18 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS NICU

Postby maj. tom » April 11th, 2024, 11:27 pm

Edit: 11 babies https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/posgh-baby-fatalities-rise-to-11-more-parents-come-forward-6.2.1979318.c5745d0cec

Edit 2: It's 12 babies now. https://newsday.co.tt/2024/04/23/another-baby-dies-at-port-of-spain-general-hospital-neonatal-unit/

Edit 3: 18 at POSGH NICU
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/posgh-nicu-baby-death-toll-jumps-to-18-6.2.1984112.a57c44d978

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/7-babies-die-from-bacterial-outbreak-at-pos-hospital/article_089a3c82-f856-11ee-864c-8f8b7ba3dca6.html

NWRHA confirms outbreak at the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

From April 4th to April 7th, the staff at the NICU observed a rapid deterioration in the clinical status of several neonates.

Upon recognizing the severity of the situation, the medical team immediately initiated infectious diseases and controls protocols for the treatment for late-onset neonatal sepsis, a condition known for its rapid onset and potentially devastating consequences.

In response to this heartbreaking situation, the NICU was immediately closed to new admissions to prevent further transmission of the infection and healthy babies discharged.

Rigorous sanitization and sterilization measures were implemented with external contractors involving clinical and non-clinical areas. Internal testing was done by NWRHA’s microbiology lab for potential sources. Additionally, NWRHA has requested external support from CARIRI for environmental testing.

Since April 7th, no new infection has been reported, indicating the effectiveness of these internal measures in halting the spread of the bacteria.

It is with profound sadness that the NWRHA confirms that during this time, some of the very premature neonatal babies at the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) of the Port of Spain General Hospital succumbed to the infection.

Laboratory investigations revealed the presence of three different organisms - Serratia marcesens, ESBL Klebsiella pneumoniae, and Klebsiella aerogenes - all known to pose significant risks to vulnerable neonates. Despite administering high-dose antibiotics and providing advanced and intensive cardio-respiratory support, the infection claimed the lives of some of these preterm babies, all weighing under 1500 grams and less than 32 weeks gestational age.

Throughout this challenging ordeal senior doctors were present providing care to the babies.

Parents were regularly updated of their conditions. All parents have been referred to our Medical Social Work Department for bereavement counseling.

NWRHA sends deepest condolences to the families who are dealing with this tragic loss.

NOTE: TV6 News is reporting that seven babies died.
Last edited by maj. tom on April 24th, 2024, 7:34 am, edited 4 times in total.

Re: 7 babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS hospital

Postby The_Honourable » April 11th, 2024, 11:36 pm

Neonatal deaths by infection happen once in a while at RHAs. Surprised this made it out to the public.

Postby stev » April 12th, 2024, 12:40 am

Trinidad hospitals yes...essay time / small rant:

Unfortunately, my mother in law (to be) is in sando hospital at the moment in bad condition due to complications following a routine gallbladder surgery. They discharged her too early with lack of post surgery monitoring and a bile leak poisoned her body.....kidneys shut down and now she got pneumonia in the ICU...yes.......pneumonia in the fkin ICU.

I visited her today......and there were pigeons sleeping under a hospital bed next to the elevator leading to the ICU...for those who don't know a pigeon is basically a rat with wings.....and the elevator is a good distance from the front doors.

she's healing very slowly (age 56) but the level of care in our hospitals is outrageous. even the evening / night nurses / doctors are filth. I had to threaten (I'm not even that type of person) a young, green and purple haired doctor yesterday because he literally called my GF illiterate to her face (full of arrogance) because she asked how come she got pneumonia in a polite manner....he basically said she won't understand and he don't have the time to explain it to illiterate people (she has a bachelor's). Even the senior doctor on-site had to dismiss him. And he sat down close by on a chair and was throwing talk like an uneducated fool. I threatened him with legal action btw...not anything malicious.

the nurse said that my mother in law taking up too much oxygen and she should just die to give younger people a chance.... I sh*t you not :| imagine the rage my GF felt when hearing that....the ICU had 2 people btw. The nurse complained that she have to be away from her family that hour because old people doh wanna die....people I can't make this sh*t up. Like, why are you even in the profession?

I had to buy B+ vials from St Augustine private and give it to the doctors in Sando because of no supplies....I have a list of other needed meds that they don't have that we have to source tomorrow...

That being said....this is another legal case Sando hospital will be dealing with. I know things were 'bad' but experiencing it does really open your eyes yes. the pigeon situation really had me saying "wtf" out loud though.

another thing that piss me off (not really medical staff related)....the security allowed a person to park ON THE PATHWAY for stretchers coming out of the helipad....sigh

the multi-story parking is great though....should be $5 an hour instead of $8 but hospitals and healthcare are a business at the end of the day.

/rant

Edit: so yeah.....not surprised that 7 babies died. It's unfortunate of course and my condolences goes out to the families. Trinidad and Tobago has gone to the rats (not even dogs) not because of Politics but the actions, laziness and doh care attitude of the people...."dah good so" ent people...lazy MC of a people. That's why we'll continue to fail as a nation.....it's ok though...we get to shake our half naked asses for 2 days of the year and force ourselves to believe we are the best thing in the Caribbean even though we can't get $1 USD from the bank.

Postby maj. tom » April 12th, 2024, 1:04 am

Disgustingly outrageous! I really hope your family pull through. As usual you know you will have to pay a private doctor to get the proper care. That junior "doctor" has to be reprimanded for that attitude. That is some stink god complex he graduated with.

So is now everybody have to be recording every interaction with every public authority with personal bodycams to get these stinkers exposed. Trinidad gone through long time.

P.S. Also see about getting the pneumonia vaccine for your ppl. It's $250 at a private doctor. I tried to get it at a public clinic and they didn't have and a set of stupid attitude to deal with.

Postby pugboy » April 12th, 2024, 5:21 am

thats odd, I have gotten the pneumonia vaccine a few years ago at carenage health centre

Postby Dave » April 12th, 2024, 6:18 am

Apparently there are certain days for certain vaccines. HPV is one available and on certain days.

Pug...are you COVID vaxed and when did you get the pneumonia vaccine.. pre or post Vax if so?

What prompted you to get the pneumonia vaccine?

Postby 16 cycles » April 12th, 2024, 7:10 am

RIP kids.

Heartfelt condolences to the parents.

Postby pugboy » April 12th, 2024, 7:41 am

yeah got covid vax same time as everybody
got the pneumonia later on 2021 as i had lung surgery and doc recommended it along with flu
i think i had to wait a month or something between flu and pneumonia

it’s really recommended for old folks
however i don’t think it covers all types of pneumonia

Dave wrote:Apparently there are certain days for certain vaccines. HPV is one available and on certain days.

Pug...are you COVID vaxed and when did you get the pneumonia vaccine.. pre or post Vax if so?

What prompted you to get the pneumonia vaccine?

Postby Dave » April 12th, 2024, 9:57 am

Thank you... something I have been tossing about for a while.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 12th, 2024, 10:02 am

My SIl and them had a premature baby last year and she ended up in POSGH NICU. AFAIK the treatment there was good. The only thing was one particular heart test that only Mt Hope Pediatrics had the machine for and the baby needed to go there a few times and then back to POSGH.

Hopefully the bacteria thing is solved and they put in measures for the future for what should be one of the better functioning part of the health system.

Postby maj. tom » April 15th, 2024, 6:58 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/fyzabad-mp-calls-for-deyalsinghs-resignation-after-deaths-of-babies-6.2.1976401.81587d871c

Fyzabad MP Dr Lackram Bodoe, the shadow Health Minister, yesterday called for the resignation of Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh following the deaths of seven babies at the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) of the Port-of-Spain General Hospital.

At the UNC’s weekly media briefing yesterday, Bodoe, an obstetrician said since Deyalsingh takes credit for the good work at the neonatal clinics, he should also shoulder the responsibility now that something has gone wrong.

“If the minister truly believes the words he uttered in Parliament that he was personally responsible for the infant mortality rates dropping in 2016, then equally he has to take personal responsibility for this tragedy at the North West Regional Health Authority. I think it is only fair, so in the circumstances, he should do the honourable thing and resign,” he said.

Bodoe’s call for Deyalsingh to resign comes a day after president of the T&T Registered Nurses Association Idi Stuart said heads must roll for the infant deaths.

In Parliament on Friday, Deyalsingh apologised to the parents of the seven babies who died of neonatal sepsis at the NICU between April 4 and 7.

wing

Postby wing » April 15th, 2024, 7:10 am

The nurses association calling for heads to roll. Why does he want his own members fired or locked up? I see they retained && as their lawyer. Hopefully they can get proper compensation.

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2024, 9:14 am

wing wrote:The nurses association calling for heads to roll. Why does he want his own members fired or locked up? I see they retained && as their lawyer. Hopefully they can get proper compensation.
Management is ultimately at fault for not ensuring that sufficient sanitization is carried out. They need to have regimens to sanitize, verify that the standards are upkept. If it's lapsing, they need to be able to detect it, identify what causing the unsanitary condition and take steps to rectify.

wing

Postby wing » April 15th, 2024, 9:20 am

sMASH wrote:
wing wrote:The nurses association calling for heads to roll. Why does he want his own members fired or locked up? I see they retained && as their lawyer. Hopefully they can get proper compensation.
Management is ultimately at fault for not ensuring that sufficient sanitization is carried out. They need to have regimens to sanitize, verify that the standards are upkept. If it's lapsing, they need to be able to detect it, identify what causing the unsanitary condition and take steps to rectify.
It never had a problem until now as far as we can tell. If you put everything in place, equipment, policies, procedures and training and someone still made a mistake, who is to blame? Should the CEO or minister stand up in the ICU and watch over the workers? However if the investigation shows that concerns were not addressed, then minister, CEO, doctor, nurse must face the full brunt.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 15th, 2024, 9:23 am

Is 3 pathogens they identify responsible for the deaths. Somebody felt they were too good to sterilize themselves properly before entering the sterile room.

They won't identify the culprit. They will keep quiet if they did as it would be one of their friends. Nothing will happen.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 15th, 2024, 10:06 am

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:
It never had a problem until now as far as we can tell. If you put everything in place, equipment, policies, procedures and training and someone still made a mistake, who is to blame? Should the CEO or minister stand up in the ICU and watch over the workers? However if the investigation shows that concerns were not addressed, then minister, CEO, doctor, nurse must face the full brunt.

When it was covid it was the prime minister and the cmo that save we life. Now people dead it's not their fault?

wing

Postby wing » April 15th, 2024, 10:13 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:

When it was covid it was the prime minister and the cmo that save we life. Now people dead it's not their fault?
Go and be a jackass in the UNC thread nah.

Postby maj. tom » April 15th, 2024, 11:30 am

The_Honourable wrote:Neonatal deaths by infection happen once in a while at RHAs. Surprised this made it out to the public.
Different reason according to the Health Minister at the time. However statistically these numbers within such short periods are abnormal and horrifying for infant mortality.

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/claims-of-16-nicu-deaths-at-san-fernando-hospital/article_d4589666-f75d-11e8-898a-77f803971a42.html

CLAIMS OF 16 NICU DEATHS AT SAN FERNANDO HOSPITAL
Cindy Raghubar-Teekersingh Dec 3, 2018 Updated Dec 17, 2019 Comments
At least 16 babies have died at the San Fernando General Hospital in the last month.

It sounds like an outrageous statement, but it's the claim by one health worker directly linked to the institution's neo-natal intensive care unit.

The employee has asked us to protect their identity fearing repercussions at work, and so for this Cindy Raghubar-Teekersingh report, their image and voice will be concealed.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/deyalsingh-premature-baby-deaths-cant-be-stopped
--------

Deyalsingh: Premature baby deaths can't be stopped
Darlisa GhouralalJanuary 2, 2019 04:30 PM ET
While there has been a reduction in premature infant deaths over the past three years, there is nothing that can be done to eliminate this occurrence.

That's according to Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh who made the comment while speaking with reporters following a visit to the San Fernando General Hospital on New Year's Day to welcome the first babies born for 2019.

He was responding to media reports that at least 16 ba­bies died in the Neona­tal In­ten­sive Care Unit (NICU) dur­ing over a two month period at the San Fer­nan­do Gen­er­al Hos­pi­tal (SFGH).

Acknowledging that there was a spate of infant deaths between October and November, Deyalsingh said these were due largely to unexplained premature births. He noted that in these cases, babies were being born as low as one kilogramme, with birth defects.

Postby Habit7 » April 15th, 2024, 11:47 am

Let CARIRI and PAHO investigate and let the results determine whose heads roll. If it was a nurse who refused to wash her hands, fire her. If it was systemic problems unique to POSGH, fire the CEO. If it is systematic problems at the MoH fire the minister.

But while this might be news to most ppl, hospital acquired inflections are not rare. Plus the rise of antibiotic resistant infections complicates it even more.

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2024, 12:19 pm

How they gonna track that one person though?
They only realize what going on probably after 3 or 4 babies die

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2024, 2:29 pm

Calling on patients, to come forward with stories about infections.

Most peole would not know the history or track record of the facility. So is to get testimony and see if it's a trend, or just an unfortunate coincidence.

Heads hadda jail if it's a trend that was kept hush

Postby The_Honourable » April 15th, 2024, 3:35 pm

This incident is at the RHA level and not the MoH so the ministry safe, we know the health minister not going anywhere, nurses for the most part unionized, and the doctors are protected by their association which usually bails them out after an "investigation".

From history, the CEO and maybe the Medical Director gets the axe to appease the public and the minister.

But judging from the Paria diving incident, the CEO and board not going anywhere.

The Court is pretty much the only place to get justice, which will take a decade or so with taxpayers money jumping up.

Postby Habit7 » April 15th, 2024, 5:21 pm

The_Honourable wrote:This incident is at the RHA level and not the MoH so the ministry safe, we know the health minister not going anywhere, nurses for the most part unionized, and the doctors are protected by their association which usually bails them out after an "investigation".

From history, the CEO and maybe the Medical Director gets the axe to appease the public and the minister.

But judging from the Paria diving incident, the CEO and board not going anywhere.

The Court is pretty much the only place to get justice, which will take a decade or so with taxpayers money jumping up.

I agree.

I hear ppl saying “that is why I go private.” AFAIK the only NICUs in the country are in public hospitals.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 16th, 2024, 12:08 pm

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:This incident is at the RHA level and not the MoH so the ministry safe, we know the health minister not going anywhere, nurses for the most part unionized, and the doctors are protected by their association which usually bails them out after an "investigation".

I agree.

I hear ppl saying “that is why I go private.” AFAIK the only NICUs in the country are in public hospitals.

Dr Prakashban's Sanjivani Hospital in St Augustine has a Level II NICU
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/tts-fir ... 395d04698e

I'm sure ppl will still go public when they find out the price at Sanjivani

Postby Habit7 » April 16th, 2024, 12:40 pm

Good to know. When last I went through that rigamarole there were no private NICUs.

Postby matr1x » April 16th, 2024, 12:47 pm

Man, even babies not safe from the pnm government

Postby 16 cycles » April 16th, 2024, 12:47 pm

if there is an uptick in pre-mature births, MoH ought to investigate reasoning.

MoH can also enact a policy for mothers in the 2nd/3rd Trimester and see if it brings down the numbers of pre-mature births.
National Health Insurance and Min of Labour might have to also provide input in policy.

Postby redmanjp » April 16th, 2024, 2:09 pm

matr1x wrote:Man, even babies not safe from the pnm government

less future supporters ?

wing

Postby wing » April 16th, 2024, 3:18 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Newsday

Deyalsingh: PAHO to probe babies' hospital deaths

HEALTH Minister Terrence Deyalsingh says the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) will launch an independent investigation into the deaths of seven premature babies at the Port of Spain General Hospital between April 4 and 7.

Deyalsingh was responding to a question from Opposition Senator Wade Mark in the Senate on April 16.

He said the investigation will seek to determine whether any neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) infection prevention and control protocols were breached with respect to the deaths of the babies.

Deyalsingh added that the composition of PAHO's team will be determined by the information provided to it by the ministry and the North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA).

In response to a separate question from Opposition Senator Jayanti Lutchnmedial-Ramdial, Deyalsingh said medical notes and records requested by the parents of the babies will be provided to them either by the end of the day or April 17 by the latest.