TTUTA striking [not on Monday 26th September]

Re: Banks in T&T

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 10:17 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Yes they are. In some schools and with some teachers its compulsory. If you miss lessons you missing curriculum
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:customs officers know how to make money tho

why would they abandon their fiefdom
It's unfortunate teachers don't know how to make corrupt money like customs officers....guess they chose the wrong profession
It's called extra lessons
They not forcing you to take the lessons however, a customs officer will force u to grease the wheel or hold your item
What you allow is what will continue, parents don't have a voice anymore, where is the PTA why are they not taking it up with the principals or a step further with the MoE if they are aggrieved and not accepting such? Regardless, it is 2023 soon, teachers and the rest of public servants are still on a 2013 salary, something has to give

Postby adnj » September 24th, 2022, 10:41 am

This is what I read:
hover11 wrote:What you allow is what will continue, parents don't have a voice anymore, where is the PTA why are they not taking it up with the principals or a step further with the MoE if they are aggrieved and not accepting such? Regardless, it is 2023 soon, teachers and public servants, like me, are still on a 2013 salary, someone has to give me more money.

Re: TTUTA striking [again]

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2022, 10:43 am

q: in such a situation, what remedy do the teachers or moe have with such a teacher extorting fees for extra lessons?

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 10:45 am

adnj wrote:This is what I read:
hover11 wrote:What you allow is what will continue, parents don't have a voice anymore, where is the PTA why are they not taking it up with the principals or a step further with the MoE if they are aggrieved and not accepting such? Regardless, it is 2023 soon, teachers and public servants, like me, are still on a 2013 salary, someone has to give me more money.
Not a public servant sir , catch yourself, I don't fall under the remit of the public service act, if that's all you gathered from reading what I stated there then your reading skills are weak and leave much to be desired
Last edited by hover11 on September 24th, 2022, 10:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 10:46 am

paid_influencer wrote:q: in such a situation, what remedy do the teachers or moe have with such a teacher extorting fees for extra lessons?
How would you know unless someone reports them I'm sure that's not happening and we willingly pay the fees no questions asked

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2022, 10:50 am

back in my days school from 7am to 5pm was compulsory for all children writing common entrance

parents who could pay the teacher did

others were encouraged to bring fruits, produce, favors, etc, whatever they could afford

and yes TTUTA was striking regularly in those days too

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 11:15 am

paid_influencer wrote:back in my days school from 7am to 5pm was compulsory for all children writing common entrance

others were encouraged to bring fruits, produce, favors, etc, whatever they could afford

That's fair because a teacher's contractual obligations are from 8 a.m to 3.30 p.m for most Monday to Friday anything outside of that is their time and you have to pay for their time

Postby Dizzy28 » September 24th, 2022, 11:28 am

The issue is witholdimg education during school hours with the expectation you pay me outside hours. That's called extortion
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:back in my days school from 7am to 5pm was compulsory for all children writing common entrance

That's fair because a teacher's contractual obligations are from 8 a.m to 3.30 p.m for most Monday to Friday anything outside of that is their time and you have to pay for their time

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 11:31 am

Dizzy28 wrote:The issue is witholdimg education during school hours with the expectation you pay me outside hours. That's called extortion
hover11 wrote:

No problem but who is indulging the extortion, are teachers putting a gun to your heads and forcing you if that is the case why is no one reporting it to the TTPS, MoE or the principal...same with customs officers if an officer demands a bribe to get your package why do we quicker pay the bribe and indulge instead of reporting it to the relevant authorities, then we complain regarding the way things are.
Last edited by hover11 on September 24th, 2022, 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » September 24th, 2022, 11:37 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:This is what I read:
Not a public servant sir , catch yourself, I don't fall under the remit of the public service act, if that's all you gathered from reading what I stated there then your reading skills are weak and leave much to be desired

If you get paid to work for the government, or even if you volunteer to work for the government, you are a public servant. You should learn these things.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 24th, 2022, 11:48 am

The best criminals use no gun.
hover11 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:The issue is witholdimg education during school hours with the expectation you pay me outside hours. That's called extortion
hover11 wrote:

No problem but who is indulging the extortion, are teachers putting a gun to your heads and forcing you if that is the case why is no one reporting it to the TTPS, MoE or the principal...same with customs officers if an officer demands a bribe to get your package why do we quicker pay the bribe and indulge instead of reporting it to the relevant authorities, then we complain regarding the way things are.

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 12:12 pm

“Imagine, a trained teacher will get $196 more,” fumed a principal."

TTUTA makes second call for ‘rest and reflection

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social

That can't even fill your tank lol

Postby Dizzy28 » September 24th, 2022, 12:53 pm

Imagine if they gave the raises asked for and then take away the fuel subsidy in entirety.
Be careful what you wish for
hover11 wrote:“Imagine, a trained teacher will get $196 more,” fumed a principal."

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 12:57 pm

Either way they weaning us off the subsidy,as you said on another thread it doesn't matter at this point but what they are doing is eroding the standard of living of most. When you remove subsidies salaries must increase as to withstand the brunt of the increased costs.
Dizzy28 wrote:Imagine if they gave the raises asked for and then take away the fuel subsidy in entirety.
hover11 wrote:“Imagine, a trained teacher will get $196 more,” fumed a principal."

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2022, 1:07 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Imagine if they gave the raises asked for and then take away the fuel subsidy in entirety.

They should do that, actually.

People hadda kno voting has qwanseeqwenses

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 1:12 pm

Exactly PNM know their days numbered and is only a matter of time unless this country filled with masochists they will never come back in power 2025

Postby Dizzy28 » September 24th, 2022, 1:20 pm

You're not well tuned to local history are you? You think salaries have to increase?
In the 1980s they not only stopped COLA but reduced public servants salaries by 10% Continue living in the bubble you are living in
hover11 wrote:Either way they weaning us off the subsidy,as you said on another thread it doesn't matter at this point but what they are doing is eroding the standard of living of most. When you remove subsidies salaries must increase as to withstand the brunt of the increased costs.

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 1:21 pm

You arent telling the entire story though.Was NAR voted back in power? NAR paid the ultimate political price.History shall repeat itself with the PNM.
Dizzy28 wrote:You're not well tuned to local history are you? You think salaries have to increase?
In the 1980s they not only stopped COLA but reduced public servants salaries by 10% Continue living in the bubble you are living in
hover11 wrote:Either way they weaning us off the subsidy,as you said on another thread it doesn't matter at this point but what they are doing is eroding the standard of living of most. When you remove subsidies salaries must increase as to withstand the brunt of the increased costs.

Last edited by hover11 on September 24th, 2022, 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » September 24th, 2022, 1:33 pm

Let's not forget plenty children is like Satan. Teachers underpaid for dealing with allyuh pickney

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2022, 1:34 pm

PNM turn all the unions into toothless dogs except for TTUTA

if Imbert smart, he would give teachers a big raise but make structural changes in the background. Kill it slow

Postby matr1x » September 24th, 2022, 1:36 pm

Teaching is already a profession that less ppl want to go in. He will kill teaching for sure

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2022, 1:36 pm

matr1x wrote:Let's not forget plenty children is like Satan. Teachers underpaid for dealing with allyuh pickney

this is a half serious question, why don't teachers find a next work in the 'external labor market' for an 8% pay increase why not

Postby matr1x » September 24th, 2022, 1:37 pm

External labor market?

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2022, 1:37 pm

matr1x wrote:External labor market?

yea dat

Postby matr1x » September 24th, 2022, 1:38 pm

What is that?

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2022, 1:39 pm

matr1x wrote:What is that?

a labor market? like where people buy labor based on supply and demand?

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 1:40 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:Let's not forget plenty children is like Satan. Teachers underpaid for dealing with allyuh pickney

this is a half serious question, why don't teachers find a next work in the 'external labor market' for an 8% pay increase why not
Why don't the government pay people the correct wages....salary negotiations were due since 2017 it had no pandemic then why start salary negotiations in 2022. The public servants and teachers are entitled to their just rewards....

TTUTA striking [again]

Postby MaxPower » September 24th, 2022, 3:08 pm

A teacher has to understand their role in society especially towards our youths.

Why is it some teachers are not complaining like the other trouble makers and are getting the job done?

Teachers need to teach how to survive when things are tough. They need to set the example for the kids to follow so when they are placed into the work environment, they would have an idea how to manage tough working conditions in keeping their head on and focused.

How many of us here worked through piss poor working conditions? Did we cry and give up? Did we strike and refuse to work properly and give excuses? No, we worked with what we had, endured and kept working hard to achieve our goals…..it builds strength, experience and character. Famous words……“never forget where you came from”. And that means you have been through hell and back and WORKED damn hard for where you are today. Not beg for a bed of roses along every step of the way.

When our youths see the teachers complaining and crying, they will do the exact same.

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 3:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:A teacher has to understand their role in society especially towards our youths.

Why is it some teachers are not complaining like the other trouble makers and are getting the job done?

Teachers need to teach how to survive when things are tough. They need to set the example for the kids to follow so when they are placed into the work environment, they would have an idea how to manage tough working conditions in keeping their head on and focused.

How many of us here worked through piss poor working conditions? Did we cry and give up? Did we strike and refuse to work properly and give excuses? No, we worked with what we had, endured and kept working hard to achieve our goals…..it builds strength, experience and character. Famous words……“never forget where you came from”. And that means you have been through hell and back and WORKED damn hard for where you are today. Not beg for a bed of roses along every step of the way.

When our youths see the teachers complaining and crying, they will do the exact same.
Max,

Question, don't teachers like yourself have a family and deserve to be able to provide for such family? How can they, however, when the cost of living skyrockets uncontrollably, when every month the grocery bill changes, when some teachers who coming from south to teach in a school in town have to pay gas that is always increasing in price. Don't say travel because I'm sure half of yall on here not traveling to work. Also they need a vehicle as they sometimes carry work students' books home to correct. Anyway , yes they have a duty , however, the employer has a duty to pay them fairly which based on the Market research survey done by TTUTA this had never been the case. The government always shafts and underpays them.Teachers aren't asking for anything unrealistic.Teachers are asking for salaries from 2013 be increased to have a decent standard of living in 2022/2023.You want teachers in school all day everyday? Pay them fair wage.

What this will show students, don't accept less than what you are worth always demand better.

While you may not have striked in your life. Bear in mind alot of advances in labour occurred due to the likes of Adrian Cola Renzi, Uriah Buzz Butler and the other past labour heads , had they not done what they had we may be under slavery conditions today with employers. So to each his own.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 24th, 2022, 3:44 pm

One last beat up before accepting the 4% I guess. TUTTA hadda look like they doing something I suppose...