Paullct wrote:yeah i did. but still more expensive than the frontier. my grandmother is purchasing the vehicle for me and she does not wanna go second hand. so she said i can have a 4x4 just find the cheapest one from the firm available
Paullct wrote:question:
what would happen if one was to drive with the manual hubs locked but still in 2H?
sliderz1 wrote:Paullct wrote:question:
what would happen if one was to drive with the manual hubs locked but still in 2H?
the front axles would turn along with the front diff and shaft, however the TC being in 2H wouldnt send any power to them
termite01 wrote:Instructions on the visor states you shouldn't drive more than 30km/hr with the hubs locked to prevent mechanical damage
lighthammer wrote:don't go about 50kph on 4H either man.
I wouldn't do that, even if there's no warning.
Don't want to wind up the diff's and cause cracking.
I'd say the fastest you should go is approx 35-40km/h in 4H and stay below 20km/H in 4L.
Paullct wrote:so i guess technically it wont do any harm? just basically more wear on the axles over time? correct?
sham1984 wrote:Paullct wrote:so i guess technically it wont do any harm? just basically more wear on the axles over time? correct?
The frontier with the locks on the wheels features a full locking front differential. It means the two tyres when locked will rotate at the same rate. That translates into bad wear on the tyres when turning as one tyre travels a longer distance than the other when turning. Besides pressure on the axles, tyres will be eating up.
In 4H or 4L, the back tyres turn faster than the front tyres, so its not advisable to turn on 4WD when driving on dry pitch roads or you'll be unnecessarily stressing the drive train and eating tyres.
droppa wrote:sham1984 wrote:Paullct wrote:so i guess technically it wont do any harm? just basically more wear on the axles over time? correct?
The frontier with the locks on the wheels features a full locking front differential. It means the two tyres when locked will rotate at the same rate. That translates into bad wear on the tyres when turning as one tyre travels a longer distance than the other when turning. Besides pressure on the axles, tyres will be eating up.
In 4H or 4L, the back tyres turn faster than the front tyres, so its not advisable to turn on 4WD when driving on dry pitch roads or you'll be unnecessarily stressing the drive train and eating tyres.
where yuh get them drugs dan.......that is the most crap i have read for the year!!!!!
sham1984 wrote:First you have to be a 4x4 Frontier owner. Mine locks at the wheel (full locking front differential) Secondly you should read the manual.
sham1984 wrote:so I'll point you to a thread that explains it better
viewtopic.php?t=236360
look for biggy82 post on Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:51 am
sham1984 wrote:But I'm sure you're all too happy to bask in your own ignorance and not do your own research
sliderz1 wrote:sham1984 wrote:First you have to be a 4x4 Frontier owner. Mine locks at the wheel (full locking front differential) Secondly you should read the manual.
brb LOL-ingsham1984 wrote:so I'll point you to a thread that explains it better
viewtopic.php?t=236360
look for biggy82 post on Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:51 am
search and understand difference between a centre locking system rather than f/r differential lockers,
then maybe you'll say this to yourself after
sham1984 wrote:But I'm sure you're all too happy to bask in your own ignorance and not do your own research