Selecting a Career Path

DemiCelph

Selecting a Career Path

Postby DemiCelph » February 15th, 2024, 10:56 am

How did you make your decision when choosing your current job, and what factors influenced your choice?

Mmoney607

Re: Selecting a Career Path

Postby Mmoney607 » February 15th, 2024, 11:24 am

Be born with a high iq, from a middle class family in a stable country. Otherwise hard luck

death365

Postby death365 » February 15th, 2024, 12:23 pm

for most of us .. we fall a$$ back into a job, usually office type after skol an we run wit dat till now. after ah while we did degrees that falls in line wit d wok.

if u are asking what to choose as a career there are a few options:

1. do what yuh like - if yuh like tech study it, what ever u like focus on it and develop it to ur career

2. if yuh good at it - aka if u good with ur trade stf follow that.

3. fall a$$ back into a job, usually office type after skol an run wit dat

4. if yuh academically inclined - do a Bachelors > Masters - start lecturing > MPhil > Doctorate - become professor

5. if mammy and daddy connected - well yuh done kno

6. taxi wok does pay good eh, once u or ur parents can buy ah 7 seater 4 yuh

7. fake or get diaeknosed wit some kinda dis-ability and live off Public Assistance

8. dont do anything and see how life works out

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » February 15th, 2024, 12:25 pm

Eatin food and payin bills is important. Its ok to have a crappy job if thats the only option. Whats not OK is not trying to better one self

Postby gastly369 » February 15th, 2024, 12:34 pm

kuchurV2 wrote:Eatin food and payin bills is important. Its ok to have a crappy job if thats the only option. Whats not OK is not trying to better one self
Most trini goals... Wok make just enough to buy rum weekend and get a play from ah kfc snack pack rat and repeat the next week... No future goals planning etc

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 15th, 2024, 12:53 pm

Go to the right school and make friends with the right people and learn from observation. If you real good, your partners might hook you up with a link in one of the family businesses.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 15th, 2024, 12:56 pm

If you could get a scholarship somewhere and buss out early, do that 110%. Don't wait till you're in your 30s to try and do that, unless you somehow manage to make enough money to retire early.

Postby paid_influencer » February 15th, 2024, 5:22 pm

island doh really have 'career path' bro
island too small. opportunities too limited to make a 'career path'
is more like some loose gravel spread out
so find a footing and hope it ent slide out underneath you
if it slide out you just hadda take the fall and try again
Last edited by paid_influencer on February 15th, 2024, 5:28 pm, edited 3 times in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 15th, 2024, 5:26 pm

There's a difference between a career and a job. Most people have jobs, few people have careers. Let that sink in.

Selecting a Career Path

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 15th, 2024, 6:21 pm

DemiCelph wrote:How did you make your decision when choosing your current job, and what factors influenced your choice?

Gonna sound like BS, but it’s a mix of luck, destiny, opportunity and preparation.

I outgrew most of my previous jobs. Hit a glass ceiling and jumped ship to another ladder where there was another glass ceiling.

Preparation: you have to stay academically fit. Keep learning, do short courses spread across different themes in your field.

Preparation helps with luck and opportunity. The networking you get during these courses mean some opportunities are dumped on your lap and you need to run with it.

Destiny is an iffy one, but I landed some roles that I think were meant for me. Had early onset imposter syndrome but I always put in the work and delivered consistently good performance and results.

Back in the day I would have jumped for salary alone.
Now…
I would choose salary/benefits/hours/load/stress while factoring in my family life.

If you’re still early in your career you can afford to take more risks. When you start to balance kids, university funds, mortgage etc risk appetite decreases significantly although opportunities increase.

What’s your field?

Postby Monk BANzai » February 16th, 2024, 2:56 pm

whatever path you take, remember these two things:

1. The Streets are undefeated.
2. You cant make a housewife out of a Heaux.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » February 20th, 2024, 8:35 am

When it came to picking a job, I really had to think about what was important to me. I wanted a job I liked and one that also paid the bills. I looked at a lot of different jobs before I made up my mind.

I ended up finding some of the best places to work in AZ, which helped me choose where I wanted to go. I got a job at a tech place that's really cool and treats me well. It was just what I was looking for.