Furniture - Where to buy?

triniangie

Furniture - Where to buy?

Postby triniangie » June 20th, 2024, 8:55 am

Congrats! :elephant: - either you've built or bought your new place, now to furnish it.
...Or you've been through this already and can share some insight :turn-l:

Looking for suggestions on where to buy, what items to splurge on, and where to save. :wiggle:

Experience with buying online & shipping bulky items? I wanna know how... :oops: please & thanks

Recommendations and pics of custom furniture you've made are welcomed as well. :pics:

Re: Furniture - Where to buy?

Postby maj. tom » June 20th, 2024, 9:35 am

I got some good stuff from Fens. You have to go and examine what they have. They have local manufactured stuff as well as imported. And you can also just check those local factories and buy from the directly. Any metal cabinet and office related I would get at MDC-UM in Macoya estate. Do a forum search because it's been discussed.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » June 20th, 2024, 10:57 am

Is anybody out there with experience in online furniture shopping & shipping?

200w.gif
200w.gif (466.98 KiB) Viewed 3175 times

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 20th, 2024, 12:03 pm

^ you can use sea freight with Laparkan or try Ocean It https://www.facebook.com/justoceanit/

triniangie wrote:Congrats! :elephant: - either you've built or bought your new place, now to furnish it.
...Or you've been through this already and can share some insight :turn-l:

Looking for suggestions on where to buy, what items to splurge on, and where to save. :wiggle:

Experience with buying online & shipping bulky items? I wanna know how... :oops: please & thanks

Recommendations and pics of custom furniture you've made are welcomed as well. :pics:

My advice is to be practical. I like modern design and while some things look nice and modern they aren't as comfortable or practical for what we use them for daily. Buy based on your usage. Some people buy a dining table and hardly ever use it, or they buy a fancy glass dining table and what they really needed was a place that everyone congregates, eat, do homework, craft projects, build lego etc - get a family table instead of a fancy dining table.
We bought a pub height dining table and it's pretty practical as you can also stand and use it without backpain.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2024, 1:08 pm

Fens has nice stuff.
Nobody beats courts with that extra warranty thing
If buying online, wait for those sales and ship sea-freight

Buy appliances where parts are readily and easily available. For eg stuff from reliable.

Spend the extra money up front for good quality so you don't go back to spend in 3 years or so.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 20th, 2024, 2:37 pm

If you cannot pay cash, my 2 cents is that wherever you decide to go get your furniture, it would be better to get an unsecured loan from the bank or credit union and pay the furniture place one time, rather than paying hire purchase.

On hire purchase you end up paying almost 2x what the cash price of the item is.
Lets say you take out 20k worth of items from Courts. They might charge you 240 a week for 3 years. Doesnt sound like much until you realise you paid back 37.4k on 20k worth of items.

Hire purchase effective interest rates are around 45% APR while unsecure loans are around 11%. Choose wisely, it makes a giant difference.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » June 20th, 2024, 6:08 pm

My experience about 10 years back.

Used Laparkan 20 foot container-Cost at that time was USD 2,050.

Got furniture from City Furniture

Got Appliances from Brand Source

Shipped everything in the Container- Purchase cost of items and shipping and clearing was about USD$60,000.

Equivalent Trinidad prices for all items was in excess of TT$600,000 when compared

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2024, 6:43 pm

factor duties 40%

Postby Country_Bookie » June 22nd, 2024, 10:37 am

As shakes mentioned, if buying appliances locally I'd go with courts and pay for the extended warranty.

If you're considering bringing a container with furniture etc, persons considered to be returning residents are exempt from duty and vat. A returning resident is defined as someone who can show proof they lived outside TT for at least 6 months. However they can only use this exemption once.

So if you have a relative or good friend abroad who sure they doh want to come back and live here, bring it in their name and you can talk to the shipping company about if they need to be here to clear it etc.

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2024, 11:09 am

Country_Bookie wrote:As shakes mentioned, if buying appliances locally I'd go with courts and pay for the extended warranty.

If you're considering bringing a container with furniture etc, persons considered to be returning residents are exempt from duty and vat. A returning resident is defined as someone who can show proof they lived outside TT for at least 6 months. However they can only use this exemption once.

So if you have a relative or good friend abroad who sure they doh want to come back and live here, bring it in their name and you can talk to the shipping company about if they need to be here to clear it etc.

normal normal yuh advising the man to commit fraud

realtriniman122

Postby realtriniman122 » July 11th, 2024, 7:44 am

When it comes to furnishing, I'd recommend starting with a plan and prioritizing your must-have pieces. For big items like sofas and beds, it’s worth splurging a bit for quality and comfort, as these are long-term investments. For things like decor or accent pieces, you can save by shopping at discount stores or online marketplaces. As for buying online and shipping bulky items, make sure to read reviews about the seller's shipping process and return policy to avoid any surprises.

Speaking of online finds, I recently stumbled upon a great site for Wrought Iron Furniture, and it was a game-changer for my garden. I created a beautiful outdoor space with a wrought iron dining set, a couple of elegant benches, and some decorative planters. It added a classic and durable touch to my garden, making it a perfect place to relax and entertain.

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 22nd, 2024, 11:38 pm

Cost Savers

https://www.costsaverstt.com/

Bought all my appliances here.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 31st, 2024, 9:01 pm

As some one said here go up to Miami.
Rooms to go and Brand source.
the accustomed with Trinis and help the paper work somewhat.
make sure u fill the container even with things you don't need and sell it herre.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » August 12th, 2024, 8:36 am

Does anyone have experience with shipping from Ikea?

Worth it?

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2024, 8:46 am

junk
but nice aesthetics which does ketch them women

triniangie wrote:Does anyone have experience with shipping from Ikea?

Worth it?

triniangie

Postby triniangie » August 12th, 2024, 8:51 am

well... yea

how about https://www.miamidirectfurniture.com/ ?

...cause:
Screenshot 2024-08-12 085516.png
Screenshot 2024-08-12 0856141.png

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2024, 10:45 am

triniangie wrote:well... yea

...cause:
Screenshot 2024-08-12 085516.pngScreenshot 2024-08-12 0856141.png

You bought from them already and sea frieght?

triniangie

Postby triniangie » August 12th, 2024, 11:05 am

triniangie wrote:well... yea

...cause:
Screenshot 2024-08-12 085516.pngScreenshot 2024-08-12 0856141.png

You bought from them already and sea frieght?

Nope - looking around still...

https://www.miamidirectfurniture.com/export-services/