What was your first car and how did you finance its purchase?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » April 13th, 2023, 8:18 pm

1.)What was your first ever car?
2.)How did you finance its purchase?
3.)Do you prefer new or used? Why?
4.)What is the maximum amount you will ever pay for a vehicle before you think your money could be better utilized elsewhere?

Re: What was your first car and how did you finance its purchase?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 14th, 2023, 12:33 am

First car was a PAU Mazda 323.
First car I bought was a CK4 Lancer from Diamond Motors financed through Scotiabank in 1999.
Can't beat new for warranty and peace of mind.
Maximum amount is how much you can afford to pay a loan or cash at the point in time, taking into consideration the depreciation of the asset. Don't spend more than you can afford especially on something that is going to lose value almost immediately.
The Evo is the only car I bought that has appreciated in value over the 20+ years since I bought it given the current going price. But that value might be subjective.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 14th, 2023, 4:58 am

First car was a GSR box Lancer bought cash. I could only afford used so i really don’t have a choice. Saying that I would probably spend max about $120k on a good used 4x4 or 7 seater to make some money. I stopped buying vehicles that I can’t use to make money years ago. It’s either gonna be a people mover or goods mover

Postby nervewrecker » April 14th, 2023, 7:18 am

As we on this, anywhere sells used cars on terms? Or maybe a 4x2 pickup truck.

Preferably in south.

Person has stable employment, government job.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 14th, 2023, 8:13 am

nervewrecker wrote:As we on this, anywhere sells used cars on terms? Or maybe a 4x2 pickup truck.

Preferably in south.

Person has stable employment, government job.

https://www.facebook.com/rent2owntt
saw this on FB. The maths will be insane and it will make island finance look good.

Better they take a loan and buy it the traditional way instead of through external arrangements.

A172 / RVI Imports does in house financing on RORO and his prices good. Won't get a van tho.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 14th, 2023, 8:24 am

First car: Rotten down 910 bluebird, because I didn't know better and didn't have anyone giving me good car advice. (yes, despite have a father and uncles, long story).
I had a temporary job and that car cost three months salary. Still borrowed some stacks from my mums and my grandma gave me a couple G blessings, so I bought it cash in envelope.

Twenty years after that, and after a journey through local used, used RORO, self-imported RORO - I finally decided that I don't want anyone else's headache and bought my first new vehicle in 2022.

My wife's journey has been different. Her first car was a brand new Suzuki swift, gave 5 years of zero stress and minor parts required. Her second car was a brand new corolla, which called for some expensive parts by the 7-8th year. Both were reliable and maintainance was good.

With a beat out used car or abused RORO, you'll be playing catch-up with repairs from the jump, so any perceived savings would be quickly negated.

My general advice
For a first time car owner, trying to balance cost with reliability, I would strongly suggest high quality local used for a model less than 5 years old (single owner, low mileage, dealer maintained). Parts will be fairly accessible and affordable. You can make some driving mistakes and it won't cost you a kidney to fix.

After that you can make the jump to new.

I have no issue with RORO, but there are too many unscrupulous dealers who bringing cars with 300,000+ on the clock rolled back and have you thinking you save in terms of maintenance....BUT get some crix to accompany that jam.

How much is too much?
If you have a travel allowance, your monthly instalment should be around that. Avoid loans more than 5/6 years for new. 3/4 for RORO. Do your own math to see what the ceiling is

matix

Postby matix » April 14th, 2023, 8:39 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:First car: Rotten down 910 bluebird, because I didn't know better and didn't have anyone giving me good car advice. (yes, despite have a father and uncles, long story).
I had a temporary job and that car cost three months salary. Still borrowed some stacks from my mums and my grandma gave me a couple G blessings, so I bought it cash in envelope.

Twenty years after that, and after a journey through local used, used RORO, self-imported RORO - I finally decided that I don't want anyone else's headache and bought my first new vehicle in 2022.

My wife's journey has been different. Her first car was a brand new Suzuki swift, gave 5 years of zero stress and minor parts required. Her second car was a brand new corolla, which called for some expensive parts by the 7-8th year. Both were reliable and maintainance was good.

With a beat out used car or abused RORO, you'll be playing catch-up with repairs from the jump, so any perceived savings would be quickly negated.

My general advice
For a first time car owner, trying to balance cost with reliability, I would strongly suggest high quality local used for a model less than 5 years old (single owner, low mileage, dealer maintained). Parts will be fairly accessible and affordable. You can make some driving mistakes and it won't cost you a kidney to fix.

After that you can make the jump to new.

I have no issue with RORO, but there are too many unscrupulous dealers who bringing cars with 300,000+ on the clock rolled back and have you thinking you save in terms of maintenance....BUT get some crix to accompany that jam.

How much is too much?
If you have a travel allowance, your monthly instalment should be around that. Avoid loans more than 5/6 years for new. 3/4 for RORO. Do your own math to see what the ceiling is

Solid advice.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 14th, 2023, 9:19 am

My first car was a CS3 Lancer RORO. Financed with a bank for 70% of the purchase price.

The good old days where all the sedans in that class were sub 100k.

Personally I will prefer new but a good low mileage local used would be a good buy and an option as well.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » April 14th, 2023, 9:36 am

Guys,

My First Car purchase was PP-4511 Datsun 1200 cc car,

Cash purchase TT$4,500.00 in 1982.

Due to cost Used was preferred - A new Lancer from the firm was ~TT$28,000.

My budget for any vehicle purchase ranges from around TT$ 30,000 to ~150,000.

More than that is dead cash

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » April 14th, 2023, 11:37 am

First car: Nissan Tiida which I still have 11 years later. Purchased via loan from Venture Credit Union. Bought an aqua for my wife 2 years ago but yet I still prefer my tiida. Will look to sell it in the near future tho.

one eye

Postby one eye » April 14th, 2023, 11:39 am

The first car I bought was a PAY Mazda 626, bought new for $60k fully loaded.

It was financed by First Citizens.

I prefer buying new cars or even a RORO would be fine with me.

The most I would spend on a car is $250k (depends on if I really like it).

Postby toyolink » April 14th, 2023, 11:43 am

My first car was a vauxhal Victor 102 2000cc slant engine and it cost $1700.
I think I got a staff loan.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » April 14th, 2023, 12:56 pm

Meh nana finance my first car a used hatchback laser , he made me repay 23k to my parents I grew up in a poor household that car was stolen, Second car Scotiabank financed for me 42k b12 wagon

Postby Chimera » April 14th, 2023, 1:01 pm

had a 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse, got it while doing some work for the police, ended up blowing up after some chinese fellas from the triad hit it some bullets after a street race and me and my bredrin had to walk home after

allyuh doh find this is a kinda trappy question/thread to see people age, how long they had money, if they come from money, etc?

allyuh men openly saying how much u willing to spend on a car too

Postby gastly369 » April 14th, 2023, 1:02 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:had a 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse, got it while doing some work for the police, ended up blowing up after some chinese fellas from the triad hit it some bullets after a street race and me and my bredrin had to walk home after

allyuh doh find this is a kinda trappy question/thread to see people age, how long they had money, if they come from money, etc?

I does ride bicycle still...

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 14th, 2023, 1:36 pm

1 Turbo Hayabusa
2 work to own
3 new
4 about three fiddy
5 yes

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 14th, 2023, 4:28 pm

used EK4 civic. $50K (Saved up to purchase)
~additional 10k in parts to get it mechanically sound

Reasons for purchase:
Needed comfortable transport
Wanted To learn how to fix a car
I wanted to experience the suspension and the engine to find out what the fuss was about.
Some of the best aftermarket support for any vehicle today.

Don't mind going back to the used market as I learned what to look for... and I know if I'm willing to take the time to fix it or not. Getting a used car generally requires access to a second vehicle so you can get the parts you need to fix the other. You will also need access to a good mechanic; there aren't many of those.

If I'm going to purchase new, I am looking for the cheapest new vehicle I can get that has looks that I can tolerate from a Japanese marque (maybe Korean but I will have to do extra research for them). New vehicles also have their own headache; appointments for service, warranty issues, waiting on parts for new vehicles...

My rule of thumb at the time was that the used vehicle shouldn't cost more than half of any new vehicle, currently being sold on the market, that I'm looking at.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » April 14th, 2023, 6:39 pm

How do you finance the purchase of a vehicle if you aren't working but the job requires you to have a vehicle..

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 14th, 2023, 7:46 pm

AlphaMan wrote:How do you finance the purchase of a vehicle if you aren't working but the job requires you to have a vehicle..

Work to own.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 14th, 2023, 9:27 pm

AlphaMan wrote:How do you finance the purchase of a vehicle if you aren't working but the job requires you to have a vehicle..

Work to own will drain your bank account faster than credit card debt.
Look for another job.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 16th, 2023, 7:14 pm

First car owned by me was a 910 sedan(pops had a 910 wagon, I never like wagon) I worked rbl clerical right outta school and save all thanks to mums help. about 3yrs after somebody offer to buy for project car and I got mums 'zuki Liana to use. Then me and cuz put up and got a dacia crapmobile. Thing cost 450quid but that b!tch was reliable for almost 3yrs.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 16th, 2023, 7:21 pm

gastly369 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:had a 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse, got it while doing some work for the police, ended up blowing up after some chinese fellas from the triad hit it some bullets after a street race and me and my bredrin had to walk home after

I does ride bicycle still...
ED??!!

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » April 17th, 2023, 8:46 am

First vehicle was a pau 626 coupe used for about 10k. That engine never fail although it used to burn oil but I flip it and write it off.
Second vehicle was pax 626 coupe I buy from my uncle about 3 yrs after for about 7k, worked well, sold that.
Bought a used y11 wingroad for about 25k, still have that up to now.

Postby bluefete » April 17th, 2023, 1:40 pm

Mitsubishi Lancer PAL or something like that. Paid about $15k for it at the time used. I barely remember how I funded it - I think from savings.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » April 17th, 2023, 2:51 pm

2002 Toyota Altezza AS200

Gift

New cause why not? Not everything should be used and hand me down!

4.)What is the maximum amount you will ever pay for a vehicle before you think your money could be better utilized elsewhere?

$400k
Last edited by Tezzadude on April 11th, 2024, 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 18th, 2023, 9:18 am

Dad bought Nissan y11 wingroad f/used @30k kms

Handed down by my father @280k kms

New, I like having my stuff a certain way. And trust for people isn’t there anymore

Most I will pay is whatever I can afford without being in debt.

2nd vehicle was a d40, bought new by my father. My wingroad was sold to acquire his bt50 and I got the d40. Had my eyes on a forester but decided to stick with a van as my business was starting.

Sold d40, purchased the np300 new ( only used finance for like 1/3 of the price to build credit)

Bought a 2022 Forester because I always wanted one and I think my mom deserves it, gives me peace of mind when she or my wife do decide to use it safety wise.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » April 19th, 2023, 8:26 pm

Whats the cheapest you can pay for a vehicle and get something reliable?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 19th, 2023, 8:31 pm

You like rolling your eyes alot in your posts man. What going on?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 19th, 2023, 9:01 pm

First car, b11 sunny, second xar, p11 wagon 3rd vehicle Toyota vigo, 4th y12 rider and 5th chevy cruze 1.8

Still have 4th and 5th.

B11 was car show ting
P11 wagon was car show look and big music system

Vigo had 20 chrome and carry boy

Y12 has 20chromes ans wrapped body kit
Chevy- body kit and stock 17's....for now

Like the car show finish and music scene. Jumping back in the dance in a few years. Sons will be teenagers soon and they already like fast cars and loud music tings...lol

Done it all 100% on my own.

Only hilux and chevy were small loans.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 20th, 2023, 8:52 am

AlphaMan wrote:Whats the cheapest you can pay for a vehicle and get something reliable?

1993 EG8/9 CKD purchased "second hand" in 2004
Hands down one of the most reliable and fun car I ever owned.