Eyewear prescription

Galvatron

Eyewear prescription

Postby Galvatron » July 2nd, 2024, 5:35 am

Eyewear prescription...what local optometrists provide you with a copy?

Re: Eyewear prescription

Postby 16 cycles » July 2nd, 2024, 5:56 am

you usually have to pay extra if you are not taking frames from their outlet - which is absurd that you have to pay extra to release your own medical data to yourself.

Before doing the test, ask if they will include OD for each eye in measurements and prescription - the OD is important if you are ordering prescription lens and frames.

Postby adnj » July 2nd, 2024, 6:46 am

Galvatron wrote:Eyewear prescription...what local optometrists provide you with a copy?

Most, if not all, will give your prescription to you with no fuss. If you plan on ordering glasses online, you will also need your pupillary distance (PD) measurement.

https://www.google.com/search?q=pupillary+distance

Your PD is measured while you are being fitted for lenses. You can either ask for it, or you can measure it yourself with an app and a smartphone with a good camera.

https://apps.apple.com/lt/app/glasseson/id1153638659
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... s&hl=en_US

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2024, 7:08 am

16 cycles wrote:you usually have to pay extra if you are not taking frames from their outlet - which is absurd that you have to pay extra to release your own medical data to yourself.

Before doing the test, ask if they will include OD for each eye in measurements and prescription - the OD is important if you are ordering prescription lens and frames.

The only reason why this is so in Trinidad is because nobody has contested it in court. You're supposed to get the prescription for free if you've paid for the eye test already. People accept it continually because it's harder in real life to contest it in a local court than pay the "prescription fee."

The frames are really where the markup is, it's what pays for the services and rent.

Still, above certain Rx values, I would not recommend online glasses just because it's supposedly cheaper.

Postby paid_influencer » July 2nd, 2024, 7:53 am

remember the law of karma. it have nothing like 'free' in karma - everything has to be repaid. even if you have to born as a duck or goat to end up in somebody roti - you have to repay it.

most eye glasses places do free tests. the cost either gets rolled into a frame order or a prescription. that's the deal. if you decide you want neither, you are free to walk out without any expense incurred.

tho if you really want a test for results only, check small non-chain opticians. I went by one (ideal vision on high street next to laxmi jewellers in sando) and the fella telling me outright what the results of the test are without asking even. but really you should pay something if you using somebody labour. karma and all that. ask beforehand

assassin

Postby assassin » July 2nd, 2024, 8:35 am

paid_influencer wrote:remember the law of karma. it have nothing like 'free' in karma - everything has to be repaid. even if you have to born as a duck or goat to end up in somebody roti - you have to repay it.

most eye glasses places do free tests. the cost either gets rolled into a frame order or a prescription. that's the deal. if you decide you want neither, you are free to walk out without any expense incurred.

tho if you really want a test for results only, check small non-chain opticians. I went by one (ideal vision on high street next to laxmi jewellers in sando) and the fella telling me outright what the results of the test are without asking even. but really you should pay something if you using somebody labour. karma and all that. ask beforehand
Most Opticians do not do free eye tests. They will conduct a free "vision screening" but you have to pay to test and measure.

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2024, 8:39 am

some will write the rx for you if you ask immediately after the eye test

once you come back another day asking for it
the staff will buss charges on you

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 2nd, 2024, 11:36 am

Pricesmart - it's free for members, they give you a copy and they test your PD if you want to order glasses online

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2024, 11:45 am

free eye testing for members ?
not bad at all

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Pricesmart - it's free for members, they give you a copy and they test your PD if you want to order glasses online

Postby j.o.e » July 2nd, 2024, 11:51 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Pricesmart - it's free for members, they give you a copy and they test your PD if you want to order glasses online

This is good info. Thanks

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » July 2nd, 2024, 11:58 am

Thanks

Postby MaxPower » July 2nd, 2024, 12:29 pm

It rel simple,

I going to do an eye test and i want the read out for my records, full stop. Don’t ask me about frame etc, i setting the pace here not you.

Either you take it or leave it, either way i can see where the door is.

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2024, 12:30 pm

imagine going to a doctor and asking what your blood pressure reading was and he tell you that he have to charge you to let you know

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2024, 12:31 pm

max, i hear is $500+ for optometrist letter of eye health competency for ful

MaxPower wrote:It rel simple,

I going to do an eye test and i want the read out for my records, full stop. Don’t ask me about frame etc, i setting the pace here not you.

Either you take it or leave it, either way i can see where the door is.

Postby redmanjp » July 2nd, 2024, 2:54 pm

pugboy wrote:imagine going to a doctor and asking what your blood pressure reading was and he tell you that he have to charge you to let you know

but he already charging for the visit tho

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2024, 3:00 pm

the optometrist too

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:imagine going to a doctor and asking what your blood pressure reading was and he tell you that he have to charge you to let you know

but he already charging for the visit tho

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2024, 3:12 pm

The optometrist doesn't charge for anything. Unless they're the sole owner of the business itself.

They get a fixed salary, no commission. Optometrists (eye medicine) usually work for Opticians (makes glasses) and they follow the rules or they get fired. They can see 10 or 30 patients a day, same salary.

Once you pay for an eye exam you are supposed to get your Rx with no extra fees attached. If somebody takes an optical practice to court over this, the current dishonest practice will change. If the eye exam is offered for free, then that is a different type of contract with the patient. Mind you, current eye exam fees in Trinidad are very low (or offered free) because they want people of a poor developing country to be able to access the service. USA/Canada is like $100 to $150 local currency for an eye exam.

Postby MaxPower » July 2nd, 2024, 3:31 pm

pugboy wrote:max, i hear is $500+ for optometrist letter of eye health competency for ful

Yep, about that.

And more if they have their “doctor padna” issue one without them even seeing the applicant.

Trinis responsible, competent and qualified on paper.

Give them FULs man.

Postby nervewrecker » October 25th, 2024, 8:33 pm

Anywhere you guys can recommend in south I can get my eyes tested and get my prescription?

Where and how can I get my lenses and frame? Does it make sense to online as I seeing someone said in here don't.

Lookin to get this done next week.

Thanks in advance