25 (frontier spec) has held out okay......
If u buying a Turbo pickup with a mileage over say.......20 000kms make sure it has a Turbo Timer.........consequences discussed in this forum already

as for bouncy ride............i have no problem with it IMO front individual is revolutionary and suspension in the frontiers are known to be durable

Maintainence is cheap.....its a Nissan so parts all over :D

i'd buy one...........

.....if i didnt get hooked on 4 wheeling

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » September 11th, 2011, 2:56 pm

i own a AX 2.5di frontier it was bought used with approximately 90kms on the dash. i have had it just about 2yrs now an its an excellent vehicle never gave any problems whatsoever i have chalked it up to be the best vehicle i have bought to date. now to address some of your concerns ..alot of people tend to argue that the YD25dti is a weaker engine in comparison to lets say the zd30 or QD32s but what i have learnt and you would also...its not about strength in the diesel world maintenance is key so while some may assess strong to mean running oil past its useful protective time and overheating a engine an it still running which the other series are very tolerant of, if you do proper maintenance any diesel will give you a lifetime of service. for example i only use royal purple 15w40 with a strict change interval of 6000ks at oil change all filters are changed ie. oil, air and fuel(cuz our diesel is sh**) so no black smoke come outta my van even at full trottle.i run the highway everyday from south to arima and the van perfroms well (have a minor trick :) ) No oil loss to combustion. Now the only downside to the YD25dti is parts can be a pain in the ass because it never came foreign used hence the reason everyone opts for the other series engines like the zd and QD. But as i said treat it good and it will be good to you. A turbo timer is critical but a little patience on your part could suffice. Alot of those guys keep conplaining about the turbocharger but never bother to check the Cat which is a common reason for the compressor wheel goin caput. Ride quality ...tyres make a huge difference in these vans on the stock 16" rims the van is a bit bouncy especially if the tyres are worn...however i went from 16" to 22" rims an the van is as stable as they come 150kms doh feel like you on a rollercoaster ride (an u eh suppose to be at them speeds anyway) oh an theres the big plus of 600kms to a tank of diesel! But as with anything dont buy an abused vehicle and expect 5yrs trouble free..And a good Mechanic is key ! truss meh on that ! happy hunting

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”