Need a bin

daring dragoon

Need a bin

Postby daring dragoon » May 2nd, 2025, 6:56 am

all fun and games aside i need a metal barrel bin with some handles welded to the sides and 4 feet welded to the bottom for about 4 to 6 inches off the ground and need it painted and BIN written on the side. Also need it delivered. Anyone who can assist send me a PM with a number of the supplier so i can get a cost. It is for a customer so it might be more than 1.

Re: Need a bin

Postby timelapse » May 2nd, 2025, 8:40 am

daring dragoon wrote:all fun and games aside i need a metal barrel bin with some handles welded to the sides and 4 feet welded to the bottom for about 4 to 6 inches off the ground and need it painted and BIN written on the side. Also need it delivered. Anyone who can assist send me a PM with a number of the supplier so i can get a cost. It is for a customer so it might be more than 1.

I usually build my own.But here's some unsolicited advice: Get holes drilled into the bottom before painting.Without those, it will rust quickly.

Postby alfa » May 2nd, 2025, 9:21 am

I feel plastic bins will be better, no rust

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2025, 7:23 pm

alfa wrote:I feel plastic bins will be better, no rust

What happens to plastic when it stays exposed to the sun and rain after a few months?

Postby alfa » May 3rd, 2025, 7:29 pm

What happens to plastic when it stays exposed to the sun and rain after a few months?

I feel Dem blue plastic barrel go take some years in the sun

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2025, 8:14 pm

alfa wrote:
88sins wrote:I feel Dem blue plastic barrel go take some years in the sun

They will, depending on exactly what you put in them and exactly how much direct sunlight they are exposed to.
But that's mostly due to the thickness of the material, not just the fact that it's "plastic"

Besides
op asking as a vendor for a customer, and it seems that the customer wants metal product, so plastic ain't an option

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 4th, 2025, 7:24 am

alfa wrote:

They will, depending on exactly what you put in them and exactly how much direct sunlight they are exposed to.
But that's mostly due to the thickness of the material, not just the fact that it's "plastic"

Besides
op asking as a vendor for a customer, and it seems that the customer wants metal product, so plastic ain't an option

Yes a metal barrel is what is asked for because it seems people would steal the plastic barrel. another option is the square plastic containers with the metal band around it. i think it comes with edible food syrup or some sort thing but IDK where to source that and i assume it will be more expensive.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 4th, 2025, 7:43 am

daring dragoon wrote:
alfa wrote:

Besides

Yes a metal barrel is what is asked for because it seems people would steal the plastic barrel. another option is the square plastic containers with the metal band around it. i think it comes with edible food syrup or some sort thing but IDK where to source that and i assume it will be more expensive.
Its called an IBC tote

But they look absolutely ghetto as a trash bin.

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2025, 9:13 am

ibc plastic doesn’t last that long
gets brittle
the blue barrels last a fair bit longer
and the green plastics ones last real long but not so common

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 4th, 2025, 11:52 am

My plastic bin taking sun and rain for the last 11 years and still going strong.

theview868

Postby theview868 » May 5th, 2025, 5:12 am

timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:all fun and games aside i need a metal barrel bin with some handles welded to the sides and 4 feet welded to the bottom for about 4 to 6 inches off the ground and need it painted and BIN written on the side. Also need it delivered. Anyone who can assist send me a PM with a number of the supplier so i can get a cost. It is for a customer so it might be more than 1.

I usually build my own.But here's some unsolicited advice: Get holes drilled into the bottom before painting.Without those, it will rust quickly.
Any specs in size And materials
I have to build one too. I have some steel sheets and gonna try that month end

Postby 88sins » May 5th, 2025, 6:10 pm

theview868 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Any specs in size And materials
I have to build one too. I have some steel sheets and gonna try that month end

Steel sheet is not ideal, just too heavy, and prone to rust.
Ideally, build the frame from 3/8 mild steel bar and line with zinc sheeting, drilling some holes in the base. That will endue until yuh great grandchildren great grandchildren have great grandchildren