HELP....Car impounded, Duplicated Chassis Number.

nos_specialist

HELP....Car impounded, Duplicated Chassis Number.

Postby nos_specialist » June 2nd, 2024, 11:33 am

Good day folks, i have a friend here whose car was impounded by Licensing office. She purchased the vehicle from a local car dealer (Who buys and sells local vehicles, not a roll on roll off person).

She was called into licensing office, and the vehicle was impounded due to a discovery of a duplicated chassis number on her vehicle. Now she did transfer the vehicle at time of purchase, 2 years ago in license office (The correct way..i will add) AND she also did an engine change which was registered at licensing office. she got the vehicle inspected, insured etc. etc. etc. while in ownership and during this time NO red flags or concerns were raised while doing all of these transactions at licensing office and the inspection stations.

So, licensing office informed her that she will NOT get back the vehicle, but is there any liability on the car dealer or licensing office for this situation? seeing that all required steps was done for her to own the vehicle?

whatsapp me at 388-7700 if you can provide some advice. thanks

Re: HELP....Car impounded, Duplicated Chassis Number.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 2nd, 2024, 12:04 pm

Has she contacted the dealer who sold her the car?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2024, 12:20 pm

Evo, 3rd gen, altezza or skyline ?

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » June 2nd, 2024, 12:27 pm

I know someone in this same predicament. Subscribed for advice.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 2nd, 2024, 2:20 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Evo, 3rd gen, altezza or skyline ?

wingroad

Postby Kenjo » June 2nd, 2024, 2:52 pm

This was a common thing in the mid 2000s

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 2nd, 2024, 5:12 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Good day folks, i have a friend here whose car was impounded by Licensing office. She purchased the vehicle from a local car dealer (Who buys and sells local vehicles, not a roll on roll off person).

She was called into licensing office, and the vehicle was impounded due to a discovery of a duplicated chassis number on her vehicle. Now she did transfer the vehicle at time of purchase, 2 years ago in license office (The correct way..i will add) AND she also did an engine change which was registered at licensing office. she got the vehicle inspected, insured etc. etc. etc. while in ownership and during this time NO red flags or concerns were raised while doing all of these transactions at licensing office and the inspection stations.

So, licensing office informed her that she will NOT get back the vehicle, but is there any liability on the car dealer or licensing office for this situation? seeing that all required steps was done for her to own the vehicle?

whatsapp me at 388-7700 if you can provide some advice. thanks

Sounds like a tampered chassis and hers is the questionable unit for them to want to seize it.

If it was an administrative error, they would have sorted it. Trace the paperwork, seek legal advice. Unfortunately, if it is a matter of dealer wratch ( I.e an attempt to bring back a crash through chassis number hacking), then she’s up sheit creek and might have to consider civil action against the dealer who sold it to her

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2024, 8:25 pm

Kenjo wrote:

This was a common thing in the mid 2000s

Plenty men getting take these days.

Postby Chimera » June 3rd, 2024, 10:35 am

yup sounding like a lawyer is yuh only recourse

and depending on who the dealer is (because some of them will kill yuh), a threat of social media outing might get yuh friend back some $$

cuz no1 wud wanna buy a car from that dealer knowing what can happen

realtriniman122

Postby realtriniman122 » June 4th, 2024, 10:05 am

That sounds like a real mess. I'd suggest getting legal advice pronto. If all the proper steps were taken on her end and there were no red flags during the transactions, it seems like there might be some responsibility on either the dealer or the licensing office's part.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2024, 1:17 pm

realtriniman122 wrote:That sounds like a real mess. I'd suggest getting legal advice pronto. If all the proper steps were taken on her end and there were no red flags during the transactions, it seems like there might be some responsibility on either the dealer or the licensing office's part.
Car will most likely rot before case cleared

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2024, 1:19 pm

if yuh want to go the alternative method

yuh hatta go lic office and walk around the back and talk to the workers who does assist the officers for inspection etc
them is the ones who could point you in the right direction, they might tell yuh check them back another day

Postby Chimera » June 4th, 2024, 1:29 pm

If the vehicle has been impounded then them touts can't help

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2024, 1:58 pm

true dat, shoulda check them first

abbow

Postby abbow » June 4th, 2024, 1:59 pm

so why a person cant sue LO for failing to detect duplication at the point of the person transfering the vehicle initially?
What systems LO have in place to detect any tampering? I mean why do the vehicle go over the pit and "inspected" by a LO officer?

Also, if it was a administrative error and it takes LO 10 years to rectify, what recourse does this person have?

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2024, 2:02 pm

the amount of administrative spelling errors they make is ridiculous

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 4th, 2024, 4:29 pm

Op can you explain what you mean by "She was called into licensing office" ?
Licensing office have people phone numbers?

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2024, 5:09 pm

pugboy wrote:the amount of administrative spelling errors they make is ridiculous
I spent a yr going thought this because of their error.

Postby Chimera » June 4th, 2024, 5:22 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Op can you explain what you mean by "She was called into licensing office" ?
Err yes they do.

Anytime you go to do a transaction in license office you have to give them your phone number.

Like you only doing racket thing the last few years?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 4th, 2024, 6:23 pm

Chimera wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Op can you explain what you mean by "She was called into licensing office" ?
Err yes they do.

Anytime you go to do a transaction in license office you have to give them your phone number.

Like you only doing racket thing the last few years?
Lol. Nah haven't been there in a while. But good to know if anyone from licensing call i ent going... they can come get it if they wish.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 8th, 2024, 8:52 am

abbow wrote:so why a person cant sue LO for failing to detect duplication at the point of the person transfering the vehicle initially?
What systems LO have in place to detect any tampering? I mean why do the vehicle go over the pit and "inspected" by a LO officer?

Also, if it was a administrative error and it takes LO 10 years to rectify, what recourse does this person have?
Chassis are checked by personnel from Forensics. Have a lady who was "gifted" an aqua by a social media influencer waiting to hear if she will ever get it back because it appears to be tampered with

Postby Chimera » June 8th, 2024, 9:43 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
abbow wrote:so why a person cant sue LO for failing to detect duplication at the point of the person transfering the vehicle initially?

Chassis are checked by personnel from Forensics. Have a lady who was "gifted" an aqua by a social media influencer waiting to hear if she will ever get it back because it appears to be tampered with
That's the one with markos?

abbow

Postby abbow » June 8th, 2024, 11:51 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

LO should have some CSI level Forensic experts working in there given how things are wrt to vehicle tampering.

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2024, 12:36 pm

marlo’s name calling on scam again lol