zd30 white smoking

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
aviboy

zd30 white smoking

Postby aviboy » May 20th, 2010, 12:37 pm

Had a turbo failure... after replacing the turbo the van is white smoking constantly during idle and when revving..... the turbo was replaced about a month now but the smoking continues...

Please advise on possible issues.

biggy82

Re: zd30 white smoking

Postby biggy82 » May 20th, 2010, 5:07 pm

white smoke is condensation most likely. check diesel water content.

head gasket may also be an issue. do you have to top up the rad?

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » May 20th, 2010, 7:41 pm

white smoke??! diesel??! *instant headache*

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 20th, 2010, 9:24 pm

check yuh piston rings!

aviboy

Postby aviboy » May 21st, 2010, 8:20 am

radiator level constant and full

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 21st, 2010, 9:52 am

is your engine burning oil?

aviboy

Postby aviboy » May 21st, 2010, 10:02 pm

oil is dropping

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 22nd, 2010, 12:37 am

welll like i said b4.. check piston rings...

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 25th, 2010, 2:13 pm

aviboy wrote:Had a turbo failure... after replacing the turbo the van is white smoking constantly during idle and when revving..... the turbo was replaced about a month now but the smoking continues...

Please advise on possible issues.

hey did you re-adjust the Fuel pump to the new turbo?
is the new turbo the same thing that you took off? if this new turbo is pushing more air than the previous (not PSI but CFM) then you might just have to make the pump inject more fuel to burn. just a thought.

speedaholic wrote:welll like i said b4.. check piston rings...

how do you go about checking the piston rings? by doing a compression test or something?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 25th, 2010, 2:37 pm

more or less.. if the rings are worn out.. and oil gets into the cumbustion chamber.. white smoking occurss.. check out the sticky topic on diy maintainance and trobleshooting in the forum...

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 25th, 2010, 3:27 pm

speedaholic wrote:more or less.. if the rings are worn out.. and oil gets into the cumbustion chamber.. white smoking occurss..

where did you get this info from? cause i know white smoke is a sign of not enough fuel
when burning oil it tends to be BLUE smoke

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 26th, 2010, 10:40 am

often it is hard to distinguish white smoke from blue smoke.. since they are almost similar... but yea i kno the burning of oil is blue smoking... but its worth a try to check out.. white smokin occurs when there is a faulty injector spray pattern or defective glow plugs. shud check fuel pump calibration...

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 26th, 2010, 11:25 am

speedaholic wrote:white smokin occurs when there is a faulty injector spray pattern or defective glow plugs

defective glow plugs??

that is only for starting up, if the engine is cold then the glow plugs would heat the cylinder glow plugs are not for running. the air is compressed and because of the heat in the compression it becomes volatile and at the highest point of the piston travel (most compression) the diesel is injected.

speedaholic, i hope you doh think i picking on you.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 26th, 2010, 11:38 am

haha nah man! dsi! but i just quotin what i seein from the thread! so yea... check it out viewtopic.php?f=41&t=238098

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » May 28th, 2010, 6:40 pm

Check the oil lines to the turbo, see if its leaking.

Did you replace with a new unit or a used one? - you might have a bad seal in the turbo leaking oil to the exhaust side of the turbo.

What was the reason for changing the original turbo?

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » May 28th, 2010, 7:27 pm

you did check that the new turbo is good too right? white smoke (especially weird puffs) indicate a fuelling issue whether it be injectors, clogged pump strainer/filter or some other fuel line obstruction. i once had a disintegrated fuel supply line that clogged the fuel filter and strainer...................it was a real learning experience

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 29th, 2010, 1:47 am

^^^ tell us more about this...

aviboy

Postby aviboy » May 30th, 2010, 12:40 pm

problems over.... changed seals on turbo and everything good now

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » June 1st, 2010, 9:57 pm

^^ nice

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » June 2nd, 2010, 2:27 pm

How much did it cost to replace the turbo & seals?

I've also got the same vehicle!

aviboy

Postby aviboy » June 3rd, 2010, 6:50 pm

$800 it cost

Postby Damien » June 5th, 2010, 5:55 pm

^ who did the work fro you and where you got the parts?

aviboy

Postby aviboy » June 6th, 2010, 8:34 pm

sookhai's diesel.... but idk if they would do it for any1 as they did it for us because of a link up...

Postby Damien » June 6th, 2010, 10:48 pm

thanks, got the parts there as well?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”