toyota 2.7

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
topshotta20

toyota 2.7

Postby topshotta20 » September 3rd, 2009, 12:04 pm

I getting a toyota 2.7 to buy for 160 000 TBZ
20" Chrome, carryboy, chrome accessories. hood rack
I running from Rio Claro to Tunapuna (Monday - Friday)
does this make sense to buy
I need some advice

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 3rd, 2009, 12:24 pm

These don't have much resale value.

What's the mileage?

Are you prepared to put premium gas in this?

I'd go diesel.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 3rd, 2009, 12:36 pm

go diesel.. don't waste your time with a gas pickup

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 3rd, 2009, 12:53 pm

^^^ X 1000,0000,000,0000

Cooper

Re: toyota 2.7

Postby Cooper » September 3rd, 2009, 1:37 pm

topshotta20 wrote:I getting a toyota 2.7 to buy for 160 000 TBZ
I need some advice

Hell No! Fella that is real mileage you will be covering everyday. That 2.7 is a gas engine and is $4 a liter for premium gas as opposed to $1.50 a liter for Diesel.... get a diesel :!:

Postby Team Loco » September 3rd, 2009, 3:23 pm

lol, buy diesel breds....

venum

Postby venum » September 3rd, 2009, 5:28 pm

unless you lkiving and wukking to keep NP making a profit, then buy diesel

R Boodoosingh

Postby R Boodoosingh » September 3rd, 2009, 11:18 pm

I need some advice

I have a Toyota Hilux 2.7 and I dont put premium gas. When i got my van the diesel was about $40k more than the 2.7 gas, think about this when am I goin to burn $40.000 in gas so the diesel guys pay 40k to 50k more at that time and still have to put diesel and I still put a cutass on my friend Navara and then my brother beat me with his Actyong :) anyway its how you drive the van if you drive like people its good on gas otherwise its not.

R Boodoosingh

Postby R Boodoosingh » September 3rd, 2009, 11:33 pm

I dont use my gas hilux every day, in your case your not goin to save anything because its a used gas hilux if your foot heavy and as you said Monday- friday running i dont think it will addup 8-)

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » September 3rd, 2009, 11:39 pm

thats great, but the resale suxxx!!! Especially wit the mileage u gonna be doin. U may save a 40k in the short term but consider this, assumin PERFECT conditions, ie. 1. Its a brand new van (which its not) and 2. de mileage on de van rite now is 0, and u keepit for, lewwe say 5yrs, runnin Rio-Sando 5days a week, ur mileage may reach somwhere around 140k.

Tell me this, will you buy a five yaer old van pushin 140 clicks, for anything less than say, 80k? If u lucky? Wen u can get a diesel van doin de same mileage and age for a competitively close price?

Gas may acually work out cheaper in some cases, agreed, but in de long term, unless u plan on keepin that van until probably 2075, u will end up wit a dead horse on ur hands wen its time to sell....

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » September 4th, 2009, 12:17 am

Ok Guys thanks for the info will stick to brand new diesel

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 4th, 2009, 9:04 am

Another consideration for you to think about is that diesel repairs are very expensive ... so if you're going to buy a used new model diesel you want to sure that it was well maintained. Some of the newer diesel engines have turned out to be problematic esp with our low grade of diesel.

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » September 4th, 2009, 3:28 pm

I think ur referring to the new Common Rail Direct Injection fuel management systems, commonly found on the Sportero, and other High profile vans, that tends to trip off a sensor every-so-often wen you get a batch of low-quality diesel. It costs a bit to have ur sensors reset wen that happens.

Hence the invention and Fanatical Appeal of the Highly Acclaimed Mazda Bt-50, Equipped with a Powerful 2.5L, 12 valve Common Rail Turbo Diesel Engine, (Ah soundin like ah sales man eh? lol) with NO on board ECU, to trip off wen yuh get bad diesel, or wen yuh pass tru flood an' ting. lol...

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 4th, 2009, 4:01 pm

323_guy wrote:I think ur referring to the new Common Rail Direct Injection fuel management systems, commonly found on the Sportero, and other High profile vans, that tends to trip off a sensor every-so-often wen you get a batch of low-quality diesel. It costs a bit to have ur sensors reset wen that happens.

Hence the invention and Fanatical Appeal of the Highly Acclaimed Mazda Bt-50, Equipped with a Powerful 2.5L, 12 valve Common Rail Turbo Diesel Engine, (Ah soundin like ah sales man eh? lol) with NO on board ECU, to trip off wen yuh get bad diesel, or wen yuh pass tru flood an' ting. lol...

Same engine available in the manual Ranger ... And never had an issue with the local diesel and my 3.0 common Rail direct injection engine either .... The Duratoq engines in the Rangers are quite resilient to our sheight diesel

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 5th, 2009, 5:57 am

I'm wondering if the local dealerships would 'de-tune' the engines to make them more resilient.

I'm not sure how true this is but I've heard that Diamond Motors actually re-programs the ecu.

Don't hold me to that.

BTW doesn't the BT-50 comes with the WL series engine from the previous B2500 models? Is this something new?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 5th, 2009, 8:28 am

sweeks wrote:I'm wondering if the local dealerships would 'de-tune' the engines to make them more resilient.

I'm not sure how true this is but I've heard that Diamond Motors actually re-programs the ecu.

Don't hold me to that.

BTW doesn't the BT-50 comes with the WL series engine from the previous B2500 models? Is this something new?

Yes same WL series engine, nothing new there .... just a proven workhorse

Easy enough to determine the engine tune, just dyno it and compare with posted results elsewhere ...

Postby equipped2ripp » September 5th, 2009, 10:21 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
323_guy wrote:I think ur referring to the new Common Rail Direct Injection fuel management systems, commonly found on the Sportero, and other High profile vans, that tends to trip off a sensor every-so-often wen you get a batch of low-quality diesel. It costs a bit to have ur sensors reset wen that happens.

Same engine available in the manual Ranger ... And never had an issue with the local diesel and my 3.0 common Rail direct injection engine either .... The Duratoq engines in the Rangers are quite resilient to our sheight diesel

Same thing with my Prado.. it's a CR engine and it never experienced any problems with the local diesel after 4 years :?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 5th, 2009, 12:23 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:Same thing with my Prado.. it's a CR engine and it never experienced any problems with the local diesel after 4 years :?

E2R what engine is in the Prado? 1KD-FTV?

R Boodoosingh

Gas

Postby R Boodoosingh » September 6th, 2009, 10:15 pm

323_guy wrote:thats great, but the resale suxxx!!! Especially wit the mileage u gonna be doin. U may save a 40k in the short term but consider this, assumin PERFECT conditions, ie. 1. Its a brand new van (which its not) and 2. de mileage on de van rite now is 0, and u keepit for, lewwe say 5yrs, runnin Rio-Sando 5days a week, ur mileage may reach somwhere around 140k.

Tell me this, will you buy a five yaer old van pushin 140 clicks, for anything less than say, 80k? If u lucky? Wen u can get a diesel van doin de same mileage and age for a competitively close price?

Gas may acually work out cheaper in some cases, agreed, but in de long term, unless u plan on keepin that van until probably 2075, u will end up wit a dead horse on ur hands wen its time to sell....

Man I dont care about resale value because by next two years you will get a diesel engine cheep + I saved 40k and maintenance cost of the gas Hilux is alot cheeper than a diesel.

slow323

de tune

Postby slow323 » September 6th, 2009, 10:29 pm

sweeks wrote:I'm wondering if the local dealerships would 'de-tune' the engines to make them more resilient.

Don't hold me to that.

i know massy for a fact used to do that especially when we didnt have unleaded fuel

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 7th, 2009, 3:55 pm

I need some advice

$160K? Geez... I see a guy selling a TCJ Mazda today for 150K with 14,000km on the odo...

PM me if you want his number

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » September 7th, 2009, 8:09 pm

The 2.7 Gas Automatic Hilux just good for Toyota's Showroom

or to go buy papers in the morning

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 7th, 2009, 10:00 pm

How do you think it would perform with a CNG kit?

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » September 8th, 2009, 1:22 am

sweeks wrote:How do you think it would perform with a CNG kit?

Nice!! Reall Nice!!! It go be a Smooth Ride... It go be a Fuel efficient ride... It go be a Ozone Firendly ride.... In fact, Yuh mite actually have to look out for ppl bad drivin yuh an ting because Reall ppl go wanna race yuh... dem reckless wheelchair drivers duz go crazy anytime they see a worthy challenge.... Doh talk fuh wen yuh pull een Pricemart! Yuh mite give ah shopping cart ah run fuh he money!!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”