Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Postby venum » August 13th, 2009, 12:23 am

great

I had checked south

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 13th, 2009, 2:06 pm

bt50 wrote:just came from mileage mack pos and they have toyo open country at in 16. price just under 1100.

A guy was installing 4 255's on his ranger

A/T or M/T?

bt50

Postby bt50 » August 14th, 2009, 6:38 am

A/T

venum

Postby venum » August 18th, 2009, 11:39 am

So I cannot seem to get teh Dunlop AT2 or AT3

Tyre Clinic is the Dunlop Distributor and they do not have any in 16" in stock

. . . sigh

they have in 15" though and Dunlop PT1 (which is a HT tyre) in 16"

Getting Bridgestone Dueller A/T for $850.00 each - what allyuh think

I have three options:

1. buy cheapo tyres again (Hercules Terra Trac, Ironman Electra, Sumitomo Serengetti)

2. spend teh extra and get teh good BFG's\Toyo\Michelin - not that I cheap, but I have other expenses that I much rather divert $$$ to

3. buy some 15" rims and tyres (cuz mid-range and good\great 15" tyres sooooo much easier to find)

HELP :!: :!: :!:

Biggy yuh in the same boat as me - wait no, you getting teh BFG's right :?:

bt50

Postby bt50 » August 18th, 2009, 2:39 pm

Where are you getting Duelers A/T to buy?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 18th, 2009, 3:46 pm

What about TSL Super Swampers ? - Anyone in TnT has these ? -

venum

Postby venum » August 18th, 2009, 6:52 pm

bt50 wrote:Where are you getting Duelers A/T to buy?

Gasparillo - D.N. Maharaj Tyre shop, by Norman Junction

When coming from highway side, turn in by KFC and drive straight down, just after KHANICO on the left side

He had in 265/70/16

same place FireFighter got the Firestone Destination A/T

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 19th, 2009, 5:34 am

venum wrote:Biggy yuh in the same boat as me - wait no, you getting teh BFG's right :?:

thinking about it now, i may go el cheapo for now as i will only use the stock wheels for off-roading which is gonna be like what, 4-5 times for the year? the rest of the time, the Beast will be on her normal 22s

so yeah....what do u guys think?

venum

Postby venum » August 19th, 2009, 5:43 pm

I was in POS today,

stopped in by Mileage Mack

they have the Toyo Open Country in 265\70\16 just as bt50 said

they costing ~ $4300.00 installed (without allignment)

if I didn't have to get back to teh office I would have had them installed one time

what do you guys think - get them @ this price

or spend teh extra ~$1000.00 for teh BFG

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 20th, 2009, 1:10 am

the BFGs will last longer IMO....for you, i'd say the BFGs. for me, i would go with the Toyo :mrgreen:

Postby equipped2ripp » August 20th, 2009, 2:54 am

venum wrote:I was in POS today,

stopped in by Mileage Mack

they have the Toyo Open Country in 265\70\16 just as bt50 said

they costing ~ $4300.00 installed (without allignment)

if I didn't have to get back to teh office I would have had them installed one time

what do you guys think - get them @ this price

or spend teh extra ~$1000.00 for teh BFG

If you wanted to get the Toyo, you could just go in the San Fernando branch and tell them you saw it at the St. James branch and you want them to bring it down to South for you.

The Open Country's are good, I have them on my ride and they're the 2nd set I'm using.

When I'm gonna change them, I gonna get the Kumho Ecsta STX... I had those on the Frontier and they were the best tires I had.

venum

Postby venum » August 20th, 2009, 8:35 am

equipped2ripp wrote:If you wanted to get the Toyo, you could just go in the San Fernando branch and tell them you saw it at the St. James branch and you want them to bring it down to South for you.

boy E2R, I find them fellas in south does move too damn stupid, when I ask them bout the tyres, they does answer like I flippin begging them for a favour

if it is their business practice to check the north branch to see if they have stock - they should do that, once they confirm teh stock there, they should then offer to bring it for me as you say

I shouldn't have to ask them to do that

but they ent do none of that - just tell me a plain NO

when I ask if they know when they getting (this is their cue to call north branch) they tell me they can't say

then when I ask what other A/T in 16" they have, they reply with a plain "nuttin"

that IMHO is just a plain "FCUK YOU" to my face

when I went to teh north branch yesterday an incredibly busy rasta fella (Joel) whose phone was ringing call after call after call, listened to what I had to ask about, told me wasn't sure about the stock, but told me to hold on a few minutes while he checked. after about 3 min, he found out that the Stores man wasn't there, so he went and got the key for teh store room and took me upstairs to the stock area.

checked that he had the Toyo Open Country in 265/70/16 and then showed me the tyre

then offered me a seat while he worked out teh price

that is EXCELLENT customer service

I buying tyres, I ent expect a red carpet to be rolled out for me,

but the attitude of the ppl in south MM is just ridiculous. to teh extent that they ent bother to do their job and follow their usual business practices - I will drive up north if needed

there ends my rant

:D

equipped2ripp wrote:The Open Country's are good, I have them on my ride and they're the 2nd set I'm using.

When I'm gonna change them, I gonna get the Kumho Ecsta STX... I had those on the Frontier and they were the best tires I had.

thanx for teh feedback on the Open Country

saw the STX, they looked nice, but more S/T or H/T than A/T

Postby equipped2ripp » August 20th, 2009, 8:43 am

when you go to the South branch, ask for Naresh or Anil...

white_lion

Postby white_lion » August 20th, 2009, 2:38 pm

booge wrote:What about TSL Super Swampers ? - Anyone in TnT has these ? -

Don't know who sells them, but a friend of mine has them in 35" on a old model Land Cruiser, they're excellent off road but won't survive long with highway driving.

ZD30DDT

Postby ZD30DDT » August 20th, 2009, 9:38 pm

Venum boy -put out the extra money and get the BF Goodrich A/T T/A KO if you could get it.

You'll get ur money's worth in longevity...

What brand of rubbers do you use currently, and how long did they last...?

venum

Postby venum » August 21st, 2009, 6:36 pm

ZD30DDT wrote:What brand of rubbers do you use currently, and how long did they last...?

we talking bout tyres right :?:

currently running on some cheap rubbers - Roadstone Roadian H/T

they one bout 1 1/2 years now

getting down to their last 1/4 life

venum

Postby venum » August 23rd, 2009, 9:53 pm

Alas :!:

my hunt is OVER :!:

Went Mileage Mack in POS yesterday and got the TOYO Open Country A/T

got them for $4200.00 fitted and inflated with Nitrogen

so far they wukking SWEET :!:

traction excellent in the wet

been trying to get Elle's backside to breakout round corners all evening yesterday and this evening as it usually does with teh old Roadstone - it not moving :!:

I cud throttle thru wet corners now - a feeling quite unfamiliar

simply reversing on some gravel in front my house is a breeze - the Roadstones used to just spinn

gotta hand it to teh folks at Mileage Mack, they really know their customer service

ah ready for teh next run :!:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 23rd, 2009, 10:20 pm

^^^TOYO Open Country A/T, great tyres, but noisy as hell after about six months.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » August 23rd, 2009, 11:37 pm

venum,the price of the BF real increase..last yr november i paid about 4400 for the set

the TOYO is an excellent tyre as well

had those TOYOs before but they werent noisy at all

venum

Postby venum » August 30th, 2009, 3:28 pm

Quick Service suppose to be having a sale now

25% off four tyres

BFG included

should work out to be ~ 4500.00 without fitting

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 30th, 2009, 3:58 pm

white_lion wrote:
booge wrote:What about TSL Super Swampers ? - Anyone in TnT has these ? -

Don't know who sells them, but a friend of mine has them in 35" on a old model Land Cruiser, they're excellent off road but won't survive long with highway driving.

Not to hi-jack the thread, but I fell I going to pick up one of these FJ-40's to project and do some off roading ... Damn that sweet!

How's you boy do for parts locally? What will one of these in good condition set me back these days? 40K?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 14th, 2009, 9:36 am

Is that Barry van ?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 1st, 2009, 11:51 pm

I am looking for a set of 265/60/18
For a surf, can you all offer some advise where to go and what brand to buy i donot off road.I am looking for comfort.
Thanks

venum

Postby venum » December 2nd, 2009, 12:20 pm

SNIPER 3000,
save yourself the hassle an do not go to regular tyreshops

for 60 profile in 18" go to the larger tyre shops that have the better brands like Mileage Mack

in my experience of tyre hunting the smaller tyre shops have tyres for 18" and 20" etc but in KRAP like nexxen and roadstone

a waste of time

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 2nd, 2009, 7:12 pm

venum,

What is a good brand?

if i buy the set by mileage mack do they offer free alignment?

venum

Postby venum » December 2nd, 2009, 8:26 pm

good = Michelin, Kumho, Hankook, BF Goodrich, Falken, Toyo,

mediocre = Dunlop, Sumitomo, firestone, bridgestone

krap - nexxen, roadstone

doubt MM gives free allignment

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 3rd, 2009, 9:04 pm

Thanks i will go with the Kumho, i had that on another vehicle and it was a soft smooth ride.

trincivic

Postby trincivic » January 27th, 2010, 11:00 am

Where can I get the Michelins LTX A/T 265/70/15

Postby wagon r » January 27th, 2010, 11:28 am

^ Quick Service....but they cost a premuim.

...i myself want to switch to BFGs in december....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 27th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Anyone got a recent quote on the BFG's :?:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”