X Trail 2015 - Transmission fail

Boss Lady

X Trail 2015 - Transmission fail

Postby Boss Lady » December 20th, 2024, 12:28 pm

Hi guys - first timer here - and female

2015 Xtrail transmission need replacing. Please tell me if the following sounds right :- used transmission $ 35,000. Then sell at around $110 K or sell as is at around $ 70 K and owner will replace transmission. Unit is from Massy -sun roof & leather seats.

killercow

Re: X Trail 2015 - Transmission fail

Postby killercow » December 20th, 2024, 1:34 pm

delishamaharaj2024 wrote:Hi guys - first timer here - and female

2015 Xtrail transmission need replacing. Please tell me if the following sounds right :- used transmission $ 35,000. Then sell at around $110 K or sell as is at around $ 70 K and owner will replace transmission. Unit is from Massy -sun roof & leather seats.
I've never heard of a used transmission costing that much. Better sell as is and not go through that headache. Supposed after spending all that money you run into more problems?
Just my 2 cents

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 20th, 2024, 1:38 pm

As the above stated, better to sell if that is the cost.

There are also local FB groups for these sorts of vehicles, and there will be people who can give very good, specific advice for this situation.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 20th, 2024, 1:46 pm

Get a second opinion on the repair cost.
But for most people it will be less headache to sell as is- just cut the loss and move on rather than try to chase the fix to try to get max resale value.

Postby Dave » December 20th, 2024, 3:10 pm

Just yesterday I had a fellow coworker with the same issue.
That's the price apparently and Keith's son is the guy doing the repairs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 20th, 2024, 4:12 pm

Have you explored repairing/rebuilding the transmission?
There's a guy in Endeavour that does this - Hans transmission repairs 722-5662

Postby goalpost » December 20th, 2024, 6:49 pm

delishamaharaj2024 wrote:Hi guys - first timer here - and female

Aye frick Dat eh...sell sell sell.
It have people buying that in an instant without a working transmission.

I assume loan paid off for so you cud spend d money as a down-payment on a new vehicle.

When my van gave me trouble earlier, I drop that like a hot potato and buy a smaller cheaper car. I good to go.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 20th, 2024, 6:58 pm

Dave wrote:Just yesterday I had a fellow coworker with the same issue.
That's the price apparently and Keith's son is the guy doing the repairs.

The left foot braking driver who texts while test driving your car to diagnose it?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 20th, 2024, 7:07 pm

Engine swap

Boss Lady

Postby Boss Lady » December 21st, 2024, 4:52 pm

Hey - thanks so much for the reply (s) - the plan is to sell it either way - with new transmission in or with failed transmission - i got offers of $ 50 K for it s is which is ridiculous _ I'm female but not dotish....

Boss Lady

Postby Boss Lady » December 21st, 2024, 4:54 pm

Hans is the bomb - but he already did work on it bout 2 years ago - not wanting to spend anymore on this one to rebuild etc

Boss Lady

Postby Boss Lady » December 21st, 2024, 4:56 pm

I'm liking the guy who say "frik that "which is my response to most car troubles

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 21st, 2024, 7:24 pm

At that price for a used tranny, I was selling that as is.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 22nd, 2024, 3:43 pm

From a buyer's perspective, why would i buy it at $70k, then spend $35k when i can get a fully working one for the same cost and no headache?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 22nd, 2024, 6:31 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:From a buyer's perspective, why would i buy it at $70k, then spend $35k when i can get a fully working one for the same cost and no headache?

Yup.
Seller might need to adjust pricing and what her floor value would be.

These 2015 local models seem to be going for 100-120 in working shape.

If the repair is 35, she might need to consider 55-60 as realistic range so the buyer has some overhead for repair in case other gremlins exist

Postby SR » December 23rd, 2024, 1:15 pm

One of the best in the buisness
Screenshot_20241223_131426_Samsung%20Internet.jpg