THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

The Official Tropical Weather Thread 2022

Postby MISHI » August 10th, 2008, 11:56 am

Welcome to the official Tropical Weather Thread. All weather related info for Trinidad & Tobago and the Tropics in general will posted here.

All image maps and weather related satellite imagery etc are listed below:

Live RADAR

4 Image

8 Image

9 Image

10 [img]http://icons.wunderground.com/data/images/sst_basin/gl_sst.gif[/img]

11 Image

Saharan Dust layer

ADDED BY XTECH

Dust / Dry Air

Click Link for Image Loop updated every 30min
http://rammb.cira.colostate.edu/ramsdis/online/loop.asp?data_folder=rmtc/rmtcbarir42&width=640&height=480

Live Lightning Detector Map
[img]http://images.blitzortung.org/Images/image_b_earth.png?t=25437677[/img]

(HURRICANE SEASON NOTE)

As always, from the ending of May, it comes the time once again, when we start looking eastward (and also westward in rare cases)

To all the posters, actual meteorologists (especially Hook) with info, links and warnings/ advisories... special thanks are in order. Now Trinidad may be more South of the belt, while Tobago is more in the line of fire, but this does not exempt Trinidad from being hit.

And while most like to state that God is a Trini, should a hurricane actually hit Trinidad, the cry shall become "The Devil is a Trini" as well. If you're one of those individuals... I suggest you start thinking seriously about the weather cause in a heartbeat you can lose everything: You have to experience the power that is a storm (depression/ tropical storm/ hurricane) to understand why it isn't something to be taken lightly.

- Mishi.

What you need to know & what you should have BEFORE the season starts

(This excerpt from gulf coast.com )

Step 1.

KNOW SOME OF THE DANGERS ASSOCIATED WITH A STORM.

Flooding
Can occur from heavy rains,rivers,drainage ditches.
Storm Surge
Typically associated with the land falling hurricane.
Depending on intensity of storm, can cover extremely
large areas of coastline, as Katrina demonstrated.
The storm surge typically causes the most deaths associated
with a hurricane.
High Wind
Roof damage,falling trees,power lines, can demolish entire
homes.
Tornadoes (sounds crazy for trinidad but it's possible)
Often occur with land falling hurricanes. Can cause tremendous
wind type damage very far from the center of a hurricane in
unexpected areas.
Know what potential hazards may affect you or your home. Flooding potential, storm surge susceptibility. If your home or residence may flood. (or any major threat) LEAVE.

Step 2.

Start collecting material and supplies NOW. Wood / Shutters for boarding up windows. Dont wait until the last minute to try to aquire wood and then cut and mount it. Have it precut and ready to mount. Store it until needed. I know from experience that trying to hold a 8x4 plywood sheet on a ladder in gusty wind is very difficult.
Who would have guessed that the ply-lock clips used to mount plywood sheets on windows would disappear off the shelfs as a storm approached.. Prepare Early.

Test your generator NOW (if you have one) and perform any repairs. A generator that doesnt work properly after the storm is not very helpful.

Step 3.

Have an evacuation plan. While you can not easily say where exactly you will evacuate months in advance. Ensure your friends and family know where you plan to evacuate.

Step 4.

If a hurricane developes. Stay Informed! Do be caught by suprise if a storms path or intensity changes. We know that a storms path and intensity can change dramatically in hours. In sometimes, unexpected manners. OBEY your local governments recommendations. If they suggest you leave the area..seriously consider leaving. Know where local shelters are setup. Know what is allowed to take to a shelter. Dont just show up without food or water or blankets. They may not be setup to provide them. They will be providing a place thats safer to stay in than your home in most cases.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your Disaster Supply Kit (Yes YOU should have one)-

The following (taken from the NHC Disaster Supply Kit Instructions) should be included in everyones "Kit".

Water - at least 1 gallon daily per person for 3 to 7 days (more is better)

Food - at least enough for 3 to 7 days
• non-perishable packaged or canned food / juices
• foods for infants or the elderly
• snack foods
• non-electric can opener
• cooking tools / fuel
• paper plates / plastic utensils

Blankets / Pillows, etc.

Clothing - seasonal / rain gear/ sturdy shoes

First Aid Kit / Medicines / Prescription Drugs

Special Items - for babies and the elderly

Toiletries / Hygiene items / Moisture wipes

Flashlight / Batteries (lots of batteries... also extra bulbs)

Radio - Battery operated and NOAA weather radio

TV - Battery operated...

Cash (with some small bills) - Banks and ATMs may not be open or available for extended periods.

Keys

Toys, Books and Games (to keep kids at bay)

Important documents - in a waterproof container or watertight resealable plastic bag
• insurance, medical records, bank account numbers, Social Security card, etc.

Tools - keep a set with you during the storm

Vehicle fuel tanks filled

A container with fuel or diesel for your car/ van

Pet care items
• proper identification / immunization records / medications
• ample supply of food and water
• a carrier or cage
• muzzle and leash

Ensure your Generator is functional.
Additionally we found that having several extra gas cans for our generator was VERY helpful. Also if you are able you might want to stockpile some fuel in advance, but be aware that long term storage of gas requires specific fuel additives and some very serious safety issues.

Especially make sure that things around your house that can be blown away and become missiles be secured in the event of a storm. Animals fear storms (believe it) so do not leave them loose... Make sure your house is in order structurally and any repairs do it if you can. Wind will ALWAYS find the weakest point and work frm there to destroy your items...

make sure and have at least a cellular contact for your family and neighbors and KEEP YOUR CELLPHONE CHARGED! in the event that something happens to you or you need to check on someone you are accessible.

TEMA (not sure about trini) have warning sirens out and about... if a storm approaches AND you hear the siren do not act like the boy who cried wolf... Prepare your items and DO NOT wait for the 11th hour to get your items at the supermarket...

So to all of you... keep your ears and eyes open... alert your neighbor and good luck to all of us for this and future seasons...

Terminology:
The Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) is a band of clouds consisting of showers, with occasional thunderstorms, that encircles the globe near the equator. The solid band of clouds may extend for many hundreds of miles and is sometimes broken into smaller line segments.

A Tropical Disturbance is a discrete weather system of apparently organized convection, originating in the tropics or subtropics and existing for a period of over 24 hours .Disturbances are characteristically approximately 200-600 km in diameter.
Tropical waves are generally carried westward by the prevailing easterly winds along the tropics and subtropics near the equator. They can lead to the formation of tropical cyclones in the north Atlantic and eastern north Pacific basins.

A Tropical Cyclone is a rapidly rotating storm system characterized by a low-pressure center, a closed low-level atmospheric circulation, strong winds, and a spiral arrangement of thunderstorms that produce heavy rain.

A Tropical Depression is a tropical cyclone with a maximum sustained wind speed of less than 39 mph.

A Tropical Storm is a tropical cyclone with maximum sustained wind speeds between 39 mph and 73 mph.

A Hurricane is a tropical cyclone with maximum sustained winds of 74 mph+.

Watches and Warnings
A Tropical Storm Watch is an announcement that tropical storm conditions (sustained winds between 39 mph and 73 mph) are possible within the specified area in association with a tropical storm within 48 hours.

A Tropical Storm Warning is an announcement that tropical storm conditions (sustained winds between 39 mph and 73 mph) are possible within the specified area in association with a tropical storm, issued 36 hours in advance of the anticipated onset of tropical-storm-force winds.

A Hurricane Watch is an announcement that hurricane conditions (sustained winds of 74 mph or higher) are possible within the specified area in association with a tropical storm within 48 hours.

A Hurricane Warning is an announcement that hurricane conditions (sustained winds of 74 mph or higher) are expected somewhere within the specified area in association with a hurricane, issued 36 hours in advance of the anticipated onset of hurricane-force winds.

Hurricanes are classified into five (05) categories based on the intensities of their sustained winds, which is known as the Saffir-Simpson hurricane wind scale:
· Category 1: Winds speeds of 74-95 mph; very dangerous winds will produce some damage
· Category 2: Wind speeds of 96-110 mph; extremely dangerous winds will cause extensive damage
· Category 3: Wind speeds of 111-129 mph; devastating damage will occur
· Category 4: Wind speeds of 130-156 mph; catastrophic damage will occur
· Category 5: Wind speeds greater than 156 mph; catastrophic damage will occur and most areas will be uninhabitable

A Major Hurricane has winds greater than 110 mph. Category 3+ e.g. Hurricane Harvey (Cat.4), Hurricane Irma (Cat.5)
Maximum Sustained Winds is the standard measure of a tropical cyclone’s intensity. It refers to the highest one-minute average wind speed (at an elevation of 10 meters with an unobstructed exposure) associated with that weather system at a particular point in time.

The Eye (of the Hurricane) is a roughly circular area of comparatively light winds that encompasses the center of a severe tropical cyclone. The eye is either completely or partially surrounded by the eyewall cloud.

A Storm Surge is the rise in sea levels following a hurricane or major storm, where the height is the difference between the observed sea level and the level the water would be without a cyclone. Storm surge is usually estimated by subtracting the normal high tide from the observed storm tide.

The older discussions from 2020 can be found here
https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vi ... p=10111716

Last edited by MISHI on July 10th, 2009, 12:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 5th, 2023, 10:17 pm

2022 discussion linked here
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=738074&start=900#p10244625

More rain expected

Screenshot 2023-01-05 at 10.15.46 PM.jpg

team 394

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby team 394 » January 6th, 2023, 5:42 am

Brian Sheilds (Mr Weatherman) is spot on with his reports.

Postby redmanjp » January 6th, 2023, 1:51 pm

and no Adverse Weather Alert from met office? someone send them this vid.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 6th, 2023, 1:58 pm

front page spot locked down ehehehehe

peepeepoopoo

(Nice weather we are having btw, my post is about the weather still ehehehe)

Postby redmanjp » January 6th, 2023, 4:16 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 7th, 2023, 8:40 pm

Sahara dust was pretty heavy this afternoon.

Postby De Dragon » January 8th, 2023, 11:03 am

Was overcast in Central up to a little while ago. Heavy rains earlier this morning

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2023, 8:48 am

Lots of mist on southern main rd and Caroni south bank rd this morning

A82E5F6F-A4F6-4F78-9FA8-8D5C2D041F4B.jpeg

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 11th, 2023, 10:52 pm

The 3am drive home hit different since Christmas. Turbos eating nice!

Postby Gem_in_i » January 12th, 2023, 4:40 am

Ever heard that in the first 12 days in a new year, if it rains, for each day, it will be that month having rain. The first 7 days had some rain everyday. Then a lil drizzle here and there 8th to 11th.

Heard this from Nariva farmers and been watching out for this for the past few years.

Postby Kenjo » January 12th, 2023, 7:21 am

Lol

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2023, 7:37 am

Gem_in_i wrote:Ever heard that in the first 12 days in a new year, if it rains, for each day, it will be that month having rain. The first 7 days had some rain everyday. Then a lil drizzle here and there 8th to 11th.

Heard this from Nariva farmers and been watching out for this for the past few years.
And what conclusion you come to.

Btw how much for a reading?
Need to align my chakras

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2023, 10:37 am

It was expected that we would have a wetter-than-usual dry season this year

"More above-average rainfall is on tap for the Caribbean, and it all has to do with the temperatures of the ocean in the Pacific.
La Niña is a natural weather-forming phenomenon that refers to the large-scale cooling of ocean surface temperatures in the central and eastern equatorial Pacific oceans. It is generally coupled with changes in winds, pressure and rainfall globally.
A La Niña generally leads to more favourable conditions for tropical storms and hurricanes in the Atlantic, as well as wetter than average conditions in the southern Caribbean, where T&T is located."
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/wet-weather-to-c ... into-2023/

Postby mero » January 12th, 2023, 12:03 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Ever heard that in the first 12 days in a new year, if it rains, for each day, it will be that month having rain. The first 7 days had some rain everyday. Then a lil drizzle here and there 8th to 11th.

Need to align my chakras
Yuh now miss full moon. The crystals was supposed to come out and charge

Postby timelapse » January 12th, 2023, 12:21 pm

mero wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

Need to align my chakras
I can lend you mine.I bought a wireless crystal charger last year

Postby Gem_in_i » January 12th, 2023, 7:25 pm

We shall see. So far this has helped the watermelon farmers in the past.

Postby mero » January 13th, 2023, 10:15 am

timelapse wrote:
mero wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

Need to align my chakras
Lol link it nah.

And d chillum. Festivus come and gone bruh

Postby Rovin » January 13th, 2023, 7:32 pm

sigoney now said on tv6 that tonight gonna be chilly , 21 degrees celcius expected ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 13th, 2023, 7:38 pm

^ Right now it hotter than the surface of the sun.

Postby Kenjo » January 14th, 2023, 7:03 am

Yup at 7am st joseph is still chilly

Postby maj. tom » January 14th, 2023, 10:59 am

@7:11

I know this guy is based in Miami, but the way he uses pronouns you would believe that he is located in Trinidad.

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2023, 11:02 am

honestly didnt feel much difference last night whether it was 21c or not ...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2023, 2:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:@7:11

I know this guy is based in Miami, but the way he uses pronouns you would believe that he is located in Trinidad.

yeah he says "we" and "us" a lot when referring to T&T but not for other islands

Postby paid_influencer » January 14th, 2023, 4:08 pm

this morning about 7am was some paradise type weather

Postby maj. tom » January 16th, 2023, 6:14 pm

Saharan dust on the rise? My eyes have been burning all day and eye drops not really helping.

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2023, 6:37 pm

My throat scratching and I have a dred dry cough a 2 weeks now...happens everytime dry season starts

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2023, 9:08 pm

Sahara dust wreaking havoc on people's respiratory system

g16split.jpg

surprised there's still sand left in the Sahara lol

Postby timelapse » January 16th, 2023, 9:36 pm

mero wrote:
timelapse wrote:
mero wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

Need to align my chakras
Lol link it nah.

And d chillum. Festivus come and gone bruh
Not getting proper clay.Dem deeya fellas half arsing it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 23rd, 2023, 9:02 am