WTK- Hilux Brake pad replacement

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Stuckindmud

WTK- Hilux Brake pad replacement

Postby Stuckindmud » September 21st, 2007, 3:04 pm

Guys ,

Aside from the OEM pads ,
what are the other reputable brake pads out there for the toyota hilux ...
In particular (but not limited to) the LN 16x (non vigo type) in particular.

All suggestion welcome

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 22nd, 2007, 4:19 pm

Are you pads worn already.....?

I'd give mintex a try...(Trinidad Brake and Clutch Limited in Barataria)

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 25th, 2007, 10:40 am

yeah i think so ,the sensors stared makin some noise onmy way home last friday .
i spoke to Jerry - he went through his first set under 22000 kms !!

have youever heard abt OKAMOTO ? is Japanese- supposed to be good.

Is Mintex the one that comes in red or green ?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 25th, 2007, 12:31 pm

22 000km... something wrong there.

The Mintex is an English brand (OEM for some) and looks like normal pads..

Japanese parts are suppose to be good.

With my 4x2, I went from 80 000km to 180 000km and the pads still had plenty of life to go.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » September 25th, 2007, 2:50 pm

yeah , i scratch my head when he tell em that too , but then again , it was replaced at a toyota service interval , i think after that he didnt go back .. hmm

i got a quote from TTTL - $1000 plus for new pads !!!!!!

what kind did you have on the 4x2?

i really dont wanna sacrifice any stopping power on account of brake pads.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 25th, 2007, 10:58 pm

Well a couple other hilux 4x4 owners I know swapped out theirs at approximately 60 000km. I'll see how much I get.

I had the originals on the 4x2.

Your call buddy...originals or genuine japanese or english pads.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 1st, 2007, 10:22 am

Yo sweeks,

60000 kms seems to be the mark

i ended up going witht the Mintex , cuz the Okamoto was out of stock.

i feel any difference, cept for a bit of brake rub (when on an incline , and just raising my foot off the pedal )

that seems normal, cuz i got that a couple times with the originals,

i think i`ll try the Oka`s next time for sure.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 1st, 2007, 4:56 pm

Let's see how long the Mintex lasts then.

P.S. Check your email.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 1st, 2007, 8:26 pm

which brake setup u have? d 4 pot setup or single caliper? 4x2 is single caliper an 4x4 is 4 pot. yes we no dat d tttl is expensive but trudt me it is worth it. i work in tttl an wit gud drivin u get gud mileage on ur disc pads. oem dat is but if u want 2 go outside try wagner heard its gud.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 2nd, 2007, 5:27 am

Turbohead.... I always wonder who makes Toyota's OEM parts.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » October 2nd, 2007, 7:28 am

Bosch Brake pads are really good (on normal sized vehicles).... I'm not sure about how they are for the pickups

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 2nd, 2007, 1:28 pm

The availability of the Bosch might be the problem...where sells them

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » October 2nd, 2007, 1:42 pm

Automotive Supplies on Charles Street, POS.

But like I said, i never really checked for the pads for the hilux yet...

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 2nd, 2007, 2:10 pm

Sweeks - The OEM toyota pads are Sumitomo. but their other components are made by different ppl - like denso, Bosch etc

Turbohead - its the 4 pot on the 4x4

i heard the wagners are good too , but i couldnt find any for the hilux.. :(
same for the bosch

the most popular brands were OHK ; Daishin and Silver

the OHK were chinese or taiwanese i think

The Daishins had a higher percentage of metal - so it tended to wear the rotors more (and i think it has a higher optimum temp (cuz of the metal) so short distance runs and low speed stops werent as effective.

the Okamotos are on par with the OEM`s - with a 50 50 metal content so is a good allround pad

the Mintex were the same spec as the okamotos, but they were easier to get

^^ thaz what the various sales ppl tel me , with some of my own assumptions

Anyways the choice was already made , with no regret

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 2nd, 2007, 5:54 pm

i will check for d wagner for u. an if ne of u want k&n filters 2 fit in d hiluxes pm me i have a link. oringinal drop in filter eh no modifications needed.600.00

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 3rd, 2007, 5:44 am

Stuckinmud... Thanks for the detailed info. I doubt it's always been Sumitomo... (subaru's OEM brakes pad are Sumitomo as well). I'm not impress with Sumitomo's .... 60 000km ain't that much esp when you paying $1000+.

Keep a pattern of the old pads for me.

How did the rotors look when you took off the wheel?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 3rd, 2007, 2:20 pm

Keep a pattern of the old pads for me.

No probs - the best part abt the toyota change is that the entire caliper doesnt come off for the change.. easy in , easy out. No big tools required either :)

After the change , i can safely say the pads had a good couple mnts left in them , Its all in the sensor positions. Better safe than sorry

The rotors were fine. no sign of wear. t

60 000km ain't that much esp when you paying $1000+. <- i agree. Not when the average price of aftemarket pads are 110 - 210.

The concerns i have with them is excessive rotor wear and brake fade.
But these pads have been used on all cars trucks etc , so i monitoring and hopin i doh have any probs

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 3rd, 2007, 4:18 pm

Mintex are suppose to be of OEM standards. The older Mintex were known for the dust but they should have corrected that by now.

Thanks for the advice on the sensor positioning.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 23rd, 2007, 2:50 pm

How the hell you guys getting 60,000k on your pads? I'm doing a little over 23000 and needed to change mine. A/t/ btw.

I paid 1k by achievors for the pads.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 24th, 2007, 2:32 pm

wow!!
the toyota maintenance schedule is 60 000 ,
and believe it at 62000Kms , the sensors on mine start makin noise..

The mintex hasn`t corrected the dusting problem .. :(
but small price to pay .. yesterday i had to stop hard at a traffic light , and those reall wok !! better than the originals for sure ..

i stop hard without the ABS kickin in - if not for the dust , in comparisoon to the originals , i`d go back with the mintex

Any reviews on the Wagners?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 27th, 2007, 6:06 am

nigel1977 wrote:How the hell you guys getting 60,000k on your pads? I'm doing a little over 23000 and needed to change mine. A/t/ btw.

I paid 1k by achievors for the pads.

Is this a local or RORO hilux?

What brand was the original pads?

I'm not sure if I mentioned this before, but with my older TBB lux, I did over 100 000km on the same pads and shoes.

Rush

Postby Rush » March 27th, 2009, 11:51 pm

bump,

anyone review thw wagner/OHK?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 28th, 2009, 10:06 pm

BTW the older Toyota uses the sumitomo brand brakes pad and the newer ones uses the advics brand ....

drift_master

Postby drift_master » October 27th, 2009, 10:26 pm

I would like to know where i can get original disk pads other than toyota company

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 28th, 2009, 9:06 am

drift_master wrote:I would like to know where i can get original disk pads other than toyota company

Check sweeks on the Forum

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 28th, 2009, 11:49 am

i havent changed mines as yet - bt50 4X4 doing 57000kms...but the hardest is that the OEM costing $2300 at southern sales... :shock:
I know i have to start looking for replacements ... dont know what aftermarket brand to use...i heard alot of owners with b2500 using silvers...anyone knows bout those??

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 28th, 2009, 3:17 pm

Quiet honestly, unless you are racing with your truck, any decently priced set of brake pads should do.

Are you guys racing with your trucks?

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 29th, 2009, 6:21 am

I dont race but on highway everyday, south to north run, avg speed 110-140 km so i need to get something that dont fade

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 29th, 2009, 9:05 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
drift_master wrote:I would like to know where i can get original disk pads other than toyota company

Check sweeks on the Forum

Last set went on Monday ... may not get stock until the end of December/early January.

drift_master

Postby drift_master » October 29th, 2009, 9:10 pm

ok man, thanks

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”