Riots in Haiti

Postby adnj » January 29th, 2023, 11:37 am

Now the police are rioting in Haiti

Haiti in turmoil as police riot over officer deaths
Jan D. Walter
20 hours ago

The Haitian government is under mounting pressure amid violent protests by police, who have accused acting Prime Minister Ariel Henry of inaction. The UN is considering sending troops to stabilize the nation in crisis.

For years, Haiti has been stuck in an ongoing political and humanitarian crisis. Now, plainclothes officers have attacked the private residence of acting Prime Minister Ariel Henry as he was traveling back to the capital, Port-au-Prince, from a summit of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States. Later, protesters, most of whom also said they were officers, stormed the capital's airport, purportedly to block Henry's plane from landing.

These riots have come in response to mounting cases of police killings. According to the National Union of Haitian Police Officers, in the past two weeks alone suspected gang members have murdered up to 15 officers.

The police are accusing the unelected prime minister of failing to show his support, with some even suggesting that Henry is involved with criminal gangs himself. Haiti's National Human Rights Defense Network has reported 78 security officers killed since Henry assumed office in mid-2021.

https://www.dw.com/en/haiti-in-turmoil- ... a-64546340

Re: Riots in Haiti

Postby Dizzy28 » January 29th, 2023, 12:11 pm

Damn it France!!!

Postby bluefete » January 29th, 2023, 12:14 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Damn it France!!!

LOL. Now coming to post the same thing.

The legacy of French repression continues to mar Haiti to this day.

They will never be allowed to catch a breather because they were the first nation in the western hemisphere to have a successful slave rebellion against their French masters.

The French will never forget but everyone else wants us to forget that slavery ever existed.

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2023, 12:16 pm

meanwhile other french colonies, martinique, tahiti et
looking on

Postby maj. tom » January 29th, 2023, 12:17 pm

I think he meant that with an /s.

Postby bluefete » January 29th, 2023, 12:18 pm

pugboy wrote:meanwhile other french colonies, martinique, tahiti et
looking on

They are happy like pappy to be under the rule of their French colonialists.

Last week Burkina Faso told France to get their troops out of the country .

France has complied.

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2023, 1:13 pm

yup, go ahead and handle allyuh stories

Postby Dizzy28 » January 29th, 2023, 1:26 pm

Martinique, Guadeloupe et al are not colonies. They are overseas departments accorded all rights as mainland departments.

Fun fact, in the last election Martinique and Guadeloupe overwhelmingly voted for Le Pen and her anti immigrant party.
bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:meanwhile other french colonies, martinique, tahiti et
looking on

They are happy like pappy to be under the rule of their French colonialists.

Last week Burkina Faso told France to get their troops out of the country .

France has complied.

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2023, 2:23 pm

oops yes that is what i meant

Postby MaxPower » January 29th, 2023, 2:41 pm

Meanwhile the TTPS taking wine in all dem fete.

Trini sweet too bad yes.

Postby timelapse » January 29th, 2023, 7:49 pm

Damn my dyslexia.I read the topic as Roti in Haiti

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 29th, 2023, 7:51 pm

^Funny you mention that I read it as Riots in Hell

Postby 88sins » January 29th, 2023, 11:03 pm

Is it just me, or anybody else get the sinking sensation that place like it just blight?

ah mean, that place is one problem followed by another year in year out non stop for decades now.

Postby MaxPower » January 29th, 2023, 11:46 pm

88sins wrote:Is it just me, or anybody else get the sinking sensation that place like it just blight?

ah mean, that place is one problem followed by another year in year out non stop for decades now.

Yeh Ebenezar, reminds me of a Caribbean country south of them.

Postby timelapse » January 30th, 2023, 6:45 am

88sins wrote:Is it just me, or anybody else get the sinking sensation that place like it just blight?

Is de Voodoo!

Postby matr1x » January 30th, 2023, 7:22 am

This is news?

I would be surprised if the headline was "peace in Haiti "

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 30th, 2023, 8:45 am

Hmmm, what's the country of origin of the rioters?

Postby gastly369 » January 30th, 2023, 8:53 am

timelapse wrote:Damn my dyslexia.I read the topic as Roti in Haiti
Great not only me then...
Done open looking for a youtube video with some trini that in haiti open a rotishop or some yes....

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 30th, 2023, 4:08 pm

we hailing out roti in this thread allyuh

Postby timelapse » January 30th, 2023, 6:50 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:we hailing out roti in this thread allyuh
Now I feeling for a good buss up shot.Anybody having a prayers?

Postby 88sins » January 30th, 2023, 9:12 pm

Yeh Ebenezar, reminds me of a Caribbean country south of them.

Why you eh spend your time in a more productive endeavor, like trying to figure out which donkey sired you?

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2023, 4:40 pm