WTK free flow exhausts on Diesels

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

WTK free flow exhausts on Diesels

Postby *Phoenix* » March 5th, 2007, 8:14 pm

We all know about free flow Exhausts and K&N's for civics etc. all gas engines. But what about doing it on a Diesel engine like a 4x4?
Last edited by *Phoenix* on March 6th, 2007, 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 5th, 2007, 8:20 pm

I think, I am not sure but some European Company's that specialize in turbo charging deisel engines are using that concept, like BMW, Audi and VW

venum

Postby venum » March 5th, 2007, 9:17 pm

my TT$0.02 on this

air makes power in an engine, more air = more power

so by using an enhanced intake device, to supply more air, then you should feel the effects a bit towrds improvement

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 5th, 2007, 9:30 pm

wat venum says..could work but consult the person who doing the work fuh u first or your mechanic

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 5th, 2007, 10:21 pm

i am trying to get so much ideas for an upcoming project. a simple but elegant workhorse of a L200. you guys should check out my other posts and help me out with you good ideas! :)

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 6th, 2007, 7:34 am

I know you can benefit from the K&N air filter in the diesel pickup. I havent seen much articles on the free flow exhaust for diesel engines though

Samo

Postby Samo » March 6th, 2007, 7:45 am

pimptacular wrote:wat venum says..could work but consult the person who doing the work fuh u first or your mechanic

Agreed.... 8-)

Postby Greypatch » March 6th, 2007, 12:58 pm

kepp us posted pon dis man

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 6th, 2007, 1:33 pm

A performance exhaust can release additional horsepower and torque, but it's just not as noticeable on the seat-of-the-pants. On some systems, you'll notice it more with your ears with a more aggressive diesel rumble. There are many other diesel engine performance parts available like bigger turbochargers, twin turbo conversions, propane injection, nitrous oxide injection, larger intercoolers, free flow intakes. Aside from the intake systems, most of these upgrades are very expensive. So, if you are looking for the best bang for your buck in a diesel engine performance part, then you might want to consider a good performance chip. Don't forget the pyrometer to check EGT to make sure you are safe. And if you want to release a little more power potential, there are 4" and 5" diameter performance exhausts that help uncork some additional power and torque and help to lower EGT further. Also, remember a black cloud on diesel performance chips may be possible with more extreme calibrations that add a lot of extra fuel. For some people, this smoke might increase the fun factor, but you also might draw a lot of attention to yourself (some maybe from law enforcement!), so keep that in mind when choosing a diesel engine performance part. If you choose wisely, the increases in power and performance on a modern diesel engine can be AMAZING and for a relatively small price!

http://www.rc-trucks.org/diesel-engine- ... e-part.htm

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 6th, 2007, 8:37 pm

:onfire:

venum

Postby venum » March 14th, 2007, 4:59 pm

:bump: for an interesting topic

luckylass

Postby luckylass » March 14th, 2007, 11:56 pm

venum wrote:my TT$0.02 on this

so by using an enhanced intake device, to supply more air, then you should feel the effects a bit towrds improvement

Ive installed one in my ranger and it did improve the consumption..Is anyone else here privy to this?

ziig

yep

Postby ziig » March 15th, 2007, 9:20 am

venum wrote:my TT$0.02 on this

My question is why not? Of course u can..........u may need some back pressure allowed , but you can go pretty free flow...just maybe not straight pipe

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 17th, 2007, 9:43 pm

OK now someone get me a K&N and the tube to install it.. and we rocking. :twisted:
i serious

g20freak

Postby g20freak » March 20th, 2007, 5:50 am

Ok question. What Hp you looking for? There's a lot you can do with diesel, right now building a 3.0L to push 300Hp yes diesel.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 20th, 2007, 8:06 am

^^ :shock:
hmm... what engine and mods you doin?
that should be a torque monster when u finish..

ziig

Postby ziig » March 20th, 2007, 8:08 am

we are building a drag desiel rail at my university............not sure what engine yet

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 20th, 2007, 9:06 am

Damm g20freak tell us more about the project. sounds interesting.

g20freak

Postby g20freak » March 21st, 2007, 6:58 am

Nissan 3.0L

50 shot nos
port and polish
aftermarket ECU
CAMS 264 deg duration, valves springs and retainers.
clutch and fly combo
FMIC "front mount intercooler.
Turbo timer
Boost controler
injector upgrade
fuel pump upgrade
CAI cold air intake.
Turbo upgrade
Exhaust mainfold upgrade
Exhaust upgrade

There are some other things I am going to do, but I don't want to bore you.

Have to limit the Hp rating for the while until I upgrade the suspension, braking system.

After completion I'm looking at 380Hp. Diesel.

moti

Postby moti » March 21st, 2007, 11:08 am

shiet that will be one mad ass engine man

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 21st, 2007, 1:03 pm

g20freak Post some pictures nah boy........ :pics: :pics: :pics: :pics: :pics: :pics: :poke: :poke: :poke: :pokes:

Postby Greypatch » August 6th, 2007, 2:27 pm

indeed what vehicle dis guh be on man ?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”