Kia Sportage Diesel

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Puff

Postby Puff » August 9th, 2009, 7:00 pm

77,000km... no major issues..

a/c gave a lil trouble but they fixed all that under warranty..

no black smoke or anytihng.. engine still running great..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 9th, 2009, 7:06 pm

Sweet ... we got one now ... but the 08 model. The newer model didn't come with disc brakes nor abs.

Puff

Postby Puff » August 9th, 2009, 7:07 pm

oooh that sucks.. and the price went up on those newer models too right?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 9th, 2009, 7:09 pm

Car prices dropping all over the world except in TnT.

Puff

Postby Puff » August 9th, 2009, 7:22 pm

hehehe welcome to TT yes.. prices are ridiculously high.. glad i bought it when i did :D

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 9th, 2009, 9:02 pm

I'm considering a setting of running boards .... any suggestions?

Puff

Postby Puff » August 9th, 2009, 9:03 pm

hmmm can't help there.. the ones i have came with it.. so i don't know brand or model.. but it has lights on the ends.. looks pretty good..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 10th, 2009, 9:01 pm

Cool thing ... btw any problems with our poor quality diesel?

venum

Postby venum » August 10th, 2009, 9:06 pm

Puff wrote:hmmm can't help there.. the ones i have came with it.. so i don't know brand or model.. but it has lights on the ends.. looks pretty good..

not to burst your bubble, but the ones with the lights on teh end looks kinds busted up after a lil while

the lights are kinda cheap and after about 1 year get discoloured and look terrible

seen too many of these

teh DMAX has teh same\similar set as well

get the plain ones

Puff

Postby Puff » August 10th, 2009, 9:34 pm

mmmm lol well fair enough.. i went off road with my van a couple days after getting and all the lights got ripped out hehe.. but i've seen Sportages same age as mine with the lights looking pretty good.... all depends on the driver and maintenance i guess..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 11th, 2009, 7:42 pm

sweeks wrote:Cool thing ... btw any problems with our poor quality diesel?

I've also started using Amsoil ... good performance so far.

Postby Greypatch » August 13th, 2009, 7:54 am

but the 08 model. The newer model didn't come with disc brakes nor abs.

u eh serious...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 13th, 2009, 12:47 pm

Southern Sales told me this. Hence we settled for the older model.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 14th, 2009, 10:49 am

sweeks wrote:Southern Sales told me this. Hence we settled for the older model.

Kee kee kee

A sales man tell yuh what? ;-)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 14th, 2009, 10:52 am

Freak u should know by now, I checked and double checked this ... it was true .. they are bringing the newer models without abs, rear disc brakes and no mud guards.

Basically the dealership are bringing in cheaper models and charging more .... only in a third world developing nation.

SNIPER 3000

Re: Kia Sportage Diesel

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 24th, 2013, 8:32 am

Guys looking to go this way any issues?
2008 sportage.
What should i look for? or should i stay away?
Thanks.

Mad_Scientist

Postby Mad_Scientist » April 29th, 2014, 9:42 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Guys looking to go this way any issues?
2008 sportage.
Thanks.

Headache after 100,000 km on the KIA diesel sportage 2007 (man. date) !!!! Totally fried engine. 2 months to get parts. Ex- SS mech. advised to stay away from KIA diesel sportage for a while.

Mad_Scientist

Postby Mad_Scientist » April 29th, 2014, 9:44 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Guys looking to go this way any issues?
2008 sportage.
Thanks.

Headache after 100,000 km on the KIA diesel 2007 (man. date) !!!! Totally fried engine. 2 months to get parts. Ex- SS mech. advised to stay away from KIA diesel for a while.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 6th, 2014, 9:00 pm

I have not gotten any problems with it,
Love the milage and how quite the engine is. I use original filters from the firm and r6 shell oil.
The AC on this works really well, it holds up during mid day sun during idle in traffic.

Love it so far.

zaria

Postby zaria » May 25th, 2014, 8:27 am

who,other than the salesman can tell me the difference with the 2013 diesel 4x4 model and the 2014 model?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”