Knocking noise in my Navara.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Knocking noise in my Navara.

Postby lighthammer » April 7th, 2011, 11:54 pm

Been hearing a knocking/chattering noise coming from the right-side of the engine bay, sounds like it's coming from close to the firewall, prob. just right in front of the accelerator pedal.

The noise sounds more like a chattering, than an engine knock (it doesn't sound like pre-ignition pinging), and it only appears at around 2900-3200 RPM, when the engine is in boost. Also, I've noticed it's only occuring whenever driving at night, or early morning when heading to work (maybe it's got something to do with the ambient temperature?).

Doesn't sound like the turbo, cuz the turbo's on the left side of the engine (front passenger side) and I'm not losing boost, not losing power nor am I seeing any leaks around the turbo.

Anyone have any idea what this might be?
I was thinking maybe a loose heat shield or hose, but I don't see anything upon visual inspection.

Re: Knocking noise in my Navara.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 8th, 2011, 1:11 am

does it occur on smooth road? does it sound like a mechanical rattle or does it sound engine related?

could the reason it seems to occur only at night or early morning be because the place is generally quieter?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 8th, 2011, 6:37 am

one of the hamsters got out of its cage?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 8th, 2011, 8:23 am

^ prob... Might be hearing it getting chopped up in the fan :D.

3stage - it doesn't happen all the time, and when I do hear it, I can hear it over the radio.

Will just monitor and keep an eye on it. Didn't hear it thois morning though.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 8th, 2011, 1:37 pm

could be a sheild or so....

i had a heat sheild come off the exhaust manifold one time and was rubbin on the CV, was haering the noise when i slowing down......

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 8th, 2011, 3:10 pm

when i had my turbo probs the noise was sounding like it was coming from the left side of the engine btw

Dunman

Postby Dunman » April 8th, 2011, 3:23 pm

LH,

You does answer we questions. I eh know who have an answer now that you have a question..
Pressure.

Anyways, if it persists, let N&M check it out (under warranty).

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 8th, 2011, 5:05 pm

^^ i figure is a heat shield or something... cuz I was blazing down the highway coming from work just now, trying to recreate the scenario to get the noise... no noise at all.

Running in 6th gear, 120/130km/h, 3000 RPM.... no noise. Pushed it harder, no noise.

Bah!!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 9th, 2011, 8:06 am

wish i had a 6th gear yes ....cruise up d hiway at about 2000rpm

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 9th, 2011, 8:09 am

^^doh worry - you gettin 6th gear in the new rangers...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 9th, 2011, 8:36 am

and I wishing I just had a 5th.. :|

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 9th, 2011, 10:47 am

here what to do LH - take your van to do an underwash, engine and body wash and see if your still having the noise. I was hearing strange noises as well but as soon as i did a proper wash - all noises stopped.

flvrufdwk

Postby flvrufdwk » April 9th, 2011, 2:51 pm

Dude, it may be the cab mount. Had that problem sometime ago and had it replaced at Massy.

Postby Team Loco » April 9th, 2011, 9:51 pm

cab mount?? already??

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 10th, 2011, 11:27 pm

im hearing a chirping noise in mine now!!..coming up from south today, only hear it when i go over bumpy road, i stopped and no noise then when i leaned on my side step heard it again, only when the engine is on!!
def something mechanical
noise coming for the left hand side of the engine
sigh

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 11th, 2011, 10:07 am

Check PS pump and hose lines. May be that coming into contact with the pulley

Postby Team Loco » April 11th, 2011, 10:15 am

i had those issues once. turned out to be:

intake plastic duct rubbing on body
door hinge needed greasing.

but from factory i believe i have a lose weld somewhere on the cab. if i put the cab under strain and then go onto regular road, i get a tremendously loud sound that comes from the bottom left rear door. its enough to send you deaf in the left ear. i have gotton use to it though

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 11th, 2011, 4:21 pm

*walks into thread...*

Ahh... another thread on problems with the Nav, tsk tsk...

*walks out shaking head*

haha

nick009

Postby nick009 » April 11th, 2011, 8:01 pm

Team Loco wrote:i had those issues once. turned out to be:

intake plastic duct rubbing on body
door hinge needed greasing.

but from factory i believe i have a lose weld somewhere on the cab. if i put the cab under strain and then go onto regular road, i get a tremendously loud sound that comes from the bottom left rear door. its enough to send you deaf in the left ear. i have gotton use to it though

now u deaf in the left ear

nick009

Postby nick009 » April 11th, 2011, 8:03 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ i figure is a heat shield or something... cuz I was blazing down the highway coming from work just now, trying to recreate the scenario to get the noise... no noise at all.

Running in 6th gear, 120/130km/h, 3000 RPM.... no noise. Pushed it harder, no noise.

Bah!!

in the navara 120km/h is 3000rpm?
in the ranger 120km/h is about 3100 rpm and that in 5th gear

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 12th, 2011, 6:13 am

in the navara 120km/h is 3000rpm?
in the ranger 120km/h is about 3100 rpm and that in 5th gear

The gear ratios in the Manual navara are a bit short from 1st - 4th.

In 6th gear:
120km/h = approx 3050 or 3100 rpm (it's not exactly on the mark)
140km/h = approx 3500rpm.

Cruising speed is usually 110km/h, 3000rpm.

If you know how to shift properly, you can get some phenomenal power out of the nav when pulling off, as well as some good 0-100km/h times. The revs come very quickly, so you have to literally shift from 1st-3rd within 3-4 seconds. After 4rd gear, the ratios become a bit wider.

Also, the clutch disengages really early up during the pedal's travel. As soon as you press the clutch pedal down (about 1 or 1 1/2 inches) the gears are already disengaged.
It's a bit difficult to balance the clutch on extreme angles, esp. when off-roading. Sometimes if the Nav takes a bump while going over a large rut/rock, the clutch gets even harder to balance and a stall occurs (which is why I like to park so much on trails and esp. inclines :D :D )

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 12th, 2011, 6:45 am

cab mounts squeak....the squeaking isn't because they are damaged but when you underwash, the lithium grease is washed out and would need replacing

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » April 12th, 2011, 12:09 pm

common yd25 noise i have the older engine an my van use to make that same noise when its cold or the temperature suddenly changed example after engine wash, on mornings, in traffic with ac on an rain starts falling ......tried over and over to diagnose it...stopped using shell in the van and started using royal purple 10w40 and it never made the noise again even washed the engine yesterday an start up normal.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 12th, 2011, 4:46 pm

never did an underwash, but its flipping annoying, initially though was the cab mounts but im from the engine bay when outside and someone rocks the van

Postby Team Loco » April 12th, 2011, 6:13 pm

Try greasing or oiling the suspension first .eliminate the small possibilities first.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2011, 12:24 am

TrEnD$eTt@ wrote:common yd25 noise i have the older engine an my van use to make that same noise when its cold or the temperature suddenly changed example after engine wash, on mornings, in traffic with ac on an rain starts falling ......tried over and over to diagnose it...stopped using shell in the van and started using royal purple 10w40 and it never made the noise again even washed the engine yesterday an start up normal.

That's the exact same conditions under which the noise occurs - only when the ambient temperature is cooler, eg. at night time or early mornings. Doesn't happen during hot sun or daytime temperatures.

Doesn't happen all the time and I'm sure it's not the suspension cuz I don't hear it at all when I hit a bump.

I'll try an underwash and greasing of the suspension after the next DB run anyway, hopefully that'll help.

X_pl0d

Postby X_pl0d » April 13th, 2011, 11:17 am

check and make sure is not the turbo bec heard that all dem vans have a oil pump problem causing the turbo to run on low oil pressure and eventually breaking the shaft... heard bout 3 van for this week shaft broke

droppa

Postby droppa » April 13th, 2011, 1:39 pm

lighthammer wrote:
TrEnD$eTt@ wrote:common yd25 noise i have the older engine an my van use to make that same noise when its cold or the temperature suddenly changed example after engine wash, on mornings, in traffic with ac on an rain starts falling ......tried over and over to diagnose it...stopped using shell in the van and started using royal purple 10w40 and it never made the noise again even washed the engine yesterday an start up normal.

That's the exact same conditions under which the noise occurs - only when the ambient temperature is cooler, eg. at night time or early mornings. Doesn't happen during hot sun or daytime temperatures.

Doesn't happen all the time and I'm sure it's not the suspension cuz I don't hear it at all when I hit a bump.

I'll try an underwash and greasing of the suspension after the next DB run anyway, hopefully that'll help.

that does only for certain cases bro...... :wink:

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 13th, 2011, 3:55 pm

X_pl0d wrote:check and make sure is not the turbo bec heard that all dem vans have a oil pump problem causing the turbo to run on low oil pressure and eventually breaking the shaft... heard bout 3 van for this week shaft broke

Hard to believe there is such an exact and defined issue and Massy/Nissan on an International level has not done anything about it. Has there been feedback from them to the owners? 3 vans in one week? same issue??
That's grounds to get sued for selling a faulty product!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 14th, 2011, 7:50 pm

and buy a ranger! ^^ :D!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”