Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

Musical Doc

Re: Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

Postby Musical Doc » October 31st, 2022, 10:42 am

People often underestimate the power of stretching. I have sciatica pain problems and the doc had given me particular stretches to do. Best you can do is to go see a doctor, he will send you to physiotherapy, but from there make it a routine to do your stretches everyday. It makes a huge difference.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » October 31st, 2022, 11:26 am

had this some years aback,... very painful.
heated back rub then regular core exercises got me out of it.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 31st, 2022, 11:40 am

Musical Doc wrote:People often underestimate the power of stretching. I have sciatica pain problems and the doc had given me particular stretches to do. Best you can do is to go see a doctor, he will send you to physiotherapy, but from there make it a routine to do your stretches everyday. It makes a huge difference.

I cant bend at all forwards or backwards to do anything at the moment..
Body must be straight at all time to avoid pain....
Stretching is not a possibility right now.
Basically I dont want to do anything before i strain myself and make it worse.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 31st, 2022, 11:56 am

Had this same problem about 10 years ago. Aside from going to doctor taking meds and rest and recover for 3-6 months what really works for me now is keeping my stomach down.
As long as I keep my belly flat I don’t even know I have it. It’s always there but only gets aggravated if I lift something using bad lifting technique.
Short of surgery I don’t think it’ll ever go away but keeping my stomach as flat as my age permits works great for me.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » October 31st, 2022, 12:11 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:People often underestimate the power of stretching. I have sciatica pain problems and the doc had given me particular stretches to do. Best you can do is to go see a doctor, he will send you to physiotherapy, but from there make it a routine to do your stretches everyday. It makes a huge difference.

I cant bend at all forwards or backwards to do anything at the moment..
Body must be straight at all time to avoid pain....
Stretching is not a possibility right now.
Basically I dont want to do anything before i strain myself and make it worse.

Understandable. So first step is go to the doctor. A stretch I do is tie two strips of cloths to the bed footer, make a loop in each and hook it around each ankle, then grab the bedhead and pull gently upward and hold. Then after a few mins pull a little harder and hold again. Works similar to a traction machine which stretches you spine. It works for me

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 12:58 pm

AlphaMan wrote:WOW I didnt know so many suffered from this illnes..
I will admit this started off as a lower back pain to avoiding bending to pick up any objects now its sharp pains like needles in my leg all day..
?

i continuously have that issue on my left leg

if i do alot of physical work and wear boots for the day, my left leg will become numb for a few days

i recently started using compression sleeves that i bought on amazon as well, it helps a good bit

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07WR ... UTF8&psc=1

https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/71m ... L1500_.jpg

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2022, 1:46 pm

I just ordered one of them tens 7000 machine just to try out
they real cheap and have 1000s of users with good reviews

one of the worse things to experience is a back spasm where it feels like the inside of your back cramps and locks up and leaves you collapsed for several hours before it releases itself

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 1:51 pm

the tens machine works
you need to order some of the extra sticky pads as well

i went by a therapy place in cunupia 2 years ago.....450....

most of the time it was to rest my legs on this shocking machine thing and like 5 minutes of massage if so much

after that i buy the tens machine

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 31st, 2022, 2:42 pm

A tens machine only treats the symptoms of pain not whats causing the pain.
I want to find the cause of this sciatica pain and fix this.. I dont want to live like this all my life...
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQ9-7FHYMfY[/youtube]

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 2:45 pm

Then you have to risk surgery.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 31st, 2022, 2:53 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Then you have to risk surgery.

Surgery in Trinidad is sure permanent disability.
Them doctors will sure mess me up...

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 3:24 pm

Even abroad ppl endlessly complain about the surgery

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2022, 3:36 pm

everybody's case is different, there is no general back "surgery"

I know one guy who had bulging disc which was removed and some kind of spacer or something used to keep the space and he is fine with no set of physio and very normal
another had similar surgery but still does regular back physio on his own and avoids risky lifting

Postby nervewrecker » October 31st, 2022, 4:25 pm

AlphaMan wrote:A tens machine only treats the symptoms of pain not whats causing the pain.
I want to find the cause of this sciatica pain and fix this.. I dont want to live like this all my life...
Isn't there a variation of this machine girls use for menstrual cramps this rounds?

I remember the therapist using something that vibrated to massage the area. Somehow the females find use for that as well. Fun fact, a vibrator was always a massager so it had no shame in walking into a store and buying one. Is only now it have purpose built units for sale everywhere.

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 4:28 pm

Nerve nobody does judge yuh for the cocolooks 12 inch 9000 ultra vibrator massager you does roll with. We know wha yuh using it for

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2022, 6:00 pm

pugboy wrote:everybody's case is different, there is no general back "surgery"

This is something plenty ppl doesn't understand. Each individual case is different, because each patient is different and that means each surgical intervention and subsequent recovery is going to have some degree of difference.

Op, fwiw, I hope you get some relief. Back problem is real pressure.

Postby alfa » October 31st, 2022, 7:03 pm

AlphaMan wrote:A tens machine only treats the symptoms of pain not whats causing the pain.

That's how painkillers on the whole work, they treat the pain and not what's causing it with the hope that the cause will resolve on its own. If you get it checked out and it's nothing requiring surgery you may have to treat the pain alone for a prolonged period because even slight pressure on the spinal nerves causes immense pain

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 7:05 pm

Alfa and alphaman..allyuh is a couple?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 31st, 2022, 7:29 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Nerve nobody does judge yuh for the cocolooks 12 inch 9000 ultra vibrator massager you does roll with. We know wha yuh using it for

Hahah :lol:

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 31st, 2022, 7:31 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Alfa and alphaman..allyuh is a couple?

Nope. I don't know they guy

Postby alfa » October 31st, 2022, 8:44 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Alfa and alphaman..allyuh is a couple?

Nope. I don't know they guy

No relation, no relation :D

Postby Ben_spanna » October 31st, 2022, 10:53 pm

Yea stretching will help some, as well as it may be bad for others, there’s also exercises for helping your movements and maintaining the mobility your spine is supposed to be able to do.

Go see that specialist , go do physio and see if it helps, it takes time, most of the time it gets better.

Postby nervewrecker » October 31st, 2022, 11:26 pm

Bad posture and lack of exercise deforms the spinal column and weakens the muscles responsible for maintaining posture.

I was told about my posture from my trainer and days after it reared its ugly head. My head always droops from being bent when I used to study and seems the muscles had gotten weak.

It really didn't help that I had a heap of extra bones that pressed on the nerves. Iirc they were called cervical vertebrae or ribs or some shiz so. Have like 6 or 8 extra all the way up to a few bones below my axis. It's actually pretty common I got to understand, a lot of people have them but only when it causes a problem they become aware of it or it shows up on a x-ray like mine did.

Felt like my right hand was being crushed or there was like broken bottle under the skin dragging against the muscle tissue when I move. It was quite painful.

Slouching and sitting deformed my lower back. Felt like I had a blunt object was being rammed into my leg.

After therapy they recommended I keep fit and maintain a healthy posture. If you have problems with lower back a brace may be an option to help keep you straight. But I'd get a professional opinion before doing so.

Husband of a friend of mine has the same problem. Surgery is his option. Told her in advance, that pain changes you. Either raises your tolerance to levels where you get damaged and don't know or you practically borderline numb.

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2022, 6:04 am

Humans have 7 cervical vertebrae, nervewrecker, u say you have extra? Would be interesting to see. I've seen thousands of cervical spine images, x-rays, CT, mri, bds, etc., but I've never seen one with more than 7.

You are absolutely right in that pain changes you tho. Severe pain will either weaken you, or strengthen you. I personally went through enough pain from injuries in life that unless I losing more than a liter of the red stuff or a bone sticking out or dislocated I don't notice. Wifey get so fed up asking me why I bleeding or how I get damage and I could only say "me eh kno" that she don't even ask how any more, she go just say "aye yuh body part bleeding"
But when pain weakens you, boi, daz when some people does give self deletion serious consideration.

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2022, 8:04 am

bad posture and slouching is definitely bad for your back
I am a life long sloucher and suffer for it now

your vertebrae designed to stack on top of each other to keep stable

when you slouch they want to topple and pull the ligaments and muscles out of alignment plus cause the joint spaces to move and impinge on the nerves

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 1st, 2022, 9:02 am

nervewrecker wrote:Bad posture and lack of exercise deforms the spinal column and weakens the muscles responsible for maintaining posture.

I was told about my posture from my trainer and days after it reared its ugly head. My head always droops from being bent when I used to study and seems the muscles had gotten weak.

It really didn't help that I had a heap of extra bones that pressed on the nerves. Iirc they were called cervical vertebrae or ribs or some shiz so. Have like 6 or 8 extra all the way up to a few bones below my axis. It's actually pretty common I got to understand, a lot of people have them but only when it causes a problem they become aware of it or it shows up on a x-ray like mine did.

Felt like my right hand was being crushed or there was like broken bottle under the skin dragging against the muscle tissue when I move. It was quite painful.

Slouching and sitting deformed my lower back. Felt like I had a blunt object was being rammed into my leg.

After therapy they recommended I keep fit and maintain a healthy posture. If you have problems with lower back a brace may be an option to help keep you straight. But I'd get a professional opinion before doing so.

Husband of a friend of mine has the same problem. Surgery is his option. Told her in advance, that pain changes you. Either raises your tolerance to levels where you get damaged and don't know or you practically borderline numb.

You hit the nail on the head with the pain. Not any kind of Pain but this type of nerve pain...
This is a different level of pain..
Also slouching is a big part of how this happened to me.
May persons recommended core exercise but right now i going to see an orthopedic doctor to see what going on before I do any exercise and strain myself even more...

Postby nervewrecker » November 1st, 2022, 10:06 am

88sins wrote:Humans have 7 cervical vertebrae, nervewrecker, u say you have extra? Would be interesting to see. I've seen thousands of cervical spine images, x-rays, CT, mri, bds, etc., but I've never seen one with more than 7.

You are absolutely right in that pain changes you tho. Severe pain will either weaken you, or strengthen you. I personally went through enough pain from injuries in life that unless I losing more than a liter of the red stuff or a bone sticking out or dislocated I don't notice. Wifey get so fed up asking me why I bleeding or how I get damage and I could only say "me eh kno" that she don't even ask how any more, she go just say "aye yuh body part bleeding"
But when pain weakens you, boi, daz when some people does give self deletion serious consideration.
Extra ribs. Have to look for the x-ray. I thought it was a joke when the radiologist presented it.

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2022, 12:59 pm

Oh, OK. Now I understand. I seen those.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 1st, 2022, 8:47 pm

Some exercises to try.
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYOShqd64xo[/youtube]

Postby 88sins » November 1st, 2022, 9:08 pm

alfa wrote:

That's how painkillers on the whole work, they treat the pain and not what's causing it with the hope that the cause will resolve on its own. If you get it checked out and it's nothing requiring surgery you may have to treat the pain alone for a prolonged period because even slight pressure on the spinal nerves causes immense pain

Not really eh.
In serious cases, pain management with medication is generally used in conjunction with treatment for the causes of pain, either in the form or surgical, medication, or therapy. Theres certain conditions that you can very effectively treat the pain they cause, but if you neglect to attend to the cause you gonna end up either extremely ill or dead.

Classic example of this is a dental abcess. Without antibiotics and/or drainage, you won't feel the pain while on pain medication according to what you taking such as opioids. But believe you me the whole side of your face will swell like a balloon before that abcess breaks down a vein in the jaw and that infection spread to the circulatory system, all the while it not really painful because of the drugs you on. And when it reaches that stage, if that doesn't damn near kill you consider yourself fortunate.