Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » October 8th, 2009, 8:03 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/EexS-VwDHFc&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x234900&color2=0x4e9e00&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="445" height="364"></embed>
dis is veri good mr go slow I'm not bias

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 12th, 2009, 3:13 pm

A couple places the Ranger has taken me, this is in Matura:

Below is the "trail" the van came through! :lol: :lol: :lol:

The rest of pics are of my wife and my partner in crime from atop some 7 storey platform in the middle of the forest ... Good times!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 12th, 2009, 3:27 pm

Nice!

Directions?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 12th, 2009, 3:36 pm

Cooper wrote:Nice!

Directions?

Well we were trying to get to Mermaid pools in Matura as described here:

http://www.trinoutdoors.com/pages/other%20hikes.htm

But think we went left when we should have gone right and we never actually stopped where the directions said there was a parking area, hell we in a Ranger right!!?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

So we never found the pools, but drove some nice trails and found that tower with the amazing view ...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 13th, 2009, 7:24 am

Cool, thanks for the link. I do a bit of hiking myself, I'll check with my guides to see if they've ever been up there and make a pass when I have a free weekend. The view from that tower looks great :!:

BTW, just did some googling and found the following directions:

http://www.infohub.com/vacation_packages/23068.html
Distance: 1 mile
Time: 40 minutes.
Type of Journey: Return trip.
Degree of Difficulty: 2(easy).

On the Toco Main Road, when we reach the village of Matura, as we approach the Health Center, look for Thomas Trace on the left. Turn inside this road and drive through gravel road for 500 meters until you see a board house on the right. Park right under the mango tree. Easy walking from the vehicle until you come to a pine forest that is no longer maintained. As we proceed further up the bench road, you will have to know just when to make the right turn to pass through the pine forest. Although the pine trees are no longer maintained, these trees are survivors and they are still relatively in good condition. As we get closer to the river, the pine forest comes to an end and we will now be under the natural forest where the canopy of the trees will give you a well deserved shade.

As we get closer to the river, we can hear the distinct sounds of the small rapids and the slight change in temperature indicating to us that Mermaid is here. Emerald green waters are present. When we reach the river, we will trek a bit in the shallow water upstream for about 15 minutes until we reach a great pool that is ideal for swimming and relaxing.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 13th, 2009, 8:25 am

who say a nice candidate for a diesel run!?! :mrgreen:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 13th, 2009, 9:34 am

Not sure if the other guys might go for it. It's a short drive off Toco Main Road in Matura, but it could be suggested as a stop if we have another Diesel run to the Lighthouse in Toco (Galera Point.)

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » October 13th, 2009, 5:00 pm

wow i'm suprised trinidad looks sooo beautiful amazing :) good work wit d ranger 2 there ehind god back

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 25th, 2009, 10:49 pm

I recently bought one, but tell me, you doh fine de ride lil bouncy? Or is that normal...? i fine it feels a bit unstable at highway speeds...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 26th, 2009, 7:32 am

^^^ Check your Tire Pressure. If you're coming from a driving a car, you have to remember that the pickup has a very different suspension (torsion bars in the front and leaf springs in the rear) so the ride will be different, but overall it is one of the better riding vans in its class.

Slack

Postby Slack » October 26th, 2009, 1:25 pm

I have my Ranger a little over a month now 2.5TD 4x4 and man... this is the best. When I drove it out of the firm the suspension was a bit stiff but after a few days of taking it through its paces that all rectified itself. The mileage is great... The most I ever paid to fill was 85 dollars. The torque is great and is there when you need it.... the over all experience is fantastic. I already hitting 3500KM... due for service at 5000k. Will post the outcomes of the service

akaneckto

Postby akaneckto » October 26th, 2009, 3:34 pm

nice

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 26th, 2009, 3:49 pm

Ah still new 2d 4x4 thing, so i guess its jus a bit unusual 2me. wen i test drove it, the suspension felt gr8! Is only wen ah hit de highway i realised, iz that i can no longer run from grand bazzar to tech in 15 minutes na... Once i cross 110kph, given the intermittent undulations on de highway, i feel like i am not in full control anymore. I doh know how dem hilux and l200 men duz fly past me goin 160 and change na... lol

Slack

Postby Slack » October 26th, 2009, 4:15 pm

My ranger hits the highway every Sat & Sun (North - South) and i never had that problem.... I got her up to 170Kmph and she we begging for more but then more often than none, slow cars on the road.... But yeah the ride is really really good.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 26th, 2009, 4:29 pm

Fellas please keep in mind that 4x4's have a higher center of gravity than a car, so performing an evasive maneuver at a high speed can be quite dangerous. Try to keep it at a manageable speed and you'll be refueling a lot less often.....your pocket will thank you and you'll be a lot safer.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 19th, 2009, 8:23 am

OK just to update, over 10000K on the clock now ... Nothing has gone wrong, no shakes, no rattles, no bad diesel experiences, nothing ... I just put fuel and drive it like I stole it.

I did manage to crack my left rear light reversing :? but 4x4 Trinidad will fix me up soon ...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 19th, 2009, 10:13 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote: ... I just put fuel and drive it like I stole it.

^^^ you is ah crazy man :lol:

I went in for my 5000Km service two weeks ago. They did an oil change, installed original Ford Oil and Air filters and ran some checks on the lights, tires, suspension and greased the joints. The van is running great now and I must mention that their customer service is great, they even called me a couple days later to ask about the performance of the van and to ensure that I was happy with the service.

Only one concern...The van came with an original FoMoCo white 'fiber type' filter when I purchased it (FoMoCo - Ford Motor Company.) But after the 5000 service they installed a yellow paper filter (still original FoMoCo Filter) and I've noticed that I have to put my foot down a bit further when launching and passing.

I'm sure it's the different type filter starving engine. Gonna pass through Teknet to get a K&N :twisted:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » November 19th, 2009, 11:29 am

You won't regret the K&N, even on my high mileage (180,000km) Ranger, It made a HUGE Difference! :mrgreen:

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » November 19th, 2009, 5:19 pm

Mine jud did 8000km, work SUPREME!!! Was a bit bouncy @ first, as I commented earlier in this thread, but after the first 3000km or so, the suspension settled down, and now it just EATS THE ROAD ALIVE!!! :twisted:

.... The 5000km service wasnt bad... wasnt the best tho... Dumba$$ service agent told me that I can fit 265x70x16's instead of the 245 duellers they come wit.... Good ting I went by quick service, where they explained to me that 255 is the widest i can go... 265's rub the fenders slightly...

Aside from that, the service was everything a good customer can expect... quick, efficient, and over-priced. :? ... Buh whah yuh go do...? Wen I hit de road and sink it.... Feelin the smooth ride, even smoother acceleration while the turbo intercooler sings softly into your ear.... Its all worth EVERY PENNY!!! :twisted:

Slack

Postby Slack » November 20th, 2009, 10:47 am

Well my first service kinda sucks.... they can't seem to align my van properly. This is the 3rd day it is at the firm trying to fix the problem. They printed a report for me saying the van is aligned but it still pulls to the left and now the steering wheel is not center either. I am kinda dissapointed that they cannot fix a somewhat simple issue as an alignment. I had the alignment issue since i got the van and they said it will be looked at on my first 5000k service.
You are right Cooper about the filter. I get the same feel. How much does the filter cost??? I will definately get one.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 20th, 2009, 12:39 pm

323_guy & Slack, which branch(s) did you guys visit for service :?:

The K&N at Teknet was last quoted at $380.

Slack

Postby Slack » November 20th, 2009, 12:50 pm

I visited the POS Branch. Where are they located?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 20th, 2009, 2:55 pm

Teknet Company Ltd
8 French Street
Woodbrook, POS
625-TNET (8638)
teknet@trinidad.net

It's actually closer to the bottom of French street (near the corner of French & Mc Donald)

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » November 23rd, 2009, 11:11 pm

Ok guys, i was tryin my best not to hav to ask dis dotish question, but i wall anyway... How EXACTLY do I go about using the 4x4 (4L) while in motion (manual xlt model)??

De manual is a bit CORNfusing, wit de whole RFW lock on and off conditions... and even tho I THINK its very simple, I fraid to go try ah ting and mashup Mc Eneny an' dem gear box lol!!!!

So please, I know at least ONE of you have done this before! lol,,,

Help please...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 24th, 2009, 8:03 am

Okay, on the manual shifter you need to come to a complete stop then you move the gear to 4H, the light will come on on your dashboard and after rolling forward a few inches you will hear a click (this is the front Diff engaging) and the letters RFW will appear just under the light on the dash.

The RFW switch is used to disengage the front diff so you can drive and switch it on and off on the fly. But DO NOT exceed 100 kmph. Just look at the caution label on the driver's side sun shield.

and check the post below...

bleedingfreak wrote:Remote Free Wheel

it unlocks the front wheels electronically.

If your going to use the 4WD again, you can leave it locked.

With the Mazda you have t6o stop to engage the 4WD initially, but once the RFW light is on, you can take out and put in 4WD on the fly... or drive... but at low speeds, no need to come to a complete stop.

Changing to 4L... you must stop completely

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » November 24th, 2009, 5:45 pm

Ok so lemme get this str8...

Scenario 1:
"I'm stuck in mud, I stop completely (like i have a choice) and engage 4h, rfw AUTOMATICALLY comes on, I climb out, And live happily evr after..."
Correct?

Scenario 2:
"Im drivin down the highway, and heavy rain is pouring, so much so, that i feel myself at risk of losing traction/hydroplaning. I slowdown to under 100 KM/H, press "RFW", and then slip in 4L? And THEN live happily ever after? Or will what i jus described in scenario2 lead to a scenario 3...?
(all fun aside, is scenario 2 correct?)

Whereby, scenario 3:
"I try dat sh!t in scenario 2 and see a warning light on the dash I never quite noticed before, sayin "Dude, u done F!@#ked up ur tranny man! lol?" Jus wonderin... :|

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 24th, 2009, 7:53 pm

You should only use the 4WD in situations where you are driving on loose or very slippery surfaces (sand, mud etc...) or in situations where you need extra torque to all four wheels (climbing or descending steep hills....or pulling out a Toyota that got stuck on the beach) Don't confuse the system with All Wheel Drive as in a Subaru, if you driving in heavy rain SLOW DOWN, don't exceed 100km/h. this is a 4x4 pickup-truck which can handle general (and for some us, extreme) off-road conditions.

2H - general driving, you can hit any kinda speed.

4H - don't go over 100km/h in the conditions described above.

4L don't exceed 40km/h....or else "Dude, u done F!@#ked up ur tranny man!" :lol:

I can understand that the owner's manual can be a bit confusing so check these links for the basics. Don't go and experiment without prior knowledge...a drivetrain can cost a lot of money:
http://www.4x4abc.com/4WD101/4WD-AWD-autoAWD.html
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/four-wheel-drive.htm

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » November 24th, 2009, 10:48 pm

Good info, thanks man

neckto

Postby neckto » November 25th, 2009, 4:11 pm

this was explaind to me on my test drive

the ranger does not have "on the fly 4X4"

so you have to come to a complete stop to engage the 4H

so in senario 2 you can use it on the slipprry road condition at speed below 100Hmph but you have to pull on the shoulder first stop, engage it then proceed

the 4L well same engagement proceedure but u all have the driving situations covered already

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 25th, 2009, 5:29 pm

Unless I read my manual incorrectly, the Auto models do in fact have "on the fly 4x4" engagement.

As stated, free to switch in and out of 4Hi up to 100Kph, you have to come to a stop and put the vehicle in neutral to engage 4lo ...

If you are driving along at 100K and engage 4lo accidentally (pitbulls never sit still) it flash menacingly on the dash, but thankfully not engage ...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”