Digicel roaming, Curaçao…

hindian

Digicel roaming, Curaçao…

Postby hindian » March 15th, 2025, 8:31 am

Morning all, has anybody used this in Curaçao or other countries before? I’m trying to find out how reliable it is and if it makes sense to use at all. Thanks.

Re: Digicel roaming, Curaçao…

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2025, 8:45 am

makes little sense to roam
you will pay thru your neck

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2025, 8:51 am

There are roaming package adds on that will allow you to get data and receive calls at a okay rate but making calls will still be expensive

It's better to just buy a sim up there if you staying more than 3 days.

Or buy one of them international sim in the airport

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2025, 9:01 am

the beaches on the northern side very nice,
if you staying in the main city side will need to organize a trip

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2025, 10:23 am

Just make sure the country you are visiting is in the roaming list.
For example, Panama is in Zone 4 and not on the list of countries that qualify for bmobile bundle roaming.
So if your bundle has 5GB data roaming and you are in Panama you will still be charged.
The rate for data roaming in Panama is $106.31 per megabyte.
It can cost you $1,000 just to watch a 30 second video on WhatsApp
Reference: bmobile post paid roaming
https://bmobile.co.tt/mobile/internatio ... ing-rates/

Check this digicel roaming plans here
https://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/roaming

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2025, 10:53 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Just make sure the country you are visiting is in the roaming list.
For example, Panama is in Zone 4 and not on the list of countries that qualify for bmobile bundle roaming.
So if your bundle has 5GB data roaming and you are in Panama you will still be charged.

I never use roaming just to ensure I have no spurious billing. I not taking the word of a Telco as gospel nah. Been burned too much times and takes too much to resolve.

They say it's 1gig and 25mins call time Z1 and Z2 bundled monthly (bmobile).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2025, 10:56 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Just make sure the country you are visiting is in the roaming list.

I never use roaming just to ensure I have no spurious billing. I not taking the word of a Telco as gospel nah. Been burned too much times and takes too much to resolve.

They say it's 1gig and 25mins call time Z1 and Z2 bundled monthly (bmobile).

Yeah I got burned pretty bad with that. Now I disable SIM card and use an eSIM from that country.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » March 15th, 2025, 11:34 am

I’ve used it. I have a corporate account though so it’s included so there weren’t extra fees. Calls to and from home were free. 4g data unlimited was free. Could have also called digicel numbers in curaçao.

hindian

Postby hindian » March 15th, 2025, 12:08 pm

IMG_4908.JPG

This is the one I’m interested in. Heading to Curaçao month end for a couple days. My account is postpaid. I don’t find it too bad really

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2025, 5:19 pm

Bun dem and that failure roaming sheit.
I roamed in the US and Europe with them and it was a waste of time.

AloSIM ftmfw. I will only use the kinda service from now. Used that twice in the last 18m and it was flawless.

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2025, 6:10 pm

that found real cheap

hindian wrote:IMG_4908.JPG

This is the one I’m interested in. Heading to Curaçao month end for a couple days. My account is postpaid. I don’t find it too bad really

Postby goalpost » March 15th, 2025, 8:45 pm

Not me and roaming especially from bmobile and digicel.

Sim card from airport...u good to go.

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2025, 8:56 pm

and you have no control if your phone suddenly switch to roam on another carrier there and rack up big dollars

goalpost wrote:Not me and roaming especially from bmobile and digicel.

Sim card from airport...u good to go.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 15th, 2025, 9:53 pm

hindian wrote:
IMG_4908.JPG

Visited a couple countries in the past 6 months that supported this plan (Digicel) and it worked well for me. But usually always cheaper to just get a local sim and use.

Postby stev » March 16th, 2025, 9:57 pm

hindian wrote:IMG_4908.JPG

Used this a couple of times while roaming in Digicel territories...it works well. It makes sense especially if you are highly dependent on your phone / staying connected.

Edit: the only annoying thing is that you have to make sure you have the "+1-868-" before the number you are trying to call back home. If a contact in your phone is saved without this part of the number...the call wont go through....you will have to type the entire number manually....a bit annoying but overall it works as intended.

Postby SMc » March 17th, 2025, 5:21 am

I have been using https://www.airalo.com/ for the past 18 months and it worked well for me. I don't really use my phone for traditional calls just really WhatsApp & Telegram so I just use my regular number wherever I am.

Like many I get worried about roaming so I remove my physical SIM : (

hindian

Postby hindian » March 17th, 2025, 8:51 am

Thanks for the responses fellas. I’ll try the roaming package first and if it doesn’t work out, I’ll do the local SIM card for Curaçao. I’ve never been there so I’m not familiar with the operations. And it’s the first time I’m using the roaming feature when traveling. I usually just relied on Wi-Fi but I want to use data to get around I.e. Waze or whatever they use there. Thanks again all

Postby SMc » March 17th, 2025, 10:17 am

If you want data for navigating it may be worth downloading an offline Google map for Curacao just in case

That saved me when i was driving in the 'bush' in The Gambia where there was ZERO network coverage

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2025, 5:07 pm

hindian wrote:Thanks for the responses fellas. I’ll try the roaming package first and if it doesn’t work out, I’ll do the local SIM card for Curaçao. I’ve never been there so I’m not familiar with the operations. And it’s the first time I’m using the roaming feature when traveling. I usually just relied on Wi-Fi but I want to use data to get around I.e. Waze or whatever they use there. Thanks again all

it looking good but keep in mind it say incoming calls free, outgoing u might have to pay plenty. so i guess whatsapp good for that.

Postby wagonrunner » March 17th, 2025, 10:31 pm

SMc wrote:If you want data for navigating it may be worth downloading an offline Google map for Curacao just in case

That saved me when i was driving in the 'bush' in The Gambia where there was ZERO network coverage

yup. offline google maps are my go to as well

hindian

Postby hindian » March 18th, 2025, 7:58 am

SMc wrote:If you want data for navigating it may be worth downloading an offline Google map for Curacao just in case

yup. offline google maps are my go to as well

I’ll keep this in mind. Thanks again all

hindian

Postby hindian » March 29th, 2025, 7:20 am

So reporting back, everything worked extremely well. I took the roaming package with [emoji[emoji6]]GB data for [emoji[emoji6]] days for$ and it didn’t let me down once except for when I went far from the city eg. Klein Knip beach and Watamula hole, it’s there where data started to drop off. Didn’t make any outgoing called except on WhatsApp and turned off data and used Wi-Fi where I could. Used google maps [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]% of the time too and that worked extremely well.

Postby Chimera » March 29th, 2025, 7:43 am

what u was doing in gambia?

Postby SMc » March 31st, 2025, 2:39 am

Minding my own business-

Postby Chimera » March 31st, 2025, 6:51 am

nah yuh business is in trinidad

if yuh was in the gambia yuh went to mind someone else business

yuh went to look for Kunta Kinte grand father?