New Tyres !!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
davracing

New Tyres !!

Postby davracing » April 25th, 2011, 8:58 pm

DSC02101.jpg

DSC02102.jpg

My new tyres!!!!

lighthammer

Re: New Tyres !!

Postby lighthammer » April 25th, 2011, 10:01 pm

waw noice one man.
where u buy them, and for how much?

did u do a lift for them to fit?

badart

Postby badart » April 25th, 2011, 10:07 pm

looking great! :twisted:

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » April 25th, 2011, 10:09 pm

most important are they noisy..............

davracing

Postby davracing » April 25th, 2011, 10:38 pm

They were about $1200 for one @ Quickserv.Not very noisy for mud terrains and it fitting on the stock suspension!!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 26th, 2011, 1:44 am

tires lookin small

what size u runnin?

Postby Team Loco » April 26th, 2011, 10:16 am

pretty, wondering about the road noise once they get older. i would still keep a stock set around for daily driving

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 26th, 2011, 12:49 pm

To hell with da noise... Put up the glass and turn on the radio..

1200 is a damm good pricee...
REALLLL good price

Looks small though... like a 255/70/15

Postby 3stagevtec » April 26th, 2011, 1:05 pm

I seeing 31"s on the sidewalls.. but at $1200each! that's insane!

badart

Postby badart » April 26th, 2011, 1:19 pm

1200 is real good,, considering downgrading to 15's hmm

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 26th, 2011, 4:37 pm

3stage - insane how??

1200 for a quality tyre these days, is realll good. Wonder if that was VatEx price.
Because 1380 for 1 sounds more correct, but still low!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 26th, 2011, 4:39 pm

insane as in I though they were $1800+ each! and I almost bought a set for my Vitara once, good thing they didn't have the size I required at the time..

venum

Postby venum » April 26th, 2011, 6:48 pm

besss rubbers there at excellent price

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 26th, 2011, 6:49 pm

i paid 950 a tyre for mine...
i honestly find bf is way over priced unless u go to some hole in the wall where has them

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 26th, 2011, 8:10 pm

The sidewall says "31 x 10 50R15".

The 15-inch tyres are a bit cheaper than the 16's.

Best price I could have gotten the 16's for was $1550 at Quikserv in Marabella. And that was on discount from $1800.

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 27th, 2011, 11:12 am

once again you have to go to a hole in the wall to get them for good prices.....i went with my padna to some hole in the wall down aranguez and he paid bout 790 a tire for 33x 11.5 bfs all terrains on a 16 inch rim

badart

Postby badart » April 27th, 2011, 12:54 pm

^ where he bought the bfs?

nick009

Postby nick009 » April 27th, 2011, 8:49 pm

that safe to drive on the road?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 27th, 2011, 9:06 pm

What pressure you running? Looks overinflated? Shouldn't need more than 28psi at the rear.. We run 25psi in the B2500 (27 up front)..

badart

Postby badart » April 27th, 2011, 9:56 pm

the max pressure for those tires according to tirerack is 50 psi

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 28th, 2011, 8:39 am

3stage, you dont think that 25 in the back is too soft?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 28th, 2011, 8:55 am

Jeremy Mohd wrote:3stage, you dont think that 25 in the back is too soft?

To each vehicle and tyre the pressures would be different eh... I run 33 psi in the Hilux cause anything softer and the ride comfort decreases dramatically...

But 25psi in the rear will cause you to slide the rear alot, and possibly spin out.

PLus you cant carry any load in that there tray :roll:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 28th, 2011, 8:56 am

badart wrote:the max pressure for those tires according to tirerack is 50 psi

Yes but that is under LOAD

If you carrying 12 bag of TCL finest in the tray, you would have to up the pressure to 44 psi or so... The max pressure just means DO NOT exceed that pressure or risk the thing disintegrating on yuh

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 9:08 am

bleedingfreak wrote:

To each vehicle and tyre the pressures would be different eh... I run 33 psi in the Hilux cause anything softer and the ride comfort decreases dramatically...

But 25psi in the rear will cause you to slide the rear alot, and possibly spin out.

not in our case.. the rear tyres wear perfectly even. we had originally started out at 30psi rear and 32psi up front, but started noticing the inside / center of the tyre wearing out faster..

after we lowered the pressures, every thing evened out over time and stayed that way. ride comfort also improved, especially over rough terrain thanks to the 'softer' tyres.

never noticed any tendencies for the rear wanting to slide out either. i have driven that vehicle pretty aggressively on winding roads, really pushing it through corners and there is always a slight hint of understeer. only in wet conditions, the rear will step out, and that depends alot on the driver..

the factory recommended tyre pressures for my GV is 26psi throughout and that is with 225/60R16's. the B2500 has a similar weight and larger, wider tyres.. so running higher pressures is not necessary..

the science is wider / larger tyres provide more lift, so a lower operating pressure can be used.. similar to how tractors run pressures as low as 5psi in those huge tyres..

Postby 3stagevtec » April 28th, 2011, 9:13 am

badart wrote:the max pressure for those tires according to tirerack is 50 psi

i really hope you not running 50psi in those.. that will be a safety hazard as the high pressure will significantly reduce your tyres contact patch on the road!

only when heavily loaded, you will want to run high pressures as bleedingfreak suggested.. 44psi will be a good starting point in that case..

I forgot to mention, we running the Roadstone ATII 31x10.5 tyres on the stock 15"s..

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 28th, 2011, 9:39 am

badart wrote:1200 is real good,, considering downgrading to 15's hmm

Upgrading yuh mean... :lol:

badart

Postby badart » April 28th, 2011, 4:10 pm

^ yea well if i could get those tires it will definitely be an upgrade lol, from the reviews it handles good in the wet tht was my major concern, smooth ride and not as noisy as its predecessors, also it wears very fast would only last about 50,000 km

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » April 29th, 2011, 1:52 pm

lovin those tires.....................looks sweet.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 29th, 2011, 2:13 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:

not in our case.. the rear tyres wear perfectly even. we had originally started out at 30psi rear and 32psi up front, but started noticing the inside / center of the tyre wearing out faster..

after we lowered the pressures, every thing evened out over time and stayed that way. ride comfort also improved, especially over rough terrain thanks to the 'softer' tyres.

never noticed any tendencies for the rear wanting to slide out either. i have driven that vehicle pretty aggressively on winding roads, really pushing it through corners and there is always a slight hint of understeer. only in wet conditions, the rear will step out, and that depends alot on the driver..

the factory recommended tyre pressures for my GV is 26psi throughout and that is with 225/60R16's. the B2500 has a similar weight and larger, wider tyres.. so running higher pressures is not necessary..

the science is wider / larger tyres provide more lift, so a lower operating pressure can be used.. similar to how tractors run pressures as low as 5psi in those huge tyres..

I'm running 32 all round, and the wear is even all around. Ride is also as good as it will get with torsions up front and usually nothing in the tray.

If I go down to 25 you can feel a difference, a negative difference when cornering and there is a 'flatness' to the ride.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 29th, 2011, 5:12 pm

I wonder if that difference is due to the tyres?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”