Ranger torsion bar adjustment

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Sabot

Ranger torsion bar adjustment

Postby Sabot » August 14th, 2007, 9:28 am

I couldn't help but notice that my TBT Ranger 4x4 is lower in front than the back. This is a limited edition ranger that came with the running boards and stuff back in the TBT time( has limited stickers on thats how I know :)) Anyways the front is noticably lower than the XLT's and others. Is this how its supposed to be? If not, where do I go to have this sorted out? I have seen other TBT and TBU look a little low but I was thinking that the running boards made it appear low but now I am not sure. Any advice will be good since I know nothing about the front suspension really....

Postby Greypatch » August 14th, 2007, 10:13 am

bess u give the firm a call man

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » August 14th, 2007, 11:21 am

Check your front shocks as well, they may be damaged.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 14th, 2007, 5:03 pm

shocks are ok, will call McEnearny and let u guys know what they say...

Postby Greypatch » August 14th, 2007, 6:33 pm

good move they will advise wrt the height

sti-hybrid

Postby sti-hybrid » August 15th, 2007, 3:12 pm

:arrow: well........................

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 15th, 2007, 3:58 pm

like these ppl ent too sure either nah, they give me a cell number for the service manager called Joe but so far he unreachable by both the cell and land line..... still tryin

Postby equipped2ripp » August 15th, 2007, 5:40 pm

carry it by mileage mack

Postby Greypatch » August 15th, 2007, 6:29 pm

hmmm carry it in boi must have eet

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 16th, 2007, 11:19 am

McEnearny advised for me to bring in the van today, no charge for the adjustment they said, will see wha happens....

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 17th, 2007, 1:27 pm

Well took the van in to McEnearney, they put it on the ramp and adjusted it. Ranger stands strong now almost level which in my opinion looks way better. Ride quality is not affected either. What did happen however is that my alignment or camber or something was affected somewhat so I need to have this rechecked even though they said it would not have been affected. No charge as well. Should this have done anything to the alignment?

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » September 9th, 2007, 10:27 pm

I find my whole van itself lower...Bess I have it checked ....

greatbear

Postby greatbear » June 30th, 2008, 1:06 am

hmm i see de same ting happen to mine, ah fell ah gon make some noise cause dey tell mih dat supposed to hpaaen

Postby wagon r » June 30th, 2008, 7:05 am

torsion bar adjustment will affect your alignment.....so have it double checked....

...have to get mine raised as well, but it doesn't help that i have an extra 175lbs hangin off the the bumper.... :mrgreen:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » June 30th, 2008, 10:47 am

Torsion bar adjustment is not difficult for those who not on warranty ..

its as simple as jackin gup the fron so the suspension is not under load , and tightening up a nut .

check this link. : (yeah its for the mafia ppl , but the concept is the same)

http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/torsion_bars/

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 1st, 2008, 7:32 am

sooo..... when we tackling the ranger?? :twisted:

Postby wagon r » July 1st, 2008, 7:39 am

ranger in for service as we speak......went to get the gearbox oil changed and the torsion raised......

....when i pulled up, everyone was like :o at the condition of the van... :lol: :lol:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 1st, 2008, 8:13 am

^^-- you didnt trust us to do the gearbox oil change when the van was on the lift?? :?

Postby wagon r » July 1st, 2008, 8:15 am

^no, but i didn't have enough oil.....we did the transfer case and ran out of fluid for the GB......which, in hind sight, we should have done first.

Postby Greypatch » July 2nd, 2008, 11:28 am

175 lbs

venum

Postby venum » July 7th, 2008, 4:57 pm

wagon r wrote:^no, but i didn't have enough oil.....we did the transfer case and ran out of fluid for the GB......which, in hind sight, we should have done first.

But Sweeky benefitted in teh end :D

mafia business again

Postby wagon r » July 8th, 2008, 6:39 am

^ true....but i got that sorted out yesterday, and it feels so much different

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”