Did a tire shop ever steal your stem valve caps?

Ueli

Did a tire shop ever steal your stem valve caps?

Postby Ueli » December 28th, 2023, 9:58 am

I went to change my tires a few weeks ago, upon washing my wheels I realized that my nice stem valve caps missing.

I am angry about it and considering bussing a in that shop.

Re: Did a tire shop ever steal your stem valve caps?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 28th, 2023, 10:15 am

Thats why normal plastic caps are the best
Nobody will steal it and the tire shop will give you 1 free if you missing one

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 28th, 2023, 10:43 am

"A few weeks ago" yuh say. May not be the tyre shop. Possible you park up somewhere and some pest took it.

Postby Rovin » December 28th, 2023, 10:47 am

maybe they simply forget to put it back on

none wrong with normal cheap plastic black caps cause its not like most ppl gonna pay attention to something so insignificant & say waaaay check out dem caps it rel bess eh ...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 28th, 2023, 10:49 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Thats why normal plastic caps are the best
Nobody will steal it and the tire shop will give you 1 free if you missing one

Dey tiefing dat too. Not only them. Check your car after parking anywhere. Side of road, mall car park, grocery car park, anywhere there is a crowd of cars. Some fool will tief one or all.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 28th, 2023, 10:50 am

I used to have chrome caps and I never remember to take them out when I change tyres. The tyre shop always replaces them with black ones when they put in the new tyres.

I don't think they steal them, its just they automatically use what they have on hand without studying what they took off. I just use the black ones now.

Postby maj. tom » December 28th, 2023, 11:27 am

You shouldn't use anything but the black plastic caps. All the others corrode. And get stuck. And corrode the valve stems. And if your car has the tire pressure monitor system you have to replace that with replacing the valve stems since the corrosion eat away at everything. Just use the $2 black plastic caps.

Postby gastly369 » December 28th, 2023, 12:01 pm

I like mines stealth so the free one from shop works perfect.. Black rubber cap and stem

Postby sMASH » December 28th, 2023, 12:03 pm

Opposite. The guy gave me 4... That were from other vehicles

Postby stev » December 28th, 2023, 1:40 pm

i feddup...mine always getting stolen.

resorted to the cheap plastic ones.

Postby redmanjp » December 28th, 2023, 1:46 pm

i always thought they simply get slack and fall off somewhere

wingnut

Postby wingnut » December 28th, 2023, 1:46 pm

All 4 gone?

Some of them shops jus sloppy and doesn't put it back on

Xplode

Postby Xplode » December 28th, 2023, 2:24 pm

Them youths use them on the bicycles' , chrome ones especially.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 28th, 2023, 2:32 pm

I had a tyre shop steal my fancy blue ones, and then have the audacity to try to sell me them back. I politely showed the bossman pics of them on my wheels from before, and requested that they be put back on.
Lets just say that tyre shop will never see a cent from me again.

Postby gastly369 » December 28th, 2023, 3:37 pm

Xplode wrote:Them youths use them on the bicycles' , chrome ones especially.
Diz why the village youth by me bike mysteriously mashup and end up in a bonfire... All the jackassry done instantly

Postby aaron17 » December 28th, 2023, 4:19 pm

Center wheel cap logo emblem does fall out. I hadda stik it with silicone. I thought somebody does take it but when u the road bumpy..it does get loose and fly out.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 28th, 2023, 4:37 pm

People does actually put those caps on. :shock:

I don't use any at all.

Postby RBphoto » December 28th, 2023, 11:01 pm

School children steal them regularly on Harris promenade.

Postby 88sins » December 29th, 2023, 12:16 am

DMan7 wrote:People does actually put those caps on. :shock:

I don't use any at all.

Was gonna post exactly this

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2023, 7:09 am

there is a little bit of sufferer in all of us
some more than others

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2023, 7:17 am

I was riding meh bmx and realize I was missing some nice caps...hardluckdehboyopboydanboi

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 29th, 2023, 10:15 am

If you want to have fancy valve caps, just tighten them a bit with a pliers/spanner. Just ensure you spray some WD40 on the valve threads before tightening them and that the valve cap has the little rubber gasket up inside of it. No one will steal them.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 29th, 2023, 10:24 am

I grew up teefing caps in my teenage years for my GT Pro-Performer BMX. :lol:

Later on i wud take off caps and put a small stone in them then screw it back on to make a tyre run flat....as an Adult.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 29th, 2023, 10:26 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:If you want to have fancy valve caps, just tighten them a bit with a pliers/spanner. Just ensure you spray some WD40 on the valve threads before tightening them and that the valve cap has the little rubber gasket up inside of it. No one will steal them.

we used to roll with a small pliers just for that purpose. NO cap escaped. Sad part is someone would then come and teef the cap you teef'd from your bmx rim.

This angered me. My hard work to teef was teef'd. :evil:

Postby wagonrunner » December 29th, 2023, 1:16 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Thats why normal plastic caps are the best

exactly why as much as the solar tire pressure monitoring systems intrigue me, they're not to be.

Postby rollingstock » December 29th, 2023, 10:51 pm

I have the aftermarket tpms. If installed properly very difficult to remove. Never me and those cheap aluminium caps. Sheit corrodes and becomes seized.

Postby rollingstock » December 29th, 2023, 10:55 pm

Screenshot_2023-12-29-22-53-14-490-edit_com.facebook.katana.jpg

From several years ago. Entire valve stem wrung out and cap never came off. Not me again

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 30th, 2023, 1:36 pm

Have a solar TPMS for about four years now . On my second set. Never had a problem with them being stolen, and it has saved me from am inconvenient tire change many times .

Will always have on a car going forward

Postby Monk BANzai » December 31st, 2023, 3:01 pm

PariaMan wrote:Have a solar TPMS for about four years now . On my second set. Never had a problem with them being stolen, and it has saved me from am inconvenient tire change many times .

Will always have on a car going forward

so question. It replaces the stem valve caps? what feature prevents them from being stolen?

Postby Monk BANzai » December 31st, 2023, 3:02 pm

rollingstock wrote:I have the aftermarket tpms. If installed properly very difficult to remove. Never me and those cheap aluminium caps. Sheit corrodes and becomes seized.

so when you have to put air in the tyre..how is it removed? Is there a bypass cap for air filling?

I have questions.