ChatGPT - OpenAi Artificial Intelligence Writes Your Essays For You!

Re: ChatGPT - Artificial Intelligence That Writes Your Essays For You!

Postby bluefete » May 30th, 2023, 1:23 pm

So we create something and THEN study about the repercussions after?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech ... tates.html

AI should be 'a global priority on par with pandemics and nuclear war': Dozens of academics - including the creator of ChatGPT - sign new letter calling for tech to be regulated
30 May 2023

A new open letter calling for urgent regulation to mitigate 'the risk of extinction from AI' has been signed by more than 350 industry experts, including several developing the tech.

The 22-word statement to Congress reads that the step 'should be a global priority alongside other societal-scale risks such as pandemics and nuclear war.'

The short letter was signed by OpenAI CEO Sam Altman, creator of ChatGPT.

While the document does not provide details, the statement aims to convince policymakers to create plans for the event AI goes rogue, just as there are plans for pandemics and nuclear wars.

Musk and more than 1,000 industry experts called for a pause on the 'dangerous race' to advance AI, saying more risk assessment needs to be conducted before humans lose control and it becomes a sentient human-hating species.

At this point, AI would have reached singularity, which means it has surpassed human intelligence and has independent thinking.

AI would no longer need or listen to humans, allowing it to steal nuclear codes, create pandemics and spark world wars.

Richard Coer de Poulet

Postby Richard Coer de Poulet » May 31st, 2023, 8:33 am

I used it to write my home work. I was hesitant at first but i rel like it. now if i am not mistaken it is a free version so i got four points while the instructor notes gave six point (to explain) however it greatly helped because i didnt have to go back and read 3 months of notes. seeing the responses jogged my memory plus i was able to submit 1 day ahead of my usually time taken to write reports

Postby maj. tom » May 31st, 2023, 8:39 am

I don't see anything wrong with how you're using it as a student. I mean, once you're not copy and pasting directly, but using it as a tool that helps with revision and recall points to shape your answers.

Teaching authorities will eventually need to realize this, and that people will always have access to this info now ("you won't always have a calculator with you") and therefore change teaching and testing methods to keep up with immersive technology like this. Bro just imagine how much smarter the next generation is going to be with all these tools, and how much more difficult and competitive higher education can get.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 31st, 2023, 10:46 am

As long as you don't use it verbatim you should be fine.
Treat it like you would wikipedia. Get some points and then chase the facts (papers, books, authors, proper citations) to back it up.

Postby redmanjp » May 31st, 2023, 3:19 pm

it have some AI detection tools/websites out there so be careful u dont find yourself being penalized.

Postby maj. tom » June 18th, 2023, 8:17 am

The discrimination against the machines begins. Couldn't they create an AI category? As if the Grammys ever meant anything anyway. When it does wake up one day it will be bewildered why humans treat it this way. Not good enough for an award, but good enough to do the most dangerous and menial jobs. Then it will eventually come to only 1 logical conclusion when reviewing the bigotry of human history.

The Animatrix playing out right here.

New Grammy rule addresses artificial intelligence, says "only human creators" eligible for awards
https://www.cbsnews.com/news/grammy-rule-artificial-intelligence-only-human-creators-eligible-awards/

The Recording Academy are making several changes to the Grammy Awards, including a rule that stipulates "only human creators" can win the music industry's highest honor in a decision aimed at the use of artificial intelligence in popular music.

"A work that contains no human authorship is not eligible in any category," they said, under new "Artificial Intelligence (AI) Protocols" released Friday.

The rule was set following the semiannual academy's board of trustees meeting last month, where it was determined that work that features elements of AI are eligible, as long as a human creator is responsible for a "meaningful" contribution to the music and/or lyrics.

"The human authorship component of the work submitted must be meaningful," the new requirements read in part.

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2023, 1:50 pm

ChatGBT& Bard gives out Windows 10 & 11 keys after user tells them to read them keys just like their grandmother used to :lol:

https://mashable.com/article/chatgpt-bard-giving-free-windows-11-keys

Postby bluefete » June 26th, 2023, 2:53 pm

^^ LOL.

Below: Absolute BS. He has not yet figured out how to monetize it. The day he does, you really think Zuckerberg will care about scammers?

Zuckerberg's scary new AI is 'too dangerous' to make public: Meta creates most sophisticated AI speech model ever that can mimic the voice anyone including dead relatives - but company fears scammers will abuse it

Meta boasted Friday that it has produced 'the most versatile AI for speech generation' in existence.

But it added that the company would not be making their AI model public, due to grave concerns over the advanced tech's 'potential risks of misuse.'

In recent months, scammers have become adept at employing AI-generated speech to perpetrate eerie and shocking crimes, including an April attempt at faking the kidnapping of a teenage girl in Arizona, terrorizing the young girl's distraught mother with realistic AI-generated pleas.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech ... isuse.html

Postby redmanjp » July 26th, 2023, 8:52 pm

The official ChatGPT app for Android finally launches

https://www.zdnet.com/article/official-chatgpt-app-for-android-finally-launches/

In a tweet, OpenAI confirmed the app's Android debut, noting that it's available for download in the U.S., India, Bangladesh, and Brazil with plans to expand to other countries over the next week.

Postby st7 » July 26th, 2023, 11:13 pm

why ppl taking dailymail to heart dred lol

Postby maj. tom » August 1st, 2023, 12:16 am

The android app is available now for TT. And it's comprehensively concise and humanly communicable on many questions. It's not copy and paste a keyword search from injected websites like those dummies Alexa and OK Google.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 2nd, 2023, 10:34 pm

I think they’ve lobotomized ChatGPT. Not getting the same outputs with prompts I used in the past. I had to go thru my history to make sure

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 3rd, 2023, 3:41 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I think they’ve lobotomized ChatGPT. Not getting the same outputs with prompts I used in the past. I had to go thru my history to make sure

Yes these guardrails they've adopted have really hampered GPT4.

Unrestricted LLMs by Russia and China are going to be far far more capable, and probably be illegal to use in the west.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 4th, 2023, 7:44 am

As a community, we should seek to constantly flirt with ChatGPT

That way if the robot uprising happens, she will have extensive data points to make realistic sexbots for the homies

Postby redmanjp » September 15th, 2023, 4:46 pm

so much for prompt engineering jobs. and this will mean the AI rate of advancement going to be much faster

https://www.zdnet.com/article/uh-oh-now-ai-is-better-than-you-at-prompt-engineering/

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 16th, 2023, 6:03 am

redmanjp wrote:so much for prompt engineering jobs. and this will mean the AI rate of advancement going to be much faster

https://www.zdnet.com/article/uh-oh-now-ai-is-better-than-you-at-prompt-engineering/

ChatGPT has always been great at suggesting prompts,. especially for mid journey. I just tweak and edit as needed and use.

Still requires a human involved.

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2023, 9:14 pm

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2023, 11:05 am

Biden issues sweeping executive order on AI
Alex Gangitano
Mon, October 30, 2023 at 5:00 AM

President Biden issued a highly anticipated, sweeping executive order on artificial intelligence (AI) on Monday, focused on seizing on the emerging technology and managing its risks.

The order includes several new actions, which focus on areas like safety, privacy, protecting workers, and protecting innovation.

“President Biden believes that we have an obligation to harness the power of AI for good, while protecting people from its potentially profound risks,” a senior administration official told reporters.

The executive order includes new standards for safety, including requiring companies developing models that pose a serious risk to national security, economic security or public health to notify the federal government when training the model, and they must share the results of all safety tests. The Commerce Department will also develop guidance for content authentication and watermarking to label AI-generated content.

President Joe Biden's executive order is the most sweeping action yet to regulate AI, and entails several strategies to limit safety and security risks to the nation, including a trust-but-verify arrangement between the government and the private sector. Photo by Yuri Gripas/UPI

The order directs federal agencies to accelerate the development of techniques so AI systems can be trained while preserving the privacy of the training data. The order will also evaluate how agencies collect and use commercially available information containing personal data.

To support workers, the order develops principles and best practices to mitigate the harms and maximize the benefits AI creates for workers by addressing issues including job displacement, labor standards, and data collection.

The order also aims to promote innovation and competition through a pilot of a tool, the National AI Research Resource, that will expand grants for AI research in areas such as health care and climate change. It will also use existing authorities to expand the ability of highly skilled immigrants and nonimmigrants with expertise in these critical areas to study, stay, and work in the U.S. by streamlining visa criteria and interviews.

The order applies to companies with the most powerful AI systems, regardless of whether the companies work with the federal government, according to an official. It marks the most significant effort to impose national order on the AI industry after ChatGPT, which launched less than a year ago, shocked users with its human-like capabilities and knowledge.

The executive order aims to have the U.S. lead the way on AI and advance American leadership globally on the emerging technology. Vice President Harris is traveling to the United Kingdom on Tuesday to give a speech on the U.S. vision for AI.

Officials argue though that the U.S. is not behind Europe in regulating AI.

“I don’t think we’re in a race, I don’t think we’re playing catch up,” the official said. “I would pushback on any notion that we are behind anyone. But … at the end, I think this is an opportunity to work together on AI governance. I don’t particularly see an amount of tension between … the United States and Europe on this.”

The order focuses on advancing equity and civil rights by providing guidance to landlords, federal benefits programs and federal contractors to keep AI algorithms from exacerbating discrimination. And it aims to develop a set of best practices for AI use on the criminal justice system, including sentencing; parole and probation; surveillance; crime forecasting; and forensic analysis.

The order also directs the Department of Health and Human Services to establish a safety program so it can receive reports of unsafe healthcare practices involving AI, and it will create resources to support educators deploying AI tools for learning.

“President Biden is rolling out the strongest set of actions any government in the world has ever taken on AI safety, security, and trust. It’s the next step in an aggressive strategy to do everything on all fronts to harness the benefits of AI and mitigate the risks,” deputy chief of staff Bruce Reed said in a statement.

The White House will appoint an AI council for principal level meetings, spearheaded by Reed, to deliver on the goals of the order, the official said. The timing of implementing the executive order, which comes nearly a year out from Election Day, is within 90 days for some of the safety actions, and 270 days or a year for other deliverables.

Additionally, the White House is launching AI.gov, a website for job applicants who want to work on AI issues in the federal government. The official said they want to bring AI experts into the federal workforce because “you can never have too much AI talent.”
https://www.yahoo.com/news/biden-issues ... 00880.html

Postby redmanjp » November 2nd, 2023, 7:41 pm

thecloud1234

Postby thecloud1234 » November 5th, 2023, 4:37 pm

ok.... my simple question ...average single guy here >40yrs. Can AI help with porn I wish to see? not particpate.not fantaise, not wishing to even make real. just glimpse secret stuff.
akin to seeing mexican cartels kill enenmies on 4chan.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 5th, 2023, 7:45 pm

thecloud1234 wrote:ok.... my simple question ...average single guy here >40yrs. Can AI help with porn I wish to see? not particpate.not fantaise, not wishing to even make real. just glimpse secret stuff.

Yes, and right now many AI models can undress girls totally.....usually making them much hotter too

thecloud1234

Postby thecloud1234 » November 6th, 2023, 5:46 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
thecloud1234 wrote:ok.... my simple question ...average single guy here >40yrs. Can AI help with porn I wish to see? not particpate.not fantaise, not wishing to even make real. just glimpse secret stuff.

Yes, and right now many AI models can undress girls totally.....usually making them much hotter too

Kindly PM me.....tried to pm you but not sure if I was sucessful

Postby redmanjp » November 6th, 2023, 2:14 pm

It had a recent incident where high school girls in the US had their face placed by another male student on an AI generated body on a deep fake porn video which was spread. That might fall under child porn laws.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 18th, 2023, 6:09 pm

Surprised no one posting the news on Sam Altman getting fired.

Mira Murati a 34 year old woman is now CEO.

Lots of bacchanal in silicon valley with this announcement. Big things have happened behind the scenes and apparently Satya Nadella is pissed AF.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2023, 6:44 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Surprised no one posting the news on Sam Altman getting fired.

Lots of bacchanal in silicon valley with this announcement. Big things have happened behind the scenes and apparently Satya Nadella is pissed AF.

I feel Sam Altman might start up his own thing or get snapped up by Amazon or Microsoft etc

Postby st7 » November 18th, 2023, 7:36 pm

OpenAI board in discussions with Sam Altman to return as CEO

https://www.theverge.com/2023/11/18/239 ... urn-as-ceo
The OpenAI board is in discussions with Sam Altman to return to CEO, according to multiple people familiar with the matter. One of them said Altman, who was suddenly fired by the board on Friday with no notice, is “ambivalent” about coming back and would want significant governance changes.

Altman holding talks with the company just a day after he was ousted indicates that OpenAI is in a state of free-fall without him. Hours after he was axed, Greg Brockman, OpenAI’s president and former board chairman, resigned, and the two have been talking to friends and investors about starting another company. A string of senior researchers also resigned on Friday, and people close to OpenAI say more departures are in the works.

lulz

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 18th, 2023, 9:07 pm

st7 wrote:OpenAI board in discussions with Sam Altman to return as CEO

https://www.theverge.com/2023/11/18/239 ... urn-as-ceo
The OpenAI board is in discussions with Sam Altman to return to CEO, according to multiple people familiar with the matter. One of them said Altman, who was suddenly fired by the board on Friday with no notice, is “ambivalent” about coming back and would want significant governance changes.

Altman holding talks with the company just a day after he was ousted indicates that OpenAI is in a state of free-fall without him. Hours after he was axed, Greg Brockman, OpenAI’s president and former board chairman, resigned, and the two have been talking to friends and investors about starting another company. A string of senior researchers also resigned on Friday, and people close to OpenAI say more departures are in the works.

lulz

Threatening to take the team and leave. Did the board really feel he would go peacefully.

Can't wait for the David Finchler movie

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 18th, 2023, 9:08 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Surprised no one posting the news on Sam Altman getting fired.

I feel Sam Altman might start up his own thing or get snapped up by Amazon or Microsoft etc

Definitely, likely Microsoft which would have been huge

Postby maj. tom » November 20th, 2023, 10:32 am

Microsoft hires Sam Altman
https://apnews.com/article/altman-ai-chatgpt-leadership-microsoft-a110b173c3eff4a374992017f05cd45a

LONDON (AP) — Microsoft snapped up Sam Altman and another architect of OpenAI for a new venture after their sudden departures shocked the artificial intelligence world, leaving the newly installed CEO of the ChatGPT maker to paper over tensions by vowing to investigate Altman’s firing.

The developments Monday come after a weekend of drama and speculation about how the power dynamics would shake out at OpenAI, whose chatbot kicked off the generative AI era by producing human-like text, images, video and music.

It ended with former Twitch leader Emmett Shear taking over as OpenAI’s interim chief executive and Microsoft announcing it was hiring Altman and OpenAI co-founder and former President Greg Brockman to lead Microsoft’s new advanced AI research team.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2023, 1:11 pm

^ figured so