Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby *Phoenix* » March 26th, 2011, 12:10 pm

The Problem is the Size.. Does 3stage have 17s?
Thinking about importing... If i cant get a set locally...
But before i do that i wanna be sure of the best size to go with.. if not Stock...
So much Hilux on the market and A/Ts in 17s so limited.. Thats so much Bull!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 26th, 2011, 1:01 pm

das becuz everybody hilux have crims!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 26th, 2011, 2:11 pm

The only 17's u getting locally is the Dunlop, Pirelli and Goodyear fortera's, but they're all highway tyres.

Only place i know with 17-inch all terrains is deans wheels in diego martin.
Or u could try Andy's wheels in arouca.

badart

Postby badart » March 26th, 2011, 7:58 pm

u could also get kumho road venture SAT KL61 at Laughlin & de Gannes for $1400 per tyre. I was going to import also but most likely i would settle with the kumho

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 26th, 2011, 9:13 pm

And i guess they have the Kumho come in 265/65/17...
It really sucks living in a third world country yes..
Thank goodness we have some options.. .tho they may be costly...
i Know im not paying $1400.00 for a tire that im just settling for..
PLus those Kumho didnt do too well on the last run we had...

badart

Postby badart » March 26th, 2011, 10:08 pm

yep the kumho they hav is 265/65/17, nothing bigger, would have to review my options

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 26th, 2011, 10:26 pm

wha bout going down to 16's??

will have more options

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 26th, 2011, 11:20 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:PLus those Kumho didnt do too well on the last run we had...

freak got :pwned:

JD......

Postby JD...... » March 27th, 2011, 9:49 am

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2011, 12:57 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:The Problem is the Size.. Does 3stage have 17s?
Thinking about importing... If i cant get a set locally...
But before i do that i wanna be sure of the best size to go with.. if not Stock...
So much Hilux on the market and A/Ts in 17s so limited.. Thats so much Bull!

I have 16"s.. got my Destinations by Federal on Cipero St in San'do..

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 28th, 2011, 10:26 pm

If anyone see Firestone Destination AT's 265/70/17 anywhere please let m know...
Thanks...

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 29th, 2011, 12:06 am

whose running kumho A/T?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 29th, 2011, 8:23 am

^^^ Freaky is^^^

Postby 3stagevtec » April 3rd, 2011, 10:40 pm

http://www.intercotire.com/tires.php?id=44&g=4

It's perfect for a pickup!! Just 31" tall!! :mrgreen:

Slack

Postby Slack » April 4th, 2011, 11:58 am

What do you guys think of this?

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... n+T%2FA+KO

It really has some good ratings and miles reported.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 4th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Alot of guys like it.... I personally going to the top of tirerack's a/t list.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 4th, 2011, 7:02 pm

the BFG A/T tyre is one of the best if not the best A/T you can buy!!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 4th, 2011, 8:13 pm

i got this response from one of the michelin guys who was working at movietowne for the rally when i asked him about tyres

"well you see m/t's last longer than a/ts because the compound is much stronger"
so i proceeded to ask
"whats the points of all terrains in trinidad than?"

up to this day i still wait for a answer.....so guys based on that go and buy muds

Postby 3stagevtec » April 4th, 2011, 8:28 pm

Haunted wrote:i got this quote from one of the michelin guys who was working at movietowne for the rally when i asked him about tyres

"well you see m/t's last longer than a/ts because the compound is much stronger"
so i proceeded to ask
"whats the points of all terrains in trinidad than?"

up to this day i still wait for a answer.....so guys based on that go and buy muds

remember that AT's are the best compromise between an MT and a regular HT street tyre.

MT's for daily are not as good in the wet, heavier so they affect fuel economy and can be noisy depending on how they are built. (I know some MTs are pretty quite while some are very noisy).

ATs definitely have their place!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 4th, 2011, 10:55 pm

^^ exactly that guy was talkin up in he puefin!!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 5th, 2011, 5:27 am

That guy funny.... LOL

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 5th, 2011, 5:32 am

fellas help meh out here..but is for a 4x2....I want to go on that quarry run but d tyres I have....I eh tink so

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=365968&p=5233311#p5233311

oh and by the way

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=364700&p=5233321#p5233321

Postby 3stagevtec » April 7th, 2011, 10:41 am

rottedv wrote:fellas help meh out here..but is for a 4x2....I want to go on that quarry run but d tyres I have....I eh tink so

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=365968&p=5233311#p5233311

oh and by the way

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=364700&p=5233321#p5233321

The quarry run should be 4x2 friendly. plus there will be quite a few vehicles that can help you out if you get yourself in trouble..

venum

Postby venum » April 7th, 2011, 3:18 pm

sigh . . . didn't get the rims and tyres in the US when I was there.

saw some sweet trucks though

didn't see too many BFG's though

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 7th, 2011, 6:32 pm

hey guys, at present am tryna save up to get my truck som MTs so i was jus wonderin if anyone else plannin to buy new tyres within d nex couple months whereby we may be able to organize a group purchase.....if anyone knows where or when is d best time to purchase new tyres plz feel free to share

Slack

Postby Slack » April 7th, 2011, 7:56 pm

i looking to buy the BFG All Terrains from Quickservice. They said they getting stock next week.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 8th, 2011, 1:46 pm

I think the BFG's are just way too expensive.

But then again met a guy with a nav last week that paid 2200 for 20' Toyo Proxies.
Insanee!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 8th, 2011, 5:09 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:I think the BFG's are just way too expensive.

But then again met a guy with a nav last week that paid 2200 for 20' Toyo Proxies.
Insanee!

Where??

Postby equipped2ripp » April 9th, 2011, 1:16 am

Yeah I remembered paying $1800 for 17" Toyo Proxes about 2 years ago... those done now, so I ordered a set of Yokohama Geolandar H/T-S G051 online from Tire Rack, I should get them later this month.

4wd

Postby 4wd » April 9th, 2011, 6:57 am

To my fellow Navara Owners here is a 275/75/16 Kumho Venture MT on a stock Navara Rim and it clears without any lift kit.

I found them yesterday at MM in St.James.
IMG-20110408-00662.jpg
275/75/16
Last edited by 4wd on April 9th, 2011, 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”