Water under ranger floormats????

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Sabot

Water under ranger floormats????

Postby Sabot » August 14th, 2007, 5:06 pm

Ok this is a strange one, I noticed a funny smell a few days ago and blamed the evaporator for this until I relaised that water was condensing under the floormats on the left side of my ford ranger. This happens in both the front and back passenger mats but only on the left side. I have attributed this to the fact that the exhaust passes under the left side. Is there any way to stop this from happening, I have changed floor mats to no avail and its the stock exhaust, what gives?????? It only happens under the mats not anywhere around or between the mats...

Postby wagon r » August 15th, 2007, 6:58 am

.....i have that problem as well and i thought it was the rubber mats "sweating" against the vynil (sp).....but it's only on the back right seat.... :|

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » August 15th, 2007, 7:15 am

Try this first...

- Remove the mats
- Using a wet/dry vac vacuum the water from under the mat until its practically dry.
- If you have a blow drier you can use that to properly dry the floor
- Leave the mat off for about a week
- Replace mat

After that it shouldn't have any water under your mat. If you are still getting water check for a small leak somewhere. The water has to come from somewhere before it can settle under your mat.

Postby Greypatch » August 15th, 2007, 7:29 am

yea dry out yuh van proprely man...open door and plenty sun

Postby wagon r » August 15th, 2007, 7:30 am

if i have to do all that.....it would be every week..!!!!

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » August 15th, 2007, 7:48 am

If you do the above, you shouldn't have to do it again. If it happens again you'll need to find the source of where the moisture is coming from.

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » August 15th, 2007, 9:40 am

Some Vans come a with a rubber plug under the uphostery for a water drain, check to see if any are missing.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 15th, 2007, 10:31 am

Checked for leaks all over including under the van, will try what wagon dude says and see if this works...will try anything at this point

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » August 15th, 2007, 2:59 pm

are you sure the water is not leakin from under the dash from the a/c hose this passes on the left side of the van and leakin and runnin below the floor up.. and soakin to the front and back of the left side this is a very common problem :idea:

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 15th, 2007, 3:53 pm

those were my first thoughts and was the first thing I checked for, it happens even if I don't use the ac

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » August 15th, 2007, 4:11 pm

dat real bad man :!:

Postby equipped2ripp » August 15th, 2007, 5:32 pm

van under warranty?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 16th, 2007, 11:15 am

nah not under warranty

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 17th, 2007, 7:25 pm

I put on a plastic liner on the floor carpet recently and i noticed the same condensation problem... :shock: :shock: :shock:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 17th, 2007, 9:35 pm

what de hell!!! the ranger due for a service - i will inqure about this

boom

Postby boom » August 17th, 2007, 10:18 pm

Jus this week I did the hose change in my mazda for the same problems, use some hose from ah 4gGDI we have on the ground..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 19th, 2007, 5:16 am

Have you ever had your windscreen replaced?

Did you install any music? Sometimes grommets are removed from the engine bay to run wiring.

This might be a long shot but when you take of your carpet, do a windscreen water test and see if the water run in from there?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 21st, 2007, 9:01 am

Original windscreen but will check still since I need to have this sorted out. No grommets removed either. Really has me baffled yes...

Postby Greypatch » August 21st, 2007, 9:50 am

well with all this rain we getting ah doubtyou problem will go away hoss

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 21st, 2007, 12:20 pm

Problem have to fix somehow, will keep u all posted.... see why ah like de old suzuki jeep, water inside is no scene unless yur foot gettin wet, no carpet an ting

SpoonSports

Postby SpoonSports » August 23rd, 2007, 5:52 pm

check the heater hose

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 24th, 2007, 12:37 pm

still checkin, might have to scrap the uphostery and dash this weekend to check eveything yes, from all appearances it appears to be a leak from the front fender running down somewhere, seems to be leaking from there when i put the hose on the drain mesh under the wipers, will see what happens....happens only on the left side..

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 25th, 2007, 2:43 pm

SpoonSports,
check the heater hose

now this is a smart fella ^^^
your heating system does this have you ever notice your ac in not up to standards ? and you radiator needs water every morning :!: think of it :wink:

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 27th, 2007, 1:46 pm

Found it, pin sized hole in the factory seam between metal under the fender, had to remove entire left front fender to get at this. Spot of mig and new sealant fixed it up this morning. Thanks for the input fellas....

Postby wagon r » August 27th, 2007, 3:53 pm

well i found my leak as well yesterday while doing the weekly interior clean....

...seems depending on how the van is parked, the water runin off the back right glass, drips onto the door panel and seeing that they removed the plastic to mount the 6x9......it drips onto the back foot well.

dais a weekend fix...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”