Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
telfer

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby telfer » August 28th, 2020, 2:02 pm

vharripersad wrote:Does anyone have a list of the D4D issues and preventative maintenance or resolution? This would be a nice resource for everyone to have .

Have a fuel and oil filter also a front wheel bearing for 2019 Hilux all original
Oil $90
Fuel$110
Bearing $600

Postby tr1ad » September 22nd, 2020, 9:18 am

recently acquired a 2015 2.5 with 80,000km on the odo and installed 275/70/16 all terrains - had to remove the front guards; would adjusting the torsion bars to level off the van affect anything?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 22nd, 2020, 10:13 am

Torsion bars?

Yuh sure yuh asking the right question?

If its adjustment you need, the lower cradles have caster adjustment on each bushing.
tr1ad wrote:recently acquired a 2015 2.5 with 80,000km on the odo and installed 275/70/16 all terrains - had to remove the front guards; would adjusting the torsion bars to level off the van affect anything?

Postby tr1ad » September 22nd, 2020, 11:13 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Torsion bars?

If its adjustment you need, the lower cradles have caster adjustment on each bushing.
tr1ad wrote:recently acquired a 2015 2.5 with 80,000km on the odo and installed 275/70/16 all terrains - had to remove the front guards; would adjusting the torsion bars to level off the van affect anything?

i'll look into the adjustment on the bushings, i was told this model has torsion bars... i haven't been under to look yet - this isn't the Revo / latest model hilux

orionis

Postby orionis » September 22nd, 2020, 12:17 pm

Good day , I have a 2014 4x4 2.5L 2kD toyota hilux that does not have traction control. There is ABS and a load sensing proportioning valve for the back brake drums.

Question: can traction control be installed on this unit? Does anyone know who can install and program it and where the parts can be sourced.

Weighing my options of upgrading vs installing traction control and keeping the van for a next 10 years

Thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » September 22nd, 2020, 12:52 pm

I'm pretty sure its coils in front
Double wishbone

The LCA has adjustments
tr1ad wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Torsion bars?

i'll look into the adjustment on the bushings, i was told this model has torsion bars... i haven't been under to look yet - this isn't the Revo / latest model hilux

Postby *KRONIK* » September 22nd, 2020, 12:56 pm

Why you want traction control?

Only 2009-2010 a few local models came with TCS and VSC and cruise control (and the foreign spec Vigos)

These carry a completely different rear setup

You van carries 1 brake line on the left side and the LSPV on the diff pumpkin with a clutch type LSD

The TCS/VSC models carry 2 brakelines and uses the ABS sensors to engage the TCS/VSC and these carried open rear diffs

May be difficult to get that whole system to work if the van wasnt equipped for it
orionis wrote:Good day , I have a 2014 4x4 2.5L 2kD toyota hilux that does not have traction control. There is ABS and a load sensing proportioning valve for the back brake drums.

Question: can traction control be installed on this unit? Does anyone know who can install and program it and where the parts can be sourced.

Weighing my options of upgrading vs installing traction control and keeping the van for a next 10 years

Thanks

orionis

Postby orionis » September 22nd, 2020, 3:32 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Why you want traction control?

Only 2009-2010 a few local models came with TCS and VSC and cruise control (and the foreign spec Vigos)

You van carries 1 brake line on the left side and the LSPV on the diff pumpkin with a clutch type LSD

The TCS/VSC models carry 2 brakelines and uses the ABS sensors to engage the TCS/VSC and these carried open rear diffs

May be difficult to get that whole system to work if the van wasnt equipped for it
orionis wrote:Good day , I have a 2014 4x4 2.5L 2kD toyota hilux that does not have traction control. There is ABS and a load sensing proportioning valve for the back brake drums.

Thanks
Thanks for your response. Although I can maneuver through wet roads with no problems, I wanted an added sense of safety when cornering at moderate speeds on slippery roads. During heavy rains with our terrible road conditions, I have had some unfavorable responses from my van. The truth is , the van drives near perfect and performs really well, I get on average 675km on a tank. If I can source all the parts for the TCS and have it installed for for around 10k- 15k I will have it done and keep the van for atleast 10 years again.
Last edited by orionis on September 22nd, 2020, 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 22nd, 2020, 4:18 pm

Coil springs in front... Leaf springs in back..

Postby *KRONIK* » September 22nd, 2020, 9:45 pm

Well i wish you the best of luck....
orionis wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Why you want traction control?

Thanks
Thanks for your response. Although I can maneuver through wet roads with no problems, I wanted an added sense of safety when cornering at moderate speeds on slippery roads. During heavy rains with our terrible road conditions, I have had some unfavorable responses from by van. The truth is , the van drives near perfect and performs really well, I get on average 675km on a tank. If I can source all the parts for the TCS and have it installed for for around 10k- 15k I will have it done and keep the van for atleast 10 years again.

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2020, 6:33 am

I installed a rudimentary rear traction control on my hilux

I took 3 of the large concrete foundation blocks, filled the hollow sections with concrete and lead sinkers
over 60lbs each, so almost 200lbs and have them in the tray up against front of tray.

Van drives much better as it is no longer unsprung so much which is a common issue with leaf springs being unloaded.
Doesn't bounce up/down when mashing gas or mash brakes so much either.

Padnas tell me it drives more like a car.

btw dont use bridgestone duelers in the back also, they are dangerous tires.

orionis

Postby orionis » September 23rd, 2020, 7:11 am

Lols Yeah that's plan B. Running michelin ltx force for the past 2 years. Dont think theres anything better. These tyres are near perfect.
pugboy wrote:I installed a rudimentary rear traction control on my hilux

I took 3 of the large concrete foundation blocks, filled the hollow sections with concrete and lead sinkers
over 60lbs each, so almost 200lbs and have them in the tray up against front of tray.

Van drives much better as it is no longer unsprung so much which is a common issue with leaf springs being unloaded.
Doesn't bounce up/down when mashing gas or mash brakes so much either.

Padnas tell me it drives more like a car.

btw dont use bridgestone duelers in the back also, they are dangerous tires.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » October 26th, 2020, 7:26 am

Folks - 2007 (D4D) Fortuner Instrument panel not turning on. When I turn to On - the various bulbs come on (batt, glow plug heater, etc.) but not the gauges. Elec technician reheated the board twice and it worked once or twice, but now still not coming on..
Any ideas?
Or do I need to have it replaced?
If so - where can I source one?
TIA.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 26th, 2020, 8:02 am

Check the guy on the forums here who does micro-soldering

Micro-SMD lab
681-6610

He should be able to diagnose and if possible- repair
Tired Accord wrote:Folks - 2007 (D4D) Fortuner Instrument panel not turning on. When I turn to On - the various bulbs come on (batt, glow plug heater, etc.) but not the gauges. Elec technician reheated the board twice and it worked once or twice, but now still not coming on..
Any ideas?
Or do I need to have it replaced?
If so - where can I source one?
TIA.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 29th, 2020, 10:10 pm

go in the firm
my uncle bought one recently. sando branch
1800 i think.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 30th, 2020, 6:46 am

Nah hoss

A new panel is 14k and by order only
Ted_v2 wrote:go in the firm
my uncle bought one recently. sando branch
1800 i think.

AK2289

Postby AK2289 » January 23rd, 2021, 11:16 am

Good day. I got this code: P00D8 in my 2012 4x4 hilux with a 2kd engine. The turbo is louder than usual and is making a siren sound. Does this code mean that the turbo may need repairing? Thanks
IMG_23012021_111229_(600_x_500_pixel).jpg

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » April 26th, 2021, 2:17 pm

Gday everyone, 2010 hilux local 2.5, issue door locks not locking with alarm keypad nor does it with the switch on the inside, it is opening though from both access points, any ideas what's up? Any help appreciated. Thanks

Random Surfer

Postby Random Surfer » December 15th, 2021, 6:28 am

Good day Looking for chrome front bumper for 2003 Sr5..

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » December 29th, 2021, 9:45 am

Good day a friend looking for a non working instrument panel for a 2006 2.5 manual hilux 4x4. He just needs the glass as his is damaged, 4784801 Ricardo

Postby *KRONIK* » December 29th, 2021, 10:05 am

trebornattaj wrote:Good day a friend looking for a non working instrument panel for a 2006 2.5 manual hilux 4x4. He just needs the glass as his is damaged, 4784801 Ricardo
The lens is sold seperately if he wants a brand new one.

If not let him call 3604442

He does have vans scrapping

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » December 29th, 2021, 11:23 am

Thanks Kronik

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 29th, 2022, 4:55 pm

So after covering over 125000kms, the following is a summary of what was spent so far (most parts are aftermarket except for fuel filters)

Service Items
24 oil changes
Cost for engine oil: $6280
Cost for 23 Oil Filters: $1010

3 Air Filters: $430
3 fuel filters: $480
Drivetrain fluids(Trans/Diff/T.Case): $2575
Fuel Additives: $2850
1 set of brake pads and Fluid: $390
3 Cabin Filters: $600
1 tube of grease: $55
TOTAL for Service Items: $14670

Other Items
3 Batteries: $3450
Rims and Tyres: $7000
Decks/speakers/finishers/wiring: $2689 (had to buy a second replacement deck as the first replacement started giving trouble)
Wiper blades: $540

Front Stabilizer End links: $900

Too Much Car care products: ~$4000

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2022, 9:44 pm

How many sets of tires yoh went thru?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 4th, 2022, 3:11 am

One set of Bridgestone 17s was used. Trying to use out the 15s that the van originally came with currently.

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2022, 4:25 pm

them tires last so long 125k ?

kamakazi wrote:One set of Bridgestone 17s was used. Trying to use out the 15s that the van originally came with currently.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 6th, 2022, 5:13 pm

Put another way
1 set of four 17" tyres done at around 60000km

The 15" set I'm on currently has about 30% life left in them; these are the tyres that came with the van. They are on the second to last set of wear indicators.

I don't plan to drive on them during the wet season so I purchased a third set that is mounted to the 17" rims, but they are NOT on the van at this time

RB34

Postby RB34 » June 12th, 2022, 10:21 pm

Is there anyone who took the android deck + reverse cam "upgrade" from toyota? this would be for the 2019-2021 models. I had to factory reset my deck and need some help getting the settings for the reverse cam. It just says no signal atm. PM me please if you have it. It came in a green box.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 23rd, 2022, 2:36 pm

RB34 wrote:Is there anyone who took the android deck + reverse cam "upgrade" from toyota? this would be for the 2019-2021 models. I had to factory reset my deck and need some help getting the settings for the reverse cam. It just says no signal atm. PM me please if you have it. It came in a green box.

Call Safraz 742-0646

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 3rd, 2022, 4:05 pm

That feeling you get that your AC feels like its choking you or you want to sneeze... Yeah it is time to change your cabin filter. Mine was properly dirty after the last 30000kms, however in terms of time, the "19" meant that some years had passed before it was changed. My bad for tracking by mileage and not by time.

I was using a Fram fresh breeze filter with activated charcoal, which was purchased online. Recently installed a brand called Denkermann which isn't as dense and allows the blower to pull more air through it at the same settings which translates to more air blown into the cabin.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”